Close

Page 2 of 3 FirstFirst 123 LastLast
Results 26 to 50 of 68
  1. #26
    Join Date
    Feb 2013
    Location
    Russia
    Posts
    241
    Rep Points
    906.5
    Mentioned
    25 Post(s)
    Rep Power
    10


    2 out of 2 members liked this post. Reputation: Yes | No
    there are a few things .
    1) The problem of idling it as written above Throttle. Use INPA to fix IT!
    Start engine, then delete all engine code. Use adaption menu, then select F1 and then F6 to reset Throttle adaption. After this use "DME select" button under Throttle adaption section.
    2) About long start engine time, Check VANOS adaption. Use INPA > status > VANOS for this. Check value adaption inlet camshaft ( they must be around -8 +8 degree.
    3) Delete all DSC codes. If DSC code still present you must do DSC sensor sensor adaption, sterring wheel sensor adaption and DSC pump adaption process.

  2. #27
    Join Date
    Mar 2010
    Location
    AZ
    Posts
    2,729
    Rep Points
    2,484.0
    Mentioned
    40 Post(s)
    Rep Power
    25


    1 out of 1 members liked this post. Reputation: Yes | No
    Click here to enlarge Originally Posted by ncat10 Click here to enlarge
    When i swap AT to DCT i have about 60 fault codes and spent 3 months to fix all it Click here to enlarge Good luck!
    That must have been fun!
    Click here to enlarge
    Join the largest N5X Enthusiasts Group! 1200+ Members Strong!
    https://www.facebook.com/groups/n5xenthusiasts/

  3. #28
    Join Date
    Jul 2012
    Posts
    8
    Rep Points
    14.5
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Rep Power
    0


    1 out of 1 members liked this post. Reputation: Yes | No
    Funny I stumbled upon this.

    My car is having this exact same behavior. I'm at the end of my rope. I keep seeing references to this problem and bad fuses. Some mention fuses under the hood which I can't find. I've checked all 30A fuses in glovebox area. I also checked PCV system.
    At this point my best guess is bad throttle body but I don't wanna waste money on that if its not bad. Open to any suggestions.

    Have codes 2CFB and 2D09 that refuse to clear.

    I cannot post a link yet but i have youtube video of this exact behavior.

    Not trying to threadjack but hopefully we can both get ours figured out.

  4. #29
    Join Date
    Jan 2010
    Location
    SoCal
    Posts
    117,681
    Rep Points
    31,507.9
    Mentioned
    2062 Post(s)
    Rep Power
    316


    Reputation: Yes | No
    Click here to enlarge Originally Posted by firstbmwla Click here to enlarge
    I cannot post a link yet but i have youtube video of this exact behavior.
    You should be able to link without issue now.

  5. #30
    Join Date
    Jul 2012
    Posts
    8
    Rep Points
    14.5
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Rep Power
    0


    Reputation: Yes | No
    Click here to enlarge Originally Posted by firstbmwla Click here to enlarge
    Funny I stumbled upon this.

    My car is having this exact same behavior. I'm at the end of my rope. I keep seeing references to this problem and bad fuses. Some mention fuses under the hood which I can't find. I've checked all 30A fuses in glovebox area. I also checked PCV system.
    At this point my best guess is bad throttle body but I don't wanna waste money on that if its not bad. Open to any suggestions.

    Have codes 2CFB and 2D09 that refuse to clear.

    I cannot post a link yet but i have youtube video of this exact behavior.

    Not trying to threadjack but hopefully we can both get ours figured out.
    Here is the video:


    Just got through pulling every last fuse in glovebox. All seem fine

  6. #31
    Join Date
    Nov 2011
    Location
    Toronto
    Posts
    250
    Rep Points
    432.8
    Mentioned
    15 Post(s)
    Rep Power
    5


    Reputation: Yes | No
    Try resetting all DME adaptations with a Cobb AP if you have one. I had that happen to me when i reset my throttle adaptation via INPA. Resetting everything via Cobb fixed it.
    [02/07 E92 335i 6MT] - Under Construction

  7. #32
    Join Date
    Oct 2011
    Location
    Dallas, TX
    Posts
    626
    Rep Points
    1,088.2
    Mentioned
    13 Post(s)
    Rep Power
    11



    Reputation: Yes | No
    guy has been driving it, still need to get specifics on what was done to fix it, he had originally replaced his relay in the ecu box, told me he replaced it again and sanded down contact points and car stared right up.
    Click here to enlarge
    Instagram: Sammy0559
    VTX3's Click here to enlarge
    Got one more tow with AAA lets make it count Click here to enlarge

  8. #33
    Join Date
    Jul 2012
    Posts
    8
    Rep Points
    14.5
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Rep Power
    0


    Reputation: Yes | No
    Click here to enlarge Originally Posted by firstbmwla Click here to enlarge
    Here is the video:
    http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=V5GFOcshbf8

    Just got through pulling every last fuse in glovebox. All seem fine
    May have cracked the code with mine.

    Decided to pull throttle body for hell of it. Didn't do anything to it really but examine it. Did remove cover to expose gears and sensor. Blew it all out. Reconnected it and voila it let me clear codes. Fired it up and runs fine.
    Guessing bad connection or it is going bad. If happens again guess I'm ordering a throttle body.

    Interestingly now when I turn on ignition I can hear the throttle butterfly valve move a bit. When I was having all the problems this was not happening.

  9. #34
    Join Date
    Jul 2012
    Posts
    8
    Rep Points
    14.5
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Rep Power
    0


    Reputation: Yes | No
    Well my problem is back. Guess I'm buying a throttle body.

    Any update on what the final solution was for yours?

  10. #35
    Join Date
    Jun 2013
    Location
    North Houston
    Posts
    1,291
    Rep Points
    1,615.1
    Mentioned
    111 Post(s)
    Rep Power
    17


    Reputation: Yes | No
    you need one? I have a used one that is very low mileage.
    Click here to enlarge
    Vargas Turbo dealer and installation center
    Level 10 distributor and installation center
    Burger Motorsports Tier 2 dealer and installation center
    Turner Motorsports dealer and installation center
    Bimmerworld dealer and installation center
    Shipping built/stroked/CNC ported N54's Internationally!
    Follow us!
    http://www.facebook.com/BMWdoctor
    http://twitter.com/abrhouston
    http://instagram.com/abrhouston/
    http://abrhouston.com
    http://abr.genbook.com Book online appointments!

  11. #36
    Join Date
    Jul 2012
    Posts
    8
    Rep Points
    14.5
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Rep Power
    0


    Reputation: Yes | No
    Click here to enlarge Originally Posted by alex@ABRhouston Click here to enlarge
    you need one? I have a used one that is very low mileage.
    Really, how much? How did you end up with it? How do I know it's good?

  12. #37
    Join Date
    Jun 2013
    Location
    North Houston
    Posts
    1,291
    Rep Points
    1,615.1
    Mentioned
    111 Post(s)
    Rep Power
    17


    Reputation: Yes | No
    I can get you a new one for 300, or a this used one for 200.
    It came off of one of my build motors. I know its good Click here to enlarge
    Click here to enlarge
    Vargas Turbo dealer and installation center
    Level 10 distributor and installation center
    Burger Motorsports Tier 2 dealer and installation center
    Turner Motorsports dealer and installation center
    Bimmerworld dealer and installation center
    Shipping built/stroked/CNC ported N54's Internationally!
    Follow us!
    http://www.facebook.com/BMWdoctor
    http://twitter.com/abrhouston
    http://instagram.com/abrhouston/
    http://abrhouston.com
    http://abr.genbook.com Book online appointments!

  13. #38
    Join Date
    Jul 2012
    Posts
    8
    Rep Points
    14.5
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Rep Power
    0


    Reputation: Yes | No
    Click here to enlarge Originally Posted by alex@ABRhouston Click here to enlarge
    I can get you a new one for 300, or a this used one for 200.
    It came off of one of my build motors. I know its good Click here to enlarge
    I appreciate the offer. I've found new one for $245 though.

  14. #39
    Join Date
    Mar 2014
    Posts
    15
    Rep Points
    9.5
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Rep Power
    0


    Reputation: Yes | No

    Hi there everyone!

    Click here to enlarge
    I have the JB4 running with BMS flash on RB turbos with meth and on closing up the engine covers I then could start the car in exactly the same way you did on the video. Here is a pic of my codes, any clues as to the fix on this video posted or anything else it could be. Getting the DME back tomorrow as it tested fine?

    Have been running car with this setup for a year and changed plugs and cleaned air filters etc. Checked all the fuses, tmap, took throttle body off etc but when I unplug most of the sensors plugs etc while car is running the car still runs the same as in the first posted video.
    Last edited by EdZ; 03-12-2014 at 05:31 PM.

  15. #40
    Join Date
    Jan 2010
    Location
    SoCal
    Posts
    117,681
    Rep Points
    31,507.9
    Mentioned
    2062 Post(s)
    Rep Power
    316


    Reputation: Yes | No
    Click here to enlarge Originally Posted by EdZ Click here to enlarge
    Click here to enlarge
    I have the JB4 running with BMS flash on RB turbos with meth and on closing up the engine covers I then could start the car in exactly the same way you did on the video. Here is a pic of my codes, any clues as to the fix on this video posted or anything else it could be. Getting the DME back tomorrow as it tested fine?
    I'd talk to @Terry@BMS

  16. #41
    Join Date
    Mar 2014
    Posts
    15
    Rep Points
    9.5
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Rep Power
    0


    1 out of 1 members liked this post. Reputation: Yes | No
    Already did and that's why we sent the ECU in and came back tested fine?

  17. #42
    Join Date
    Jan 2010
    Location
    SoCal
    Posts
    117,681
    Rep Points
    31,507.9
    Mentioned
    2062 Post(s)
    Rep Power
    316


    Reputation: Yes | No
    Click here to enlarge Originally Posted by EdZ Click here to enlarge
    Already did and that's why we sent the ECU in and came back tested fine?
    I don't know what to tell you. Any further questions you have you should talk to him. Maybe someone else will chime in.

  18. #43
    Join Date
    Aug 2012
    Location
    Hayward, CA
    Posts
    7,906
    Rep Points
    3,915.7
    Mentioned
    320 Post(s)
    Rep Power
    0


    Reputation: Yes | No
    Said this to the last guy, and I will recommend to you, check every single fuse under the dash, I pulled my hair out for 3 days, it was a blown DME fuse, they have more than one.

  19. #44
    Join Date
    Mar 2014
    Posts
    15
    Rep Points
    9.5
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Rep Power
    0


    Reputation: Yes | No
    I'm hoping the guys in the original post might shed some light, let's see.

  20. #45
    Join Date
    Mar 2014
    Posts
    15
    Rep Points
    9.5
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Rep Power
    0


    Reputation: Yes | No
    Thanks bud I have checked and re- checked all fuses behind glove compartment. Will check again when I get ECU back tomorrow.

  21. #46
    Join Date
    Mar 2014
    Posts
    15
    Rep Points
    9.5
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Rep Power
    0


    Reputation: Yes | No
    Have removed all other devices and put wiring from JB4 back to stock so I can use the stock setup and clear/read codes on my Cobb unit.

  22. #47
    Join Date
    Aug 2012
    Location
    Hayward, CA
    Posts
    7,906
    Rep Points
    3,915.7
    Mentioned
    320 Post(s)
    Rep Power
    0


    Reputation: Yes | No
    Let us know what happens after you go back to stock. The fuse I found did not appear blown, it had popped by one of the legs not in the middle. You have to test them with a test light. Making sure you get power to BOTH SIDES. IF one side has power and the other doesn't even it looks ok, its blown.

  23. #48
    Join Date
    Mar 2014
    Posts
    15
    Rep Points
    9.5
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Rep Power
    0


    2 out of 2 members liked this post. Reputation: Yes | No
    Yeah I have a probe tester and like I said will test the damn thing for the 45th time, luckily the Race team that looks after our local South African BMW race cars for BMW SA are very clued up and friendly so will limp it there tomorrow if I don't come right, thanks for all the replies it's much appreciated as any help will do right now.

  24. #49
    Join Date
    Mar 2010
    Location
    South Africa
    Posts
    1,322
    Rep Points
    1,955.5
    Mentioned
    37 Post(s)
    Rep Power
    0


    Reputation: Yes | No
    Click here to enlarge Originally Posted by EdZ Click here to enlarge
    Yeah I have a probe tester and like I said will test the damn thing for the 45th time, luckily the Race team that looks after our local South African BMW race cars for BMW SA are very clued up and friendly so will limp it there tomorrow if I don't come right, thanks for all the replies it's much appreciated as any help will do right now.
    A possibility. There is a big breather pipe that plugs into the side of the throttle body on the fire wall side. Pull it out and push back in, make sure you hear the click. It's a cause for the revs to go like that. You can idle the car and unplug and see if it gets worse. Check if it's cracked if you have the luxury of pulling the manifold (takes me 10minutes).
    On another occasion it happened to me when loading software. It lost throttle adaption and would adapt. I drove it around the parking in the jerking mode for afew minutes and it went back to normal.

  25. #50
    Join Date
    Mar 2014
    Posts
    15
    Rep Points
    9.5
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Rep Power
    0


    Reputation: Yes | No
    Ok will do thanks!

Page 2 of 3 FirstFirst 123 LastLast

Tags for this Thread

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •