Close

Rep Points
    Mentioned
    8 Post(s)

Cat-less DP's stink?

Hello all, I'm new to the whole BMW thing, I've been playing with GTI's the last 15 years. Anyway, I had an 09 GTI before I purchased my BMW and had various downpipes on it. I loved the power gained with downpipes, but I couldn't stand the smell of the car when running without a cat. Does the N54 smell terrible, like the GTIs when pulling up to a stop, or does the odor not make it up to the front of the E90? I'm just curious. If some people notice that eye watering smell, I'll probably just get some catted downpipes or just leave the stock ones on. Actually, I doubt I'll leave it stock, but it's nice to think.

Rep Points
    Mentioned
    2056 Post(s)

It happens with all cars when you delete cats.
    Stage 2 or 2.5 E9X M3 S65 V8 supercharger kit for sale: http://www.boostaddict.com/showthrea...r-kit-for-sale

Rep Points
    Mentioned
    8 Post(s)

1 out of 1 members liked this post. Reputation: Yes | No
    I guess I'll just go for cats. For some reason American v8's tend to smell delicious at the track, but I'm pretty sure it's because they're running leaded fuel. Yum. -I'll probably end up with brain tumors from it.

Rep Points
    Mentioned
    318 Post(s)

do you plan on getting a catless exhaust?

when i had stock exhaust and catless DP's, i couldnt smell anything. it was only after fully catless that it began to stink. I think you'll be ok if those are the only cats you plan on removing

Rep Points
    Mentioned
    8 Post(s)

Interesting there, Lost Marine. I thought about getting an aftermarket exhaust to get a little more sound out of the engine, but if I can get a little extra performance and noise with catless downpipes, while still maintaining the factory exhaust, I might go that route. That leaves me with some new questions now. Would I get better gains from A:catless downpipes and factory exhaust or B: stock downpipes with aftermarket exhaust with the secondary cat delete?