Close

Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 25 of 31
  1. #1
    Join Date
    Nov 2012
    Posts
    289
    Rep Points
    679.6
    Mentioned
    8 Post(s)
    Rep Power
    7


    Yes Reputation No

    Just screwed up my BB flash - any options?

    car is a 4/08 build date 6mt 135i previously flashed with dinan

    I have flashed my 07 335 several times which from my understanding was more difficult and it went ok.

    I knew from the get go that since it had a dinan flash it would not be possible to make a backup

    I think my car may be msd81 but my BT software said msd80...think this is where i went wrong. The car listed the software as an odd version- 0if80s
    I attempted to flash I8AOS but it may indeed be an msd81

    Anyway i knew right away when it took forever to calculate time and the flash took almost 80 minutes that it was a problem but it was too late, the fan on the laptop was running like crazy before it eventually crashed at writing 2 of 3

    Tried cycling the battery once and it was in recovery mode. voltage coming up as 0 though

    Tried flashing the file again same thing

    How ****ed am i? Should i leave battery unhooked for a few and try to flash a bin for msd81? other ideas? the setup worked just fine on a K line car so i would think the laptop is ok?

    thanks in advance

    crossposting on terrys forum as well and will update and useful info i gain from both so anyone in a similar situation that stumbles upon this can see the outcome



  2. #2
    Join Date
    Jan 2010
    Location
    SoCal
    Posts
    120,377
    Rep Points
    32,769.4
    Mentioned
    2133 Post(s)
    Rep Power
    328


    Yes Reputation No
    I really don't think you're that $#@!ed.

    You just need to do a forced write... right?
    Chrome Space Bar Issue: http://www.boostaddict.com/showthrea...338#post738338


    Stage 2 or 2.5 E9X M3 S65 V8 supercharger kit for sale
    : http://www.boostaddict.com/showthrea...r-kit-for-sale

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Dec 2012
    Location
    Houston under a book
    Posts
    1,426
    Rep Points
    2,763.7
    Mentioned
    73 Post(s)
    Rep Power
    28


    2 out of 2 members liked this post. Yes Reputation No
    unplug battery a few minutes if the computer is stuck and/or not responding to writes or ID

    Force write if you have to after plugging it back in, it might fail, force writes for whatever reason usually fail for my 07... but they get the computer back into a state that it will accept a normal write.

    Try with the I8AOS first since it's identifying as a MSD80. If after a full normal write it doesn't run, try with IJE0S. You're not $#@!ed, some cars are just a PITA sometimes. My old computer that I used to use to flash with would fail frequently during full writes (like 1/4 of the time) and I'd have to go through that dance of unplug-force-normal. The good news is you kinda get used to it after a while and partial writes are less problematic.

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Nov 2012
    Posts
    289
    Rep Points
    679.6
    Mentioned
    8 Post(s)
    Rep Power
    7



    Yes Reputation No
    How do i force the write? will it come up as an option? I owe you beer donation after all your help and the awesome map you uploaded thats running like a champ on my other car. Would have thought that if any car would be the problem it would have been the 07

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Dec 2012
    Location
    Houston under a book
    Posts
    1,426
    Rep Points
    2,763.7
    Mentioned
    73 Post(s)
    Rep Power
    28


    Yes Reputation No
    When you click "write ECU" and select the file, in the window that opens I think there's a tab for advanced options or a checkbox for force write, you'll see it. I only ever needed to force write when the ECU was stuck in recovery mode or what not.

    No worries, just studying with this open in the background which is my life for three more weeks. I take short breaks every half hour or so and have nothing better to do anyway. Click here to enlarge

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Nov 2012
    Posts
    289
    Rep Points
    679.6
    Mentioned
    8 Post(s)
    Rep Power
    7



    Yes Reputation No
    Couldnt get out of recovery mode so im forcing a write now. Have my fingers crossed that its something simple like i needed to force write over the Dinan flash and didnt the first time

  7. #7
    Join Date
    Nov 2012
    Posts
    289
    Rep Points
    679.6
    Mentioned
    8 Post(s)
    Rep Power
    7



    Yes Reputation No
    Ugh is it right that it takes like 100 minutes to write. No matter what this has been my issue. Firt write estimated at 90, this one estimates 110. This time i am trying to force write the msd81 file cause i just have a feeling...

  8. #8
    Join Date
    Nov 2012
    Posts
    289
    Rep Points
    679.6
    Mentioned
    8 Post(s)
    Rep Power
    7



    Yes Reputation No
    Force writing msd81 bin now. Made it to section 3 so far. 10 mins remaining. All these writes are taking a crazy long time. Fingers crossed

  9. #9
    Join Date
    Jun 2011
    Posts
    887
    Rep Points
    1,445.6
    Mentioned
    16 Post(s)
    Rep Power
    15


    Yes Reputation No
    Pretty sure a build date 04/08 and later have Msd81 but could be off by a month or two. I know My 135 is a 06/08 and msd81. Good luck!
    Last edited by bmw335iguy; 04-27-2014 at 09:12 PM.

  10. #10
    Join Date
    Nov 2012
    Posts
    289
    Rep Points
    679.6
    Mentioned
    8 Post(s)
    Rep Power
    7



    Yes Reputation No
    Just got through the write but still no luck. Here is the screen upon completion
    Attached Images Attached Images  

  11. #11
    Join Date
    Dec 2012
    Location
    Houston under a book
    Posts
    1,426
    Rep Points
    2,763.7
    Mentioned
    73 Post(s)
    Rep Power
    28


    Yes Reputation No
    I found this list from Cobb:

    BMW_MSD80_0044DC0I742S=BMW N54 (I742S)
    BMW_MSD80_0044DC0I761S=BMW N54 (I761S)
    BMW_MSD80_0044DC0I860S=BMW N54 (I860S)
    BMW_MSD80_0044DC0I880S=BMW N54 (I880S)
    BMW_MSD80_0044DC0I890S=BMW N54 (I890S)
    BMW_MSD80_0044DC0I8A0S=BMW N54 (I8A0S)
    BMW_MSD81_0044CC0IF80S=BMW N54 (IF80S)
    BMW_MSD81_0044CC0IGD0S=BMW N54 (IGD0S)
    BMW_MSD81_0044CC0IHE0S=BMW N54 (IHE0S)
    BMW_MSD81_0044CC0IJC0S=BMW N54 (IJC0S)
    BMW_MSD81_0044CC0IJC0S_IS=BMW N54 "is" (IJC0S)
    BMW_MSD81_0044CC0IJE0S=BMW N54 (IJE0S)
    BMW_MSD81_0044CC0IJE0S_IS=BMW N54 "is" (IJE0S)
    BMW_MSD81_0044CC0IKB0S=BMW N54 (IKB0S)
    BMW_MSD81_0044CC0IKB0S_1M=BMW N54 1 ///M (IKB0S)
    BMW_MSD81_0044CC0IKB0S_IS=BMW N54 "is" (IKB0S)
    BMW_MSD81_0044CC0IKC0S_1M=BMW N54 1 ///M (IKC0S)
    BMW_MSD81_0044CC0IKC0S_IS=BMW N54 "is" (IKC0S)

    Looks like you're MSD81, wonder why it said MSD80 at first, but try to force write the IJE0S BIN. It doesn't look like the write did very much, the software is still pulling up IF80S as your cars software and it's not showing voltage. I'd probably restart the computer, unplug the cars battery, etc and start from the beginning with that BIN. Maybe try another computer if you have one available. It probably won't help waiting the full hour, if it doesn't finish in 15 minutes it's probably not going to work.

    You could try using Terry's version of the flash software too http://www.n54tech.com/flash_files/bb_flash.zip who knows might help. WinKFP, INSTA and a coding cable is still an option, not too difficult just need the files to update the DME.

  12. #12
    Join Date
    Nov 2012
    Posts
    289
    Rep Points
    679.6
    Mentioned
    8 Post(s)
    Rep Power
    7



    Yes Reputation No
    I tried to force write the ije0s bin last night and it completed but still shows IF80S, recovery mode and 0 volts. Think i will try terrys version of the software. Both you and wedge recommended it and i have heard of it working for others in similar situations so im hoping that works. Otherwise leaning towards maybe a computer issue since it should not be taking nearly so long but idk. Work until 4 today so im gonna mess around with it later. Possibly will have to use my desktop which is a pain cause i use my tv for a monitor so that will be coming out too

  13. #13
    Join Date
    May 2012
    Location
    Jacksonville, FL
    Posts
    2,971
    Rep Points
    2,932.4
    Mentioned
    78 Post(s)
    Rep Power
    30


    1 out of 1 members liked this post. Yes Reputation No
    Click here to enlarge Originally Posted by manbeer Click here to enlarge
    I tried to force write the ije0s bin last night and it completed but still shows IF80S, recovery mode and 0 volts. Think i will try terrys version of the software. Both you and wedge recommended it and i have heard of it working for others in similar situations so im hoping that works. Otherwise leaning towards maybe a computer issue since it should not be taking nearly so long but idk. Work until 4 today so im gonna mess around with it later. Possibly will have to use my desktop which is a pain cause i use my tv for a monitor so that will be coming out too
    Did you flash the car back to factory software? I thought Dinan blocked the write function on their flash tunes, so i believe you will need to use INPA to re-write the DME back to factory software. After that is completed you should have no issues using the BBF.
    2011 E90 M3 \ Melbourne Rot Metallic

    Click here to enlarge

  14. #14
    Join Date
    Nov 2012
    Posts
    289
    Rep Points
    679.6
    Mentioned
    8 Post(s)
    Rep Power
    7



    Yes Reputation No
    Click here to enlarge Originally Posted by lulz_m3 Click here to enlarge
    Did you flash the car back to factory software? I thought Dinan blocked the write function on their flash tunes, so i believe you will need to use INPA to re-write the DME back to factory software. After that is completed you should have no issues using the BBF.
    That would make a lot of sense given the fact that it still shows the IF80S software even though i have been trying to force write IJEOS. I think that i have an inpa cable in my mailbox hopefully today. I have bmw standard tools on the computer but have never done this. Any quick tips?

  15. #15
    Join Date
    May 2012
    Location
    Jacksonville, FL
    Posts
    2,971
    Rep Points
    2,932.4
    Mentioned
    78 Post(s)
    Rep Power
    30


    Yes Reputation No
    @manbeer, I've never written to the DME using winkfp, but it doesnt appear to be anything too difficult. Just do a search for updating DME firmware using winkfp and i'm sure you will find all of the information you need. I've heard it goes pretty slow, so just make sure you have a battery charger on hand.
    2011 E90 M3 \ Melbourne Rot Metallic

    Click here to enlarge

  16. #16
    Join Date
    Nov 2012
    Posts
    289
    Rep Points
    679.6
    Mentioned
    8 Post(s)
    Rep Power
    7



    Yes Reputation No
    Ugh. My inpa cable arrived but the drivers aren't working on my macbook running vm. They install fine on the desktop but its a pain in the butt. Next few days look like rain too so looks like im gonna be at a standstill until the weekend. I tried terrys version of the bb flash too. Same thing. I think you are definitely right. Gotta flash back to stock via inpa. Fml

  17. #17
    Join Date
    Dec 2012
    Location
    Houston under a book
    Posts
    1,426
    Rep Points
    2,763.7
    Mentioned
    73 Post(s)
    Rep Power
    28


    Yes Reputation No
    That stinks man, wonder what was different about your particular Dinan tune. I'll see if I can find out if the guy I flashed was Dinan or Giac or whatever, usually the force command seems to work for people. Good thing you picked up the inpa cable but sucks you're out a car to get this sorted.

  18. #18
    Join Date
    Nov 2012
    Posts
    289
    Rep Points
    679.6
    Mentioned
    8 Post(s)
    Rep Power
    7



    Yes Reputation No
    Haha its just my luck but its all good. Normally i'd be flipping out right now but for some reason i don't really care at the moment. The winkfp thing is giving me a bit of trouble now cause the drivers for the cable aren't playing nice with my laptop. I actually just found an old single core amd laptop from like 10 years ago running xp that im gonna try to wipe and setup to do all this stuff with nothing other than the bmw programs. @V8Bait i am thinking maybe the reason it worked for you is because you force wrote the first time. Trying to research this inpa stuff is giving me a headache. Especially when i have all of the programs running well on the macbook but the cable drivers wont work

  19. #19
    Join Date
    Nov 2012
    Posts
    289
    Rep Points
    679.6
    Mentioned
    8 Post(s)
    Rep Power
    7



    Yes Reputation No
    Ok, here is the latest in the ongoing saga. Apparently Dinan writes only the programming section of the DME and locks the bootloader so that is where my problem lies. I was going to try the K+Dcan cable but apparently my problem is beyond what that is capable of (at least without being a major headache)
    Am now borrowing/renting an ICOM to write back to factory. Will have update tomorrow evening hopefully

  20. #20
    Join Date
    Nov 2012
    Posts
    289
    Rep Points
    679.6
    Mentioned
    8 Post(s)
    Rep Power
    7



    Yes Reputation No
    Its alive. Alex from alpine motorsports got it sported but it was a major pain in the ass and not smooth sailing. For a minute it didn't look promising. Actually for an hour it didn't. Anyway back to life. Lesson learned

  21. #21
    Join Date
    Jan 2010
    Location
    SoCal
    Posts
    120,377
    Rep Points
    32,769.4
    Mentioned
    2133 Post(s)
    Rep Power
    328


    Yes Reputation No
    Click here to enlarge Originally Posted by manbeer Click here to enlarge
    Its alive. Alex from alpine motorsports got it sported but it was a major pain in the ass and not smooth sailing. For a minute it didn't look promising. Actually for an hour it didn't. Anyway back to life. Lesson learned
    So what did he do differently?
    Chrome Space Bar Issue: http://www.boostaddict.com/showthrea...338#post738338


    Stage 2 or 2.5 E9X M3 S65 V8 supercharger kit for sale
    : http://www.boostaddict.com/showthrea...r-kit-for-sale

  22. #22
    Join Date
    Nov 2012
    Posts
    289
    Rep Points
    679.6
    Mentioned
    8 Post(s)
    Rep Power
    7



    1 out of 1 members liked this post. Yes Reputation No
    Apparently few things may have worked in conjuction or contributed to my problem. Firstly that it was write protected and almost impossible to get past. Secondly i flashed an i8a0s bin first when it failed so it left things in am awkward state. From what he described it sort of had parts of both bins in there and the odd if80s software id was due to Dinan using a euro base for the tune which apparently a lot of tuners do. So if you have an odd software id don't attempt a flash based on whether you think its msd80 or 81. Just get it updated at the dealer first. If you see an odd version its a sign of possible hell to come

  23. #23
    Join Date
    Nov 2012
    Posts
    289
    Rep Points
    679.6
    Mentioned
    8 Post(s)
    Rep Power
    7



    Yes Reputation No
    Attempting a flash right now and its giving me another crazy long eta but its possible cause this computer is super slow though

  24. #24
    Join Date
    Jan 2010
    Location
    SoCal
    Posts
    120,377
    Rep Points
    32,769.4
    Mentioned
    2133 Post(s)
    Rep Power
    328


    1 out of 1 members liked this post. Yes Reputation No
    Click here to enlarge Originally Posted by manbeer Click here to enlarge
    Apparently few things may have worked in conjuction or contributed to my problem. Firstly that it was write protected and almost impossible to get past. Secondly i flashed an i8a0s bin first when it failed so it left things in am awkward state. From what he described it sort of had parts of both bins in there and the odd if80s software id was due to Dinan using a euro base for the tune which apparently a lot of tuners do. So if you have an odd software id don't attempt a flash based on whether you think its msd80 or 81. Just get it updated at the dealer first. If you see an odd version its a sign of possible hell to come
    The most problems we see here are either the 2007 cars which really isn't that big of a deal or people who already have a flash with built in protections. In your case, you will know what to do for future reference but it also serves as a reference for others.

    I understand Dinan's position but it's not like anybody wants to rip that tune off...
    Chrome Space Bar Issue: http://www.boostaddict.com/showthrea...338#post738338


    Stage 2 or 2.5 E9X M3 S65 V8 supercharger kit for sale
    : http://www.boostaddict.com/showthrea...r-kit-for-sale

  25. #25
    Join Date
    Nov 2012
    Posts
    289
    Rep Points
    679.6
    Mentioned
    8 Post(s)
    Rep Power
    7



    Yes Reputation No
    Click here to enlarge Originally Posted by Sticky Click here to enlarge
    The most problems we see here are either the 2007 cars which really isn't that big of a deal or people who already have a flash with built in protections. In your case, you will know what to do for future reference but it also serves as a reference for others.

    I understand Dinan's position but it's not like anybody wants to rip that tune off...
    Not only do they not want you to copy it, they want you to never be able to get rid of it! Lol

    You know after a good long time messing with this over the last week, coupled with the problems i was having tonight after i went back to stock i realized that:

    A- i have bad luck
    B- i have the car from hell. D-can with K-line type issues
    C- just cause a computer works on one car doesnt always mean it works on all. My computer that works well on the k line wouldnt work on this car
    D- i think that my circumstances may have been a unique set in that we were unclear if i was msd80 or 81 and the first write wasnt forced, crashed halfway between installing the wrong software and just wouldn't take. I think "maybe" that under perfect circumstances with the right computer doing a forced write the first time with known good files that it *might* possibly work but to be safe anytime you ID the car for the first time and its not I8A0S or IJE0S just save yourself from the headache and have the dealer or someone with isid/winkfp or whatever return you to stock

    Anyway after 3 computers and a few failed attempts this $#@!er finally starts! I have been outside literally from noon to midnight today...not even gonna test drive it, off to bed!

Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Tags for this Thread

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •