Close

Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 25 of 38
  1. #1
    Join Date
    Nov 2009
    Location
    MIAMI
    Posts
    462
    Rep Points
    199.0
    Mentioned
    3 Post(s)
    Rep Power
    2


    Yes Reputation No

    Bimmerboost Exclusive - ASR Engineering 135i on the dyno

    These quick videos were taken during the tuning/testing phases of ASR's 135/335 upgraded turbo kit. Never before seen until today.

    A big thanks to ASR for allowing Bimmerboost to be present at the dyno.

    Enjoy.

    Click here to enlarge

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Feb 2010
    Location
    NJ
    Posts
    13,426
    Rep Points
    58.0
    Mentioned
    318 Post(s)
    Rep Power
    0


    Yes Reputation No
    Good #'s. Graphs please Click here to enlarge

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Nov 2009
    Location
    MIAMI
    Posts
    462
    Rep Points
    199.0
    Mentioned
    3 Post(s)
    Rep Power
    2



    Yes Reputation No
    Click here to enlarge
    Click here to enlarge
    Click here to enlarge

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Jan 2010
    Posts
    610
    Rep Points
    343.0
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Rep Power
    4


    Yes Reputation No
    Very impressive!
    08 E92 M3 - DCT
    Bolt Ons - Best ET 11.88 Best Trap Speed 119.8 MPH
    60-130 MPH (3 shifts) 10.71s
    Gintani Stage 2+ Supercharger 60-130MPH (3 shifts) 7.06s
    11.45 @ 131.6 MPH
    579WHP @9.3psi

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Feb 2010
    Posts
    83
    Rep Points
    42.4
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Rep Power
    0


    Yes Reputation No
    Nice but I would really like 500whp on pump. Have they retuned or done anything new since then?

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Jan 2010
    Location
    SoCal
    Posts
    120,365
    Rep Points
    32,766.4
    Mentioned
    2133 Post(s)
    Rep Power
    328


    Yes Reputation No
    Click here to enlarge Originally Posted by blk135 Click here to enlarge
    Nice but I would really like 500whp on pump. Have they retuned or done anything new since then?
    I think we will be getting an update shortly after the next trip the shop.

  7. #7
    Join Date
    Nov 2009
    Location
    MIAMI
    Posts
    462
    Rep Points
    199.0
    Mentioned
    3 Post(s)
    Rep Power
    2



    Yes Reputation No
    This was on the older firmware/maps. Not sure if ASR has updated the firmware and boostlogic.
    Click here to enlarge

  8. #8
    Join Date
    Feb 2010
    Location
    Corpus Christi, Texas, United States
    Posts
    3,106
    Rep Points
    1,236.6
    Mentioned
    6 Post(s)
    Rep Power
    13


    Yes Reputation No
    Still looks like there is significant torque drop in the higher RPMs. Where can I find specs on the turbos used? Maybe the next step is headwork, or these turbos still don't have enough cfm of airflow.

  9. #9
    Join Date
    Jan 2010
    Location
    SoCal
    Posts
    120,365
    Rep Points
    32,766.4
    Mentioned
    2133 Post(s)
    Rep Power
    328


    Yes Reputation No
    Click here to enlarge Originally Posted by SlicktopTTZ Click here to enlarge
    Still looks like there is significant torque drop in the higher RPMs. Where can I find specs on the turbos used? Maybe the next step is headwork, or these turbos still don't have enough cfm of airflow.
    Just make a list here of the information you would like to see and we will get it for you or Abid himself will post it.

  10. #10
    Join Date
    Jan 2010
    Location
    Encino, CA
    Posts
    1,186
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Rep Power
    0


    Yes Reputation No
    Nice numbers indeed, especially the torque! How much is the kit?

  11. #11
    Join Date
    Feb 2010
    Location
    NJ
    Posts
    13,426
    Rep Points
    58.0
    Mentioned
    318 Post(s)
    Rep Power
    0


    Yes Reputation No
    graph looks good.

    Question.

    1.Is it true that if you buy this kit it MUST be tuned by Vishnu?
    2. How much boost?

  12. #12
    Join Date
    Feb 2010
    Location
    Miami Beach
    Posts
    1,087
    Rep Points
    513.4
    Mentioned
    10 Post(s)
    Rep Power
    6


    Yes Reputation No
    I want to see that car with the new V4 software Click here to enlarge

    Click here to enlarge Originally Posted by LostMarine Click here to enlarge
    graph looks good.

    Question.

    1.Is it true that if you buy this kit it MUST be tuned by Vishnu?
    2. How much boost?
    1. Abid can do the tuning
    2. IDK 20~
    Click here to enlarge

  13. #13
    Join Date
    Nov 2009
    Location
    Whales Vag
    Posts
    1,214
    Rep Points
    1.0
    Mentioned
    8 Post(s)
    Rep Power
    0


    Yes Reputation No
    HOLY $#@! THOSE NUMBERS. fml for not getting a 335i
    Click here to enlarge Originally Posted by tag824 Click here to enlarge
    guess i lost all my rep's... later bro's

  14. #14
    Join Date
    Nov 2009
    Posts
    70
    Rep Points
    9.7
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Rep Power
    0


    Yes Reputation No
    Thanks for posting the videos Got PSI!

    Blk135, the stock fuel system just does not have the capability to safely support 500whp on pump gas. Therefore, 100 octane was used to take advantage of it's slower burning properties and meth for the additional fueling.

    SlicktopTTZ, the torque drop in the upper RPM in our opinion is not bad at all and does not have a direct relation to CFM ratings of these turbos. However, the machined stock turbine with our Garrett CHRA housing do have a limitation as far as exhaust flow and turbine backpressure. This would cause the torque curve to drop sooner than it would with the correct turbine housing the CHRA is designed for, but only once it's reached it point of diminishing return. These turbos are rated at 26lbs/min or 376.22 CFM per turbo. That being said, the turbos can support the hp shown above very consistantly. If in fact we were running out of CFM, this would show considerable losses in hp at the upper rpm band as well. Torque plays a major roll in overall bottom end acceleration since it is defined as the turning force, but is not even a factor to be mentioned once the vehicle is in the upper rpms band and has already picked up speed. Horsepower, on the other hand, plays a very important roll in acceleration at higher speeds. This is why F1 vehicles have such great top end power, while having very little torque due to their small displacement.
    Last edited by Abid@ASR; 03-05-2010 at 02:57 PM.

  15. #15
    Join Date
    Nov 2009
    Posts
    70
    Rep Points
    9.7
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Rep Power
    0


    Yes Reputation No
    I think there is some confusion in regards to the tuning. We require that the customer have a Vishnu Procede to run our turbo upgrade package, since it is the only system we feel can produce the results we're looking for safely and reliably. We have our own firmware and files setup specifically for the turbo upgrades. For example, if you already have a Procede and purchase the turbo upgrades, we will send you the firmware and files to upload at no additional cost.

    The boost numbers for the hp figures listed are in the video, although our max hp of 538whp was done @ 20psi with 100 octane/meth injection. We decided to keep the boost at no more than 20psi since the factory MAP sensors limit is 21psi. Running anything more than 21psi would keep us from being able to have any control over fuel attenuation which is not safe.

  16. #16
    Join Date
    Mar 2010
    Location
    AZ
    Posts
    2,826
    Rep Points
    -67.0
    Mentioned
    43 Post(s)
    Rep Power
    0


    Yes Reputation No
    Click here to enlarge Originally Posted by Abid@ASR Click here to enlarge
    I think there is some confusion in regards to the tuning. We require that the customer have a Vishnu Procede to run our turbo upgrade package, since it is the only system we feel can produce the results we're looking for safely and reliably. We have our own firmware and files setup specifically for the turbo upgrades. For example, if you already have a Procede and purchase the turbo upgrades, we will send you the firmware and files to upload at no additional cost.

    The boost numbers for the hp figures listed are in the video, although our max hp of 538whp was done @ 20psi with 100 octane/meth injection. We decided to keep the boost at no more than 20psi since the factory MAP sensors limit is 21psi. Running anything more than 21psi would keep us from being able to have any control over fuel attenuation which is not safe.
    Is it possible to upgrade that sensor?

  17. #17
    Join Date
    Feb 2010
    Posts
    2,186
    Rep Points
    2,134.5
    Mentioned
    25 Post(s)
    Rep Power
    22


    Yes Reputation No
    nice, congrats...what does it make on pump?
    Current:
    14 Viper TA
    Wsir - 1:28:9
    Buttonwillow C13 - 1:54:1

  18. #18
    Join Date
    Nov 2009
    Posts
    70
    Rep Points
    9.7
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Rep Power
    0


    Yes Reputation No
    There are aftermarket sensors such as a 3 bar MAP sensor that can read up to 28psi, but it can not read air temperature like the factory sesnor can. Therefore, if you were to attempt to change the map sensor, you would have to add an additional air temp sensor as well. This is just not possible to do with the factory DME, unless you were to add an external device that would have full control over these sensors.

  19. #19
    Join Date
    Nov 2009
    Posts
    70
    Rep Points
    9.7
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Rep Power
    0


    Yes Reputation No
    On pump gas our 135i makes 450whp and on pump/meth 485whp. Many people compare our pump gas dyno figures to stock turbos and say it's only a few hp more, but in actuality it's much more than that. Yes, it's true that stock turbos have been shown to produce upwards of 430whp, but it's only for about 200-300 rpm while the rest of the curve is well below 400whp. You can see with our dyno sheets that even at 450whp, the hp is across the whole powerband all the way to the rev limiter and not just a breif spike. The stock turbo dyno graphs with a high hp number for a breif spike do not even come close to comparing to the powerband and power delivery of our turbo upgrades.

  20. #20
    Join Date
    Feb 2010
    Location
    Miami Beach
    Posts
    1,087
    Rep Points
    513.4
    Mentioned
    10 Post(s)
    Rep Power
    6


    Yes Reputation No
    so whats the next step to make more power Click here to enlarge ???

    upgraded fuel system? new sensors? different housing?

    another question does the 335i have more space then the 135i for lets say bigger housing?? reason why I ask this is because the 335i is a bigger car and I remember reading something on this topic on how one has a different sized housing then the other or that one housing for a turbo was bigger then the other. Not exactly sure on this because it doesn't make to much sense, but I figured I should ask anyways.
    Click here to enlarge

  21. #21
    Join Date
    Feb 2010
    Posts
    83
    Rep Points
    42.4
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Rep Power
    0


    Yes Reputation No
    Do you have 135i kits because I heard that one of the turbo's was different. Also will it be getting retuned to use v4 and the canbus data? Last but not least how much will just the turbos cost because I am already a full stage 3 car minus meth.

  22. #22
    Join Date
    Nov 2009
    Location
    Miami, FL.
    Posts
    1,836
    Rep Points
    771.0
    Mentioned
    9 Post(s)
    Rep Power
    8


    Yes Reputation No
    Click here to enlarge Originally Posted by blk135 Click here to enlarge
    Do you have 135i kits because I heard that one of the turbo's was different. Also will it be getting retuned to use v4 and the canbus data? Last but not least how much will just the turbos cost because I am already a full stage 3 car minus meth.
    i can answer a few of the questions since i talked to abid yesterday. i doubt one of the turbos is a different size, just because its on the 1. if the turbos weren't equal, they wouldn't pressurize the air the same way no? question 2 is easy, while we were chatting, he was working on integrating v4 logic on their 135. for the last question its preference. I have an RPi i/c atm, I don't think it will flow enough for the upgraded turbos, which is why i plan to use ASR's i/c, which is specifically designed around these upp'ed turbos flow. Meth is not necessary but is a preference. Actual pricing I cannot give you since I dont work with ASR but expect it to be a lot less when you start slashing off parts because you dont think you need to replace them.
    Click here to enlarge
    2007 335i Coupe
    Mods: Check the Garage

  23. #23
    Join Date
    Jan 2010
    Location
    Louisville, KY
    Posts
    206
    Rep Points
    91.1
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Rep Power
    0


    Yes Reputation No
    I was expecting to see 500whp on pump gas....
    This is my signature... Click here to enlarge

  24. #24
    Join Date
    Nov 2009
    Location
    Whales Vag
    Posts
    1,214
    Rep Points
    1.0
    Mentioned
    8 Post(s)
    Rep Power
    0


    Yes Reputation No
    Click here to enlarge Originally Posted by tag824 Click here to enlarge
    guess i lost all my rep's... later bro's

  25. #25
    Join Date
    Nov 2009
    Location
    Miami, FL.
    Posts
    1,836
    Rep Points
    771.0
    Mentioned
    9 Post(s)
    Rep Power
    8


    Yes Reputation No
    Click here to enlarge Originally Posted by shahsk Click here to enlarge
    yessir, this is the same car, what a rocket huh? i cant wait to get those chra's on my baby!
    Click here to enlarge
    2007 335i Coupe
    Mods: Check the Garage

Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Tags for this Thread

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •