Close

Rep Points
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)

1 out of 1 members liked this post. Yes Reputation No

Track Ready N54s

I have searched and realized that on our forums there is much more support for 1/4 mile tracks and n54s than, for example, a normal circuit.

I am a beginner, have no experience racing on a real track but I am sure that my mods will not work to my advantage. At this point, I think the most attractive product will begin with "limp-mode free..."
    With that being said, I have experienced my fair share of limps and honestly, they firhgten me to think about... but I am glad that they occur to preserve the engine. So, lets say that I want to go to an autoX and want to see what I can do with my car; what are the weak links of a 335i when this becomes the topic at hand? I know some people have goe through and raced tracks etc, but alot of what was addressed would be "tune XX ran awesome at track. best choice!" but I am looking for the parts of the car that will beg to be replaced etc and weak links when it comes to the track. does anyone have experience with this that is willing to share?

Thanks a lot guys!
    Click here to enlarge
    Current:
    2010 CTS-V Sedan

Previous:
    2007 e92 335i

Rep Points
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)

Yes Reputation No
    You should be fine for AutoX. I ran last weekend and it was 95+ here in Houston. Oil temps never got past the "normal" 240-250F. The runs were <50seconds so there's not a lot of time for the oil to heat up.

Track days are a different story. An extra oil cooler is a must, even for cars with the stock BMW unit. There are several on the market that work well.

The Berk Technology time attack 135i uses an AR Design oil cooler and routinely runs in hot conditions without limping.

If you are tuned, running less boost on the track should also help keep oil temps down.

Rep Points
    Mentioned
    318 Post(s)

Yes Reputation No
    Oil Cooler-FMIC-Brakes-Tires-

Rep Points
    Mentioned
    9 Post(s)