Close

Results 1 to 17 of 17
  1. #1
    Join Date
    Sep 2011
    Posts
    1,200
    Rep Points
    2,097.2
    Mentioned
    25 Post(s)
    Rep Power
    21


    Reputation: Yes | No

    Question Line Lock Install Help

    I received my AR Design line lock today, but it looks different from the pictures online (the brackets in particular). Can someone confirm this is the right kit (335i)?

    Also, I cannot find installation instructions nor do I have any installed pictures to work from. I'm interested in the hose/fitting orientation. Is there a brake line that goes in between the solenoid and the caliper?

    Thanks
    Attached Images Attached Images  
    Change is constant

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Sep 2011
    Posts
    1,200
    Rep Points
    2,097.2
    Mentioned
    25 Post(s)
    Rep Power
    21



    Reputation: Yes | No
    It looks like a this thread uses the same kit I got:
    http://www.bimmerboost.com/showthrea...ng-a-line-lock
    Change is constant

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Jan 2010
    Location
    SoCal
    Posts
    117,797
    Rep Points
    31,559.9
    Mentioned
    2064 Post(s)
    Rep Power
    316


    Reputation: Yes | No

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Sep 2011
    Posts
    1,200
    Rep Points
    2,097.2
    Mentioned
    25 Post(s)
    Rep Power
    21



    Reputation: Yes | No
    Yeah, they emailed me the instructions. You can delete this thread (or merge with the above).

    Thanks
    Change is constant

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Jan 2010
    Location
    SoCal
    Posts
    117,797
    Rep Points
    31,559.9
    Mentioned
    2064 Post(s)
    Rep Power
    316


    Reputation: Yes | No
    No need to delete. We'll leave this as an updated discussion.

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Oct 2013
    Location
    michigan
    Posts
    1,076
    Rep Points
    908.3
    Mentioned
    18 Post(s)
    Rep Power
    10


    Reputation: Yes | No
    Click here to enlarge Originally Posted by Sticky Click here to enlarge
    No need to delete. We'll leave this as an updated discussion.
    the one you use would probably work for me, wouldn't it? no experience with line locks so idk anything about fitment
    '08 535xi - fbo

  7. #7
    Join Date
    Jan 2010
    Location
    SoCal
    Posts
    117,797
    Rep Points
    31,559.9
    Mentioned
    2064 Post(s)
    Rep Power
    316


    Reputation: Yes | No
    Click here to enlarge Originally Posted by rawad1017 Click here to enlarge
    the one you use would probably work for me, wouldn't it? no experience with line locks so idk anything about fitment
    The one I use is basically this same exact thing.

  8. #8
    Join Date
    Oct 2013
    Location
    michigan
    Posts
    1,076
    Rep Points
    908.3
    Mentioned
    18 Post(s)
    Rep Power
    10


    Reputation: Yes | No
    Click here to enlarge Originally Posted by Sticky Click here to enlarge
    The one I use is basically this same exact thing.
    yeah but 3 series..but anyway line locks for the most part are universal aren't they?
    '08 535xi - fbo

  9. #9
    Join Date
    Jan 2010
    Location
    SoCal
    Posts
    117,797
    Rep Points
    31,559.9
    Mentioned
    2064 Post(s)
    Rep Power
    316


    Reputation: Yes | No
    Click here to enlarge Originally Posted by rawad1017 Click here to enlarge
    yeah but 3 series..but anyway line locks for the most part are universal aren't they?
    For the most part.

    I mean @ar design can adapt anything you need them to. I forget what changes were necessary for the M3 but there were a few.

  10. #10
    Join Date
    Sep 2011
    Posts
    1,200
    Rep Points
    2,097.2
    Mentioned
    25 Post(s)
    Rep Power
    21



    Reputation: Yes | No
    Yes, the 3 series line lock is the same. Also, line locks are universal parts anyway. You can buy a domestic kit for about $120 and then SS line for another $80 and piece it together. I just bit the bullet and bought the AR kit for the ske of time.
    Change is constant

  11. #11
    Join Date
    Jan 2010
    Location
    SoCal
    Posts
    117,797
    Rep Points
    31,559.9
    Mentioned
    2064 Post(s)
    Rep Power
    316


    Reputation: Yes | No
    We should support vendors that take the time to tailor parts for our cars. Sure, you can adapt other stuff of course if you care about $50 or whatever.

  12. #12
    Join Date
    Sep 2011
    Posts
    1,200
    Rep Points
    2,097.2
    Mentioned
    25 Post(s)
    Rep Power
    21



    Reputation: Yes | No
    Click here to enlarge Originally Posted by Sticky Click here to enlarge
    We should support vendors that take the time to tailor parts for our cars. Sure, you can adapt other stuff of course if you care about $50 or whatever.
    It's more like $150, but to each their own. In the end, I was too lazy.
    Change is constant

  13. #13
    Join Date
    Mar 2010
    Location
    Toronto, Canada
    Posts
    6,679
    Rep Points
    3,328.6
    Mentioned
    225 Post(s)
    Rep Power
    34


    1 out of 1 members liked this post. Reputation: Yes | No
    Click here to enlarge Originally Posted by The Ghost Click here to enlarge
    Yes, the 3 series line lock is the same. Also, line locks are universal parts anyway. You can buy a domestic kit for about $120 and then SS line for another $80 and piece it together. I just bit the bullet and bought the AR kit for the ske of time.
    Click here to enlarge most times it is simply not worth spending time making something already tested and provided by a reputable company. I've had the AR line lock on my own car for 3 years now, easy to install and never had an issue. @ar design has always been top notch.

    I see you're getting the car ready for some action. Hopefully you also got the diff lockdown from @rick@defiv and some lighter wheels+sticky rubber?
    Click here to enlarge

  14. #14
    Join Date
    Aug 2012
    Location
    Hayward, CA
    Posts
    7,906
    Rep Points
    3,915.7
    Mentioned
    320 Post(s)
    Rep Power
    0


    Reputation: Yes | No
    I just ordered the AR kit as well. I looked at some of the domestic stuff we have installed before and could have gotten locally, but in the end it was easier to just get the complete kit. Not to mention AR stuff is always solid. Gonna get this car to track pretty soon.

  15. #15
    Join Date
    Dec 2011
    Location
    Clarksville, TN
    Posts
    3,854
    Rep Points
    2,407.7
    Mentioned
    44 Post(s)
    Rep Power
    25


    Reputation: Yes | No
    I can't wait to start seeing some N54 timeslips this year! I myself will be heading to the track soon too hopefully. Just in a 15 year old eclipse, not a BMW lol.
    2011 335is DCT, JB4 + MHD BEF, stage 2 LPFP, e50 + 50/50 meth, FBO, MT ET Streets when needed


  16. #16
    Join Date
    Sep 2011
    Posts
    1,200
    Rep Points
    2,097.2
    Mentioned
    25 Post(s)
    Rep Power
    21



    Reputation: Yes | No
    Click here to enlarge Originally Posted by dzenno@PTF Click here to enlarge
    Click here to enlarge most times it is simply not worth spending time making something already tested and provided by a reputable company. I've had the AR line lock on my own car for 3 years now, easy to install and never had an issue. @ar design has always been top notch.

    I see you're getting the car ready for some action. Hopefully you also got the diff lockdown from @rick@defiv and some lighter wheels+sticky rubber?
    yeah, I have NT05Rs on 17" K1s with LSD but couldn't get better than 2.0 60'. The burnout with this line lock is easy and awesome, however.

    I tried 17-25psi with short, long, smoke screen long, and dry burn outs with no luck. I bought my NT05Rs used from a buddy last year, so maybe they were never bedded correctly. They are at the wear bars now, so I dunno if they need to be replaced.

    Thinking of getting stickier tires, perhaps real slicks. Wheelspin sucks. I wish I could limit boost per gear.
    Change is constant

  17. #17
    Join Date
    Sep 2011
    Posts
    1,200
    Rep Points
    2,097.2
    Mentioned
    25 Post(s)
    Rep Power
    21



    2 out of 2 members liked this post. Reputation: Yes | No
    For the sake of documentation, here is my install and my secondary switch (primary is located in the glove box).
    Attached Images Attached Images   
    Change is constant

Tags for this Thread

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •