Close

Results 1 to 12 of 12
  1. #1
    Join Date
    Nov 2012
    Posts
    277
    Rep Points
    671.0
    Mentioned
    8 Post(s)
    Rep Power
    7


    1 out of 1 members liked this post. Reputation: Yes | No

    openflash maps- top speed limiter removed or no?

    I was driving the Mrs. Stage 0 335i today (shiv map loaded with bimmerboost flash)
    Was bringing a g35 to the raep party and wound up going very fast when I looked down and the speedo was buried. I either hit the top speed or rev limiter in 5th and was trying to figure out how fast we were actually going

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Jan 2010
    Location
    SoCal
    Posts
    117,797
    Rep Points
    31,559.9
    Mentioned
    2064 Post(s)
    Rep Power
    316


    Reputation: Yes | No
    I have no idea. Anyone know if Vishnu removed the limiter? I would think so.

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Jun 2010
    Location
    Boynton Beach, FL
    Posts
    1,209
    Rep Points
    1,445.2
    Mentioned
    61 Post(s)
    Rep Power
    0


    Reputation: Yes | No
    By default I think the limiter is still enabled. You can disable it in tunerpro.

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Dec 2012
    Location
    Houston under a book
    Posts
    1,337
    Rep Points
    2,501.9
    Mentioned
    63 Post(s)
    Rep Power
    26


    3 out of 4 members liked this post. Reputation: Yes | No
    Click here to enlarge Originally Posted by BoostAddict Click here to enlarge
    By default I think the limiter is still enabled. You can disable it in tunerpro.
    This^

    Shiv left the limiter wherever it was for your car. His tune patches your BIN, and the patch doesn't touch the speed limiter AFAIK. I'm assuming you are correctly PATCHING your BIN, and not loading someone else's BIN.

    Anyway, what have you done to ensure your car is equipped to drive faster than 135mph (non spot package) or 155mph (sport package) anyway? Do you have the proper tires? Suspension? Downforce? Do you have any specific reason to be driving that fast like 1/2 mile or full mile runs on a CLOSED track? Or do you just really want to test out top speed on public roads with friends in your car? What if you hit a bump at 170mph? Or have a blowout on tires not rated for X speed that you admittedly weren't even paying attention to? Did you know that many speed rated tires void their "speed rating" if they have been repaired?

    If I was your friend, I'd be thanking Shiv right now. Sorry if I sound like a dick but your reason for wanting the limiter disabled is really bad and you should feel bad. But hey, it's right there in TunerPro, have at it. Under the "Limits" category, change the "Speed Limiter Master" from 00 to 01, save, and upload. Cheers.

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Jan 2010
    Location
    SoCal
    Posts
    117,797
    Rep Points
    31,559.9
    Mentioned
    2064 Post(s)
    Rep Power
    316


    Reputation: Yes | No
    Click here to enlarge Originally Posted by V8Bait Click here to enlarge
    This^

    Shiv left the limiter wherever it was for your car. His tune patches your BIN, and the patch doesn't touch the speed limiter AFAIK. I'm assuming you are correctly PATCHING your BIN, and not loading someone else's BIN.

    Anyway, what have you done to ensure your car is equipped to drive faster than 135mph (non spot package) or 155mph (sport package) anyway? Do you have the proper tires? Suspension? Downforce? Do you have any specific reason to be driving that fast like 1/2 mile or full mile runs on a CLOSED track? Or do you just really want to test out top speed on public roads with friends in your car? What if you hit a bump at 170mph? Or have a blowout on tires not rated for X speed that you admittedly weren't even paying attention to? Did you know that many speed rated tires void their "speed rating" if they have been repaired?

    If I was your friend, I'd be thanking Shiv right now. Sorry if I sound like a dick but your reason for wanting the limiter disabled is really bad and you should feel bad. But hey, it's right there in TunerPro, have at it. Under the "Limits" category, change the "Speed Limiter Master" from 00 to 01, save, and upload. Cheers.
    Earned that rep.

  6. #6
    Join Date
    May 2012
    Location
    Jacksonville, FL
    Posts
    2,937
    Rep Points
    2,858.9
    Mentioned
    78 Post(s)
    Rep Power
    29


    Reputation: Yes | No
    Click here to enlarge Originally Posted by Sticky Click here to enlarge
    Earned that rep.
    Really? I do like many of the V8bait posts that i read, but honestly cannot get down with this one. Let the man have his fun, we're all adults here.
    2011 E90 M3 \ Melbourne Rot Metallic

    Click here to enlarge

  7. #7
    Join Date
    Jan 2010
    Location
    SoCal
    Posts
    117,797
    Rep Points
    31,559.9
    Mentioned
    2064 Post(s)
    Rep Power
    316


    Reputation: Yes | No
    Click here to enlarge Originally Posted by lulz_m3 Click here to enlarge
    Really? I do like many of the V8bait posts that i read, but honestly cannot get down with this one. Let the man have his fun, we're all adults here.
    I found it helpful. The guy knows what to do now if he wants to remove it.

  8. #8
    Join Date
    Nov 2012
    Posts
    277
    Rep Points
    671.0
    Mentioned
    8 Post(s)
    Rep Power
    7



    Reputation: Yes | No
    Thanks for your replies.

    If you read my post again, you may notice that at no point did I say that I desired to remove the limiter. I simply wanted to know whether or not it was removed by default as I was curious as to how fast I was actually going

    I generally play it fairly safe and at this speed the car felt well within its comfortable limit. On that note, my 135 doesn't feel quite as stable and I wouldn't even think of going those speeds in it. As far as bumps and obstacles, this was wide open space with deer fencing running on both sides that I know like the back of my hand

    So again, I am not advocating speeding, removing limiters or anything of the sort. I did not know how fast I was going until I reached that point so I was just curious

  9. #9
    Join Date
    Dec 2012
    Location
    Houston under a book
    Posts
    1,337
    Rep Points
    2,501.9
    Mentioned
    63 Post(s)
    Rep Power
    26


    Reputation: Yes | No
    Click here to enlarge Originally Posted by lulz_m3 Click here to enlarge
    Really? I do like many of the V8bait posts that i read, but honestly cannot get down with this one. Let the man have his fun, we're all adults here.
    Help some friends remove limiters then go right out and kill themselves and their passengers and you might begin to understand my perspective. Acceleration is one thing, cars with big horsepower upgrades and nothing else going way faster than they were designed for with drivers who really have no purpose going that fast is another. I'm all for helping him remove it still as that's his choice, but forgive me, his post struck a sore spot. His last post was better, but his first one brought back some bad memories.

  10. #10
    Join Date
    Nov 2012
    Posts
    277
    Rep Points
    671.0
    Mentioned
    8 Post(s)
    Rep Power
    7



    1 out of 1 members liked this post. Reputation: Yes | No
    Sorry if I struck a nerve, I understand and agree with your perspective but I think that the original post followed by the first reply gave the impression that I was attempting to do something I was not. I was surprised at the speed I was going as I don't like to take my eyes off the road so I wanted to know if I was hitting the 155mph limiter or the rev limit in 5th gear. The car is rock solid, well maintained, and has great tires. I'm not of the type that runs ghetto rigged pieces of junk with bald mismatched tires and 2 lugs holding on the wheel. I learned plenty about what happens with that from my days in the DSM world back in the late 90s and early 2000s. I too had a friend doing something that he shouldn't have who wound up dying. The night before he had called me and said that the cords were showing on his tires and I told him not to drive anywhere but the tire shop because I knew he liked to speed. The next day, while he was going to work he had a blowout going over 100mph. At least that's what the police determined. Traveling within the confines of the vehicles safe limitations is something that I am a staunch supporter of so it wasn't meant as a "how do I make my stock suspension 335 go faster than speeds it was intended for" thread which I think it became.

  11. #11
    Join Date
    Dec 2012
    Location
    Houston under a book
    Posts
    1,337
    Rep Points
    2,501.9
    Mentioned
    63 Post(s)
    Rep Power
    26


    Reputation: Yes | No
    130 or 135 without sport package/tires, 150 or 155 with it as far as I know. I believe 5th runs out to upper 150's on the 6mt, not sure about the auto but I think it's right around 150 as well but lower than the mt. It's likely you hit the speed governor regardless, but depending where the revs were it could have been either speed (I'd suspect 150's though). The higher governor is pretty close to the top of 5th if not at it.

  12. #12
    Join Date
    Nov 2012
    Posts
    277
    Rep Points
    671.0
    Mentioned
    8 Post(s)
    Rep Power
    7



    Reputation: Yes | No
    Yeah its sport package, in all honesty its amazing what a few inches longer wheelbase does vs my 135 in terms of stability. Granted it was freshly paved but I felt like I could be reading the paper with a coffee in my other hand. My g35 didn't even feel as solid at 80

Tags for this Thread

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •