Close

Results 1 to 20 of 20
  1. #1
    Join Date
    Jul 2014
    Location
    Ithaca, Ny
    Posts
    130
    Rep Points
    163.9
    Mentioned
    1 Post(s)
    Rep Power
    2


    2 out of 2 members liked this post. Yes Reputation No

    BimmerBoost Flash questions

    Very new to the N54 engine and have been considering options for tuning. Wondering if someone can clarify the capability of bimmerboost flash for me. Can you use OTS maps (such as shivs)? Are there any other OTS maps available that are ready to go? I have been looking for awhile but unable to find such simple info.


    Thanks In Advance!!

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Jan 2013
    Location
    Mexico
    Posts
    272
    Rep Points
    331.7
    Mentioned
    13 Post(s)
    Rep Power
    4


    Yes Reputation No
    Ditch the shiv maps and load up a BMS E85 Map if you have E85 and supporting mods

  3. #3
    Join Date
    May 2013
    Location
    Australia, Darwin
    Posts
    145
    Rep Points
    77.7
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Rep Power
    0


    Yes Reputation No
    There are maps on bimmerboost that other users have uploaded. (At top of the page the downloads tab)
    Depends on your mods what map to use.

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Sep 2013
    Location
    SC
    Posts
    364
    Rep Points
    700.4
    Mentioned
    4 Post(s)
    Rep Power
    8


    Yes Reputation No
    As a standalone flash the OFT flashes will work fine though I wouldn't go aggressive without any great way to log other than the BT software. I would probably advise against using BMS backend flashes as a standalone because the load targets and WGDC changes were designed to work with a JB4, not as a standalone.

    I have a few friends that run the OFT Stage 1 flash without the tablet. I flashed them with the BB software/BT cable. For basically a free flash (aside from BT cable cost), I was pretty impressed. At one of our dyno days it actually on par with a JB4 G5 on Map 2 with DPs, DCI. The OFT Stage 1 was otherwise stock down to the airbox.
    E92 335is DCT

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Mar 2013
    Location
    Vancouver Canada
    Posts
    253
    Rep Points
    419.9
    Mentioned
    5 Post(s)
    Rep Power
    5


    Yes Reputation No
    Kind of a thread jack but do you need to run e85 all the time to run the bms backend flash? Or will it be fine if you only run e85 every once in a while (once every 4 tanks).

    Thanks

    edit: what benefits are there to running the backend flash?
    BSM 2008 135i N54
    -VRSF 7" IC -VRSF DP's -n55 mids -BERK race -ER CP -TIAL BOV -BMS DCI -JB4 G5 ISO -ST coils -STOPTECH slotted rotors & pads -SLeK lip

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Sep 2013
    Location
    SC
    Posts
    364
    Rep Points
    700.4
    Mentioned
    4 Post(s)
    Rep Power
    8


    Yes Reputation No
    Click here to enlarge Originally Posted by Wescuddles Click here to enlarge
    Kind of a thread jack but do you need to run e85 all the time to run the bms backend flash? Or will it be fine if you only run e85 every once in a while (once every 4 tanks).

    Thanks

    edit: what benefits are there to running the backend flash?
    Yes. The E85 backend flash runs a lot more timing than stock and a more aggressive fuel scalar to account for the Ethanol. You need adequate amounts of Ethanol to run the E85 flash as well, generally E50+. If you switched back to a tank of pump gas with the flash you will be running too much timing and a scalar not suited for pump fuel.

    If you tend to run E85 just occasionally (and not excessive amounts, such as in a few gallons in a full tank of 91/93) then you'd probably be better off running the pump flash and just running Map 5 when you add the few gallons of E85 to make more boost. Not sure what Map you are running now.
    E92 335is DCT

  7. #7
    Join Date
    Jul 2014
    Location
    Ithaca, Ny
    Posts
    130
    Rep Points
    163.9
    Mentioned
    1 Post(s)
    Rep Power
    2



    Yes Reputation No
    Thanks for all of the input, I'm glad to get some definite answers! Unfortunately no e85 around me Click here to enlarge

  8. #8
    Join Date
    Jul 2014
    Location
    Ithaca, Ny
    Posts
    130
    Rep Points
    163.9
    Mentioned
    1 Post(s)
    Rep Power
    2



    Yes Reputation No
    Cobb Maps?

  9. #9
    Join Date
    Sep 2013
    Location
    SC
    Posts
    364
    Rep Points
    700.4
    Mentioned
    4 Post(s)
    Rep Power
    8


    Yes Reputation No
    Click here to enlarge Originally Posted by konvikt21 Click here to enlarge
    Cobb Maps?
    Cobb maps need to be loaded with Cobb AccessPort. They are a different format and as far as I know they cannot be loaded with the BimmerBoost software.
    E92 335is DCT

  10. #10
    Join Date
    Jan 2010
    Location
    SoCal
    Posts
    120,327
    Rep Points
    32,755.4
    Mentioned
    2133 Post(s)
    Rep Power
    328


    1 out of 1 members liked this post. Yes Reputation No
    Click here to enlarge Originally Posted by musc Click here to enlarge
    Cobb maps need to be loaded with Cobb AccessPort. They are a different format and as far as I know they cannot be loaded with the BimmerBoost software.
    And I just want to point out I have no desire to ever add compatibility. Cobb users should use the AP, period. Cobb also provides great support.
    Chrome Space Bar Issue: http://www.boostaddict.com/showthrea...338#post738338


    Stage 2 or 2.5 E9X M3 S65 V8 supercharger kit for sale
    : http://www.boostaddict.com/showthrea...r-kit-for-sale

  11. #11
    Join Date
    Oct 2011
    Posts
    1,059
    Rep Points
    1,149.7
    Mentioned
    39 Post(s)
    Rep Power
    12


    Yes Reputation No
    While on the subject, can someone clarify the toggles for me? Most in my stock bin are set to "01", which I assume is binary for "true", and I would set it to "00" to disable them. However, the codes section have most set to "54". To disable those codes, does one set it to "00"?

  12. #12
    Join Date
    May 2012
    Location
    Jacksonville, FL
    Posts
    2,971
    Rep Points
    2,932.4
    Mentioned
    78 Post(s)
    Rep Power
    30


    1 out of 1 members liked this post. Yes Reputation No
    Click here to enlarge Originally Posted by Tzu Click here to enlarge
    While on the subject, can someone clarify the toggles for me? Most in my stock bin are set to "01", which I assume is binary for "true", and I would set it to "00" to disable them. However, the codes section have most set to "54". To disable those codes, does one set it to "00"?
    Yep.
    2011 E90 M3 \ Melbourne Rot Metallic

    Click here to enlarge

  13. #13
    Join Date
    Oct 2011
    Posts
    1,059
    Rep Points
    1,149.7
    Mentioned
    39 Post(s)
    Rep Power
    12


    Yes Reputation No
    Thanks! I wish there was an FAQ or newbie guide for the bbflash, or am I just blind?

  14. #14
    Join Date
    Jul 2012
    Location
    Boston, MA
    Posts
    2,574
    Rep Points
    1,867.3
    Mentioned
    51 Post(s)
    Rep Power
    19


    Yes Reputation No
    Click here to enlarge Originally Posted by Tzu Click here to enlarge
    Thanks! I wish there was an FAQ or newbie guide for the bbflash, or am I just blind?
    Dude, its so clearly spelled out. I can't imagine what more you would want?
    E92 Bren Tune / E90 PTF Tune / E70 Twin Turbo Diesel JBD

    Got Boost?

    Click here to enlarge

  15. #15
    Join Date
    May 2012
    Location
    Jacksonville, FL
    Posts
    2,971
    Rep Points
    2,932.4
    Mentioned
    78 Post(s)
    Rep Power
    30


    Yes Reputation No
    Click here to enlarge Originally Posted by Tzu Click here to enlarge
    Thanks! I wish there was an FAQ or newbie guide for the bbflash, or am I just blind?
    LOL, i hate to have to type this, but just search for Shiv's DIY videos on E90post or youtube. Sorry in advance Sticky Click here to enlarge
    2011 E90 M3 \ Melbourne Rot Metallic

    Click here to enlarge

  16. #16
    Join Date
    Oct 2011
    Posts
    1,059
    Rep Points
    1,149.7
    Mentioned
    39 Post(s)
    Rep Power
    12


    Yes Reputation No
    Click here to enlarge Originally Posted by Torgus Click here to enlarge
    Dude, its so clearly spelled out. I can't imagine what more you would want?
    Nothing. Lulz_m3 answered just fine, and I repped accordingly. Cobb has a lot of documentation and walkthroughs exist all over the place. Tunerpro is just a new, strange interface is all. I'm not a software guy.


    @lulz_m3 Thanks for the advice, I got everything sorted out. Just needed to disable the codes.

  17. #17
    Join Date
    Jul 2012
    Location
    Boston, MA
    Posts
    2,574
    Rep Points
    1,867.3
    Mentioned
    51 Post(s)
    Rep Power
    19


    1 out of 1 members liked this post. Yes Reputation No
    Click here to enlarge Originally Posted by Tzu Click here to enlarge
    Nothing. Lulz_m3 answered just fine, and I repped accordingly. Cobb has a lot of documentation and walkthroughs exist all over the place. Tunerpro is just a new, strange interface is all. I'm not a software guy.


    @lulz_m3 Thanks for the advice, I got everything sorted out. Just needed to disable the codes.
    FYI I was being sarcastic.
    E92 Bren Tune / E90 PTF Tune / E70 Twin Turbo Diesel JBD

    Got Boost?

    Click here to enlarge

  18. #18
    Join Date
    Oct 2011
    Posts
    1,059
    Rep Points
    1,149.7
    Mentioned
    39 Post(s)
    Rep Power
    12


    Yes Reputation No
    Click here to enlarge Originally Posted by Torgus Click here to enlarge
    FYI I was being sarcastic.
    Difficult to tell on the interwebz. Have a rep.

  19. #19
    Join Date
    Oct 2011
    Posts
    1,059
    Rep Points
    1,149.7
    Mentioned
    39 Post(s)
    Rep Power
    12


    Yes Reputation No
    Not to hijack this thread, but I just flashed with bbflash for the first time, and now the traction control symbol is on the dash full time. I haven't tried to clear it yet. Is something amiss?

  20. #20
    Join Date
    Oct 2011
    Posts
    1,059
    Rep Points
    1,149.7
    Mentioned
    39 Post(s)
    Rep Power
    12


    Yes Reputation No
    Nvm went away with restart. Brain fart.

Tags for this Thread

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •