Close

Results 1 to 14 of 14
  1. #1
    Join Date
    Jan 2010
    Location
    SoCal
    Posts
    117,756
    Rep Points
    31,551.1
    Mentioned
    2064 Post(s)
    Rep Power
    316


    Reputation: Yes | No

    Weight of the stock S65 headers

    BMW did a very good job on these. I thought this was kilograms at first but it's pounds? Wow:

    Click here to enlarge

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Sep 2013
    Posts
    171
    Rep Points
    142.0
    Mentioned
    2 Post(s)
    Rep Power
    2


    1 out of 1 members liked this post. Reputation: Yes | No
    S65 block is light too! Click here to enlarge

    Click here to enlarge

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Jan 2010
    Location
    SoCal
    Posts
    117,756
    Rep Points
    31,551.1
    Mentioned
    2064 Post(s)
    Rep Power
    316



    Reputation: Yes | No
    Click here to enlarge Originally Posted by IMHOWTFFTW Click here to enlarge
    S65 block is light too! Click here to enlarge

    Click here to enlarge
    Too bad he can probably bend it with his bare hands too.

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Sep 2013
    Posts
    171
    Rep Points
    142.0
    Mentioned
    2 Post(s)
    Rep Power
    2


    Reputation: Yes | No
    I will weigh the headers tomorrow Sticky. I am shocked if it is 5lbs. Had them in my hand last year and was shocked how light they are. Felt lighter than 5lbs

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Jan 2010
    Location
    SoCal
    Posts
    117,756
    Rep Points
    31,551.1
    Mentioned
    2064 Post(s)
    Rep Power
    316



    Reputation: Yes | No
    5 is freaking light!!

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Sep 2013
    Posts
    171
    Rep Points
    142.0
    Mentioned
    2 Post(s)
    Rep Power
    2


    Reputation: Yes | No
    Take the donut off, it weighs 1.5lbs Click here to enlarge


    Click here to enlarge Originally Posted by Sticky Click here to enlarge
    BMW did a very good job on these. I thought this was kilograms at first but it's pounds? Wow:

    http://www.bimmerboost.com/images/im...326708_n-1.jpg

  7. #7
    Join Date
    May 2010
    Location
    Northern BC eh!
    Posts
    127
    Rep Points
    268.6
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Rep Power
    3


    Reputation: Yes | No
    Click here to enlarge Originally Posted by Sticky Click here to enlarge
    Too bad he can probably bend it with his bare hands too.

    I know this guy.....he's not that strong! Click here to enlarge

    And that's my block. Click here to enlarge

  8. #8
    Join Date
    Jan 2010
    Location
    SoCal
    Posts
    117,756
    Rep Points
    31,551.1
    Mentioned
    2064 Post(s)
    Rep Power
    316



    Reputation: Yes | No
    Click here to enlarge Originally Posted by 1fastm3 Click here to enlarge
    I know this guy.....he's not that strong! Click here to enlarge

    And that's my block. Click here to enlarge
    What are you doing with your block?

  9. #9
    Join Date
    May 2010
    Location
    Northern BC eh!
    Posts
    127
    Rep Points
    268.6
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Rep Power
    3


    Reputation: Yes | No
    Click here to enlarge Originally Posted by Sticky Click here to enlarge
    What are you doing with your block?
    Nothing over the top. Pauter rods, APR rod bolts, VAC bearings and AA's Gen 2 Level 3 kit (upgrading from Gen 1 Level 3).

  10. #10
    Join Date
    Jan 2010
    Location
    SoCal
    Posts
    117,756
    Rep Points
    31,551.1
    Mentioned
    2064 Post(s)
    Rep Power
    316



    Reputation: Yes | No
    Click here to enlarge Originally Posted by 1fastm3 Click here to enlarge
    Nothing over the top. Pauter rods, APR rod bolts, VAC bearings and AA's Gen 2 Level 3 kit (upgrading from Gen 1 Level 3).
    Why not some low compression forged pistons if you already have it out?

  11. #11
    Join Date
    May 2010
    Location
    Northern BC eh!
    Posts
    127
    Rep Points
    268.6
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Rep Power
    3


    Reputation: Yes | No
    I can't say 100% why, but I do not believe AA software would support a G3L3 LC motor....might be wrong though.

  12. #12
    Join Date
    Jan 2010
    Location
    SoCal
    Posts
    117,756
    Rep Points
    31,551.1
    Mentioned
    2064 Post(s)
    Rep Power
    316



    Reputation: Yes | No
    Click here to enlarge Originally Posted by 1fastm3 Click here to enlarge
    I can't say 100% why, but I do not believe AA software would support a G3L3 LC motor....might be wrong though.
    Why wouldn't it?

  13. #13
    Join Date
    May 2010
    Location
    Northern BC eh!
    Posts
    127
    Rep Points
    268.6
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Rep Power
    3


    Reputation: Yes | No
    Again, I'm not the expert. I'd rather go with a known CR vs. the unknown on an AA kit.

  14. #14
    Join Date
    Jan 2010
    Location
    SoCal
    Posts
    117,756
    Rep Points
    31,551.1
    Mentioned
    2064 Post(s)
    Rep Power
    316



    1 out of 1 members liked this post. Reputation: Yes | No
    Click here to enlarge Originally Posted by 1fastm3 Click here to enlarge
    Again, I'm not the expert. I'd rather go with a known CR vs. the unknown on an AA kit.
    I hear you I just wanted more details on your stance on the software.

Tags for this Thread

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •