Close

Results 1 to 9 of 9
  1. #1
    Join Date
    Mar 2014
    Posts
    549
    Rep Points
    655.5
    Mentioned
    16 Post(s)
    Rep Power
    7


    Yes Reputation No

    BMW Performance Power Kit software. How is it installed?

    Does anybody either work for a BMW dealer or know someone who does who can shed light on how the PPK software is installed?

    My suspicion is that it's simply a different ZB number readily available in SP DATEN flashed using WinKFP. Maybe it overwrites the IJE0S firmware with ILA0S or IKC0S? Possibly the exact same firmware as a 335is or 1M?

    I'd love to work it out and do it on mine and use the new BMW flash as a new 'starting point' to work my own tuning from.

  2. #2
    Join Date
    May 2013
    Posts
    2,930
    Rep Points
    921.6
    Mentioned
    57 Post(s)
    Rep Power
    10


    Yes Reputation No
    That's not a bad idea, I think someone already uploaded the .bin to the b3 or 1m. Obviously the PPK is just a flash done at the dealer, but I'm sure they have found a way to keep it secure. Definitely need someone that works at BMW to shed some light. I know there are a few guys over on e90post that have PPK, not sure about here.
    2009 335i coupe back to stock...for now

    Click here to enlarge

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Mar 2014
    Posts
    549
    Rep Points
    655.5
    Mentioned
    16 Post(s)
    Rep Power
    7



    Yes Reputation No
    Has anybody got access to BMW ISTA software to look up ZB numbers for various production codes in a similar way to what TerraPhantm did here:

    http://forums.bimmerforums.com/forum...i-tune-install

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Jan 2010
    Location
    SoCal
    Posts
    120,267
    Rep Points
    32,722.2
    Mentioned
    2131 Post(s)
    Rep Power
    328


    Yes Reputation No
    Click here to enlarge Originally Posted by bradsm87 Click here to enlarge
    Has anybody got access to BMW ISTA software to look up ZB numbers for various production codes in a similar way to what TerraPhantm did here:

    http://forums.bimmerforums.com/forum...i-tune-install
    I think we'd need somebody in with a dealer to help us out.
    Chrome Space Bar Issue: http://www.boostaddict.com/showthrea...338#post738338


    Stage 2 or 2.5 E9X M3 S65 V8 supercharger kit for sale
    : http://www.boostaddict.com/showthrea...r-kit-for-sale

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Mar 2014
    Posts
    549
    Rep Points
    655.5
    Mentioned
    16 Post(s)
    Rep Power
    7



    1 out of 1 members liked this post. Yes Reputation No
    Click here to enlarge Originally Posted by Sticky Click here to enlarge
    I think we'd need somebody in with a dealer to help us out.
    Indeed we do. Anybody?

    I suspect that ISTA can look up the ZB numbers for use with a certain Production code and option combo but ISTA will not let you flash the Performance Pack file without some sort of 'unlock', HOWEVER, WinKFP would probably just flash it without issues.

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Jan 2010
    Location
    SoCal
    Posts
    120,267
    Rep Points
    32,722.2
    Mentioned
    2131 Post(s)
    Rep Power
    328


    1 out of 1 members liked this post. Yes Reputation No
    Click here to enlarge Originally Posted by bradsm87 Click here to enlarge
    Indeed we do. Anybody?

    I suspect that ISTA can look up the ZB numbers for use with a certain Production code and option combo but ISTA will not let you flash the Performance Pack file without some sort of 'unlock', HOWEVER, WinKFP would probably just flash it without issues.
    What you are saying sounds like it would work. So... Phase II...
    Chrome Space Bar Issue: http://www.boostaddict.com/showthrea...338#post738338


    Stage 2 or 2.5 E9X M3 S65 V8 supercharger kit for sale
    : http://www.boostaddict.com/showthrea...r-kit-for-sale

  7. #7
    Join Date
    Mar 2014
    Posts
    549
    Rep Points
    655.5
    Mentioned
    16 Post(s)
    Rep Power
    7



    1 out of 1 members liked this post. Yes Reputation No
    But we do need ISTA to list which ZB number to use for which car. Hopefully we can take it from there with WinKFP after that.

  8. #8
    Join Date
    Nov 2011
    Location
    Florida
    Posts
    905
    Rep Points
    795.7
    Mentioned
    113 Post(s)
    Rep Power
    0


    Yes Reputation No
    When the dealer flashes the PPK software don't they change out also your DME to run with the new hardware ?

  9. #9
    Join Date
    Mar 2014
    Posts
    549
    Rep Points
    655.5
    Mentioned
    16 Post(s)
    Rep Power
    7



    Yes Reputation No
    Click here to enlarge Originally Posted by BuraQ Click here to enlarge
    When the dealer flashes the PPK software don't they change out also your DME to run with the new hardware ?
    They upgrade earlier MSD80 to MSD81. If you already have an MSD81, it's just a flash.

Tags for this Thread

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •