Close

Results 1 to 9 of 9

Thread: Gauge Hijacking

  1. #1
    Join Date
    Jan 2014
    Posts
    31
    Rep Points
    20.4
    Mentioned
    1 Post(s)
    Rep Power
    0


    Yes Reputation No

    Gauge Hijacking

    I want to hijack my fuel gauge to become a boost gauge. Only 3 ways i see this being possible. JB4/(BMS CAN TOOL), Proceede, Open Source Tablet. Is there any way to just reprogram it?

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Dec 2011
    Location
    Roanoke VA
    Posts
    1,632
    Rep Points
    2,248.3
    Mentioned
    54 Post(s)
    Rep Power
    23


    Yes Reputation No
    My advice, get a P3 gauge. Hijacking the fuel gauge is fairly useless in my opinion and more of a gimmick than anything useful.
    Click here to enlarge
    MOTIV750, MOTIV P-1000 PI, MOTIV/FUEL-IT! low pressure fuel system, AEM EMS/COBB AP, Aquamist HFS-3, ETS FMIC, SPEC stage 3+ clutch/SS flywheel, BC Racing coilovers and VMR wheels wrapped in Hankook RS3s.

  3. #3
    Join Date
    May 2013
    Posts
    2,930
    Rep Points
    921.6
    Mentioned
    57 Post(s)
    Rep Power
    10


    Yes Reputation No
    ^^^^ Pretty much, I mean the gauge hijacks are a nice feature and let you know that meth is flowing, and helpful to a certain point, but not really something that is going to be real accurate or should be relied on. Do the boost gauge right and get one that hooks up via vacuum line, not tie into the ECU. This way you get actual real time boost.
    2009 335i coupe back to stock...for now

    Click here to enlarge

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Jan 2010
    Location
    SoCal
    Posts
    118,891
    Rep Points
    31,877.5
    Mentioned
    2093 Post(s)
    Rep Power
    319


    Yes Reputation No
    Well since that is settled shall we make pirate jokes now?

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Sep 2013
    Posts
    25
    Rep Points
    67.0
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Rep Power
    0


    3 out of 3 members liked this post. Yes Reputation No
    Just get the JB4.

    And the ECU sees real time boost.

    How is it a gimmick? I look down slightly and I see how much timing and boost I am running, no ricer gauge required.

    The gauge hijacking on the JB4 is genius, running the controls on the fly via the gauges is awesome, and something that I will miss for sure when moving on to another platform x years down the line.

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Oct 2012
    Location
    AZ
    Posts
    666
    Rep Points
    1,745.2
    Mentioned
    17 Post(s)
    Rep Power
    18


    Yes Reputation No
    It's possible for a jacked up MAP to send false signals to the ECU. Not real likely, but I have logs where my ECU determined boost was way off of real time boost as per my ECS vent boost gauge, which I didn't know was ricer, lol. The ECS gauge was right btw. You're seeing what the system is seeing vs. an independent source. Of course, the stand alone gauge could be off as well, except it's easy to independently confirm calibration there. To each their own, you definitely don't need to turn your car into fast & the furious to have a boost gauge though.

  7. #7
    Join Date
    Jan 2014
    Posts
    31
    Rep Points
    20.4
    Mentioned
    1 Post(s)
    Rep Power
    0



    Yes Reputation No
    Click here to enlarge Originally Posted by rader1 Click here to enlarge
    My advice, get a P3 gauge..
    The P3 gauge isn't bad, but if I got a gauge like that I'd want the Awron DGA. Money is just tight right now. The main thing is I'm planning on tuning it soon with open source. I don't exactly want to add another gauge to my car right now, Id just like the in dash fuel gauge to show boost just to get an idea, or average. I know it wont be always right mechanical would be the most accurate. BMS somehow uses BMS CAN Tool to change something and hijack the gauge. I know it's not in coding(.MAN) and I read a comment saying that it wasnt in the DME. It would be cool if someone knew and would share this with the community, I realy dont want to spend 100$ on BMS Can Tool. I Don't want JB4 only because its a piggy back, I would rather just have a flash tune.

  8. #8
    Join Date
    Dec 2011
    Location
    Roanoke VA
    Posts
    1,632
    Rep Points
    2,248.3
    Mentioned
    54 Post(s)
    Rep Power
    23


    Yes Reputation No
    Click here to enlarge Originally Posted by t1aodave Click here to enlarge
    The P3 gauge isn't bad, but if I got a gauge like that I'd want the Awron DGA. Money is just tight right now. The main thing is I'm planning on tuning it soon with open source. I don't exactly want to add another gauge to my car right now, Id just like the in dash fuel gauge to show boost just to get an idea, or average. I know it wont be always right mechanical would be the most accurate. BMS somehow uses BMS CAN Tool to change something and hijack the gauge. I know it's not in coding(.MAN) and I read a comment saying that it wasnt in the DME. It would be cool if someone knew and would share this with the community, I realy dont want to spend 100$ on BMS Can Tool. I Don't want JB4 only because its a piggy back, I would rather just have a flash tune.
    If you're actually using the gauge for tuning then the in dash gauge is, literally, useless. You have no means of knowing whether you're at 15psi or 15.25psi or 14.75psi or how closely you are holding to boost target. You need to invest in a BT tool for logging if you plan on tuning open source.
    Click here to enlarge
    MOTIV750, MOTIV P-1000 PI, MOTIV/FUEL-IT! low pressure fuel system, AEM EMS/COBB AP, Aquamist HFS-3, ETS FMIC, SPEC stage 3+ clutch/SS flywheel, BC Racing coilovers and VMR wheels wrapped in Hankook RS3s.

  9. #9
    Join Date
    Jan 2014
    Posts
    31
    Rep Points
    20.4
    Mentioned
    1 Post(s)
    Rep Power
    0



    1 out of 1 members liked this post. Yes Reputation No
    Planning on using bt for tuning, and logging.

Tags for this Thread

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •