Close

Results 1 to 24 of 24
  1. #1
    Join Date
    Sep 2013
    Posts
    13
    Rep Points
    13.0
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Rep Power
    0


    1 out of 1 members liked this post. Yes Reputation No

    Trouble with BB flash read?



    I'm getting the error in the picture attached when I try to read ecu.


    Background:
    I've tried 2 laptops and followed instructions exactly. I'm using a battery charger. I've tried this with the BMS tweaked version as well and I get the exact same error. The read process goes relatively quickly. It goes thru step 1 in just a few seconds and seems to skip to step 3 which only takes about 10 minutes then the error. I also don't get an estimated read time during the read...


    Any ideas? I can't find where anyone else has had trouble with the read.

    Click here to enlarge


    FYI--Protocol says "D-CAN"

    Thanks!
    Last edited by justjosh; 09-07-2013 at 02:19 PM.

  2. #2
    Join Date
    May 2012
    Location
    Jacksonville, FL
    Posts
    2,971
    Rep Points
    2,932.4
    Mentioned
    78 Post(s)
    Rep Power
    30


    Yes Reputation No
    Do you already have a flash tune like Dinan or GIAC?
    2011 E90 M3 \ Melbourne Rot Metallic

    Click here to enlarge

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Sep 2013
    Posts
    13
    Rep Points
    13.0
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Rep Power
    0



    Yes Reputation No
    I did have Dinan stage 2 but I took the car to the dealer to get it flashed back to stock for the purpose of running this flash + JB4. It definitely felt a slower after they flashed back to stock so I'm assuming they removed the Dinan correctly. Is there an issue with the fact that I had Dinan in the past?

    Thanks

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Dec 2012
    Location
    Houston under a book
    Posts
    1,425
    Rep Points
    2,759.6
    Mentioned
    73 Post(s)
    Rep Power
    28


    Yes Reputation No
    If you have a JB4 already make sure it's in map0, otherwise, is there anything stand out in the log when it quits?

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Sep 2012
    Location
    Huntsville, AL
    Posts
    151
    Rep Points
    315.2
    Mentioned
    1 Post(s)
    Rep Power
    4


    Yes Reputation No
    I bet it is from the dinan flash or dealer reflash. I read my ecu while my jb4 was in map5 and had no problems. I didn't do it on purpose just forgot to switch to map0.
    07 335i FFTEC 600 Click here to enlarge

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Nov 2009
    Location
    Simi Valley, CA
    Posts
    8,219
    Rep Points
    9,374.4
    Mentioned
    655 Post(s)
    Rep Power
    94


    Yes Reputation No
    If you do a JB4 log you can check the DME BT to see if they actually removed the Dinan tuning. I'd also try with the new v1.2 flash software just for kicks.
    Burger Motorsports
    Home of the Worlds fastest N20s, N54s, N55s, N63s, S55s, and S63s!

    It is the sole responsibility of the purchaser and installer of any BMS part to employ the correct installation techniques required to ensure the proper operation of BMS parts, and BMS disclaims any and all liability for any part failure due to improper installation or use. It is the sole responsibility of the customer to verify that the use of their vehicle and items purchased comply with federal, state and local regulations. BMS claims no legal federal, state or local certification concerning pollution controlled motor vehicles or mandated emissions requirements. BMS products labeled for use only in competition racing vehicles may only be used on competition racing vehicles operated exclusively on a closed course in conjunction with a sanctioned racing event, in accordance with all federal and state laws, and may never be operated on public roads/highways. Please see http://www.burgertuning.com/emissions_info.html for more information on legal requirements related to use of BMS parts.

  7. #7
    Join Date
    Sep 2013
    Posts
    13
    Rep Points
    13.0
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Rep Power
    0



    Yes Reputation No
    I tried the tweaked version 1.2 and still getting the error. I'm pretty sure they removed Dinan correctly because I drove the car with stock tune and it was noticeably slower than the with the Dinan stg 2 tune. I also had it done at a Dinan "authorized dealer". DME BT peaks at 8 psi which is stock boost...

  8. #8
    Join Date
    Mar 2010
    Location
    AZ
    Posts
    2,826
    Rep Points
    -67.0
    Mentioned
    43 Post(s)
    Rep Power
    0


    Yes Reputation No
    Once again.. Need log.

  9. #9
    Join Date
    Sep 2013
    Posts
    13
    Rep Points
    13.0
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Rep Power
    0



    1 out of 1 members liked this post. Yes Reputation No

    Log

    Please see log attached.

    Any ideas?
    Attached Files Attached Files

  10. #10
    Join Date
    Jan 2010
    Location
    SoCal
    Posts
    120,356
    Rep Points
    32,764.6
    Mentioned
    2133 Post(s)
    Rep Power
    328


    Yes Reputation No
    Click here to enlarge Originally Posted by justjosh Click here to enlarge
    Please see log attached.

    Any ideas?
    Bump for someone to help him with his log.
    Chrome Space Bar Issue: http://www.boostaddict.com/showthrea...338#post738338


    Stage 2 or 2.5 E9X M3 S65 V8 supercharger kit for sale
    : http://www.boostaddict.com/showthrea...r-kit-for-sale

  11. #11
    Join Date
    Mar 2010
    Location
    AZ
    Posts
    2,826
    Rep Points
    -67.0
    Mentioned
    43 Post(s)
    Rep Power
    0


    1 out of 1 members liked this post. Yes Reputation No
    Click here to enlarge Originally Posted by justjosh Click here to enlarge
    Please see log attached.

    Any ideas?

    You aren't going to get read out no matter how long you waited based on that log. You are getting a 7F 23. 7F means the response you got was a negative response and not the response you were looking for. Error code 23, meaning its processing your request, continue to request until it provides a response. The problem is I believe there is a bug somewhere or it times out, and goes onto the next block. At which point the DME has to start over preparing a new block of memory and the cycle continues. Someone else had this problem and I believe the fixed it with a proper charge on their battery and battery charger. What kind of charger are you using? I recommend throwing it on the charger over night. Then I'd power cycle the DME by unplugging it from the battery for a minute then plugging it back in. Keep the charger on it and then give it another go.

  12. #12
    Join Date
    Sep 2013
    Posts
    13
    Rep Points
    13.0
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Rep Power
    0



    Yes Reputation No
    Click here to enlarge Originally Posted by klipseracer Click here to enlarge
    You aren't going to get read out no matter how long you waited based on that log. You are getting a 7F 23. 7F means the response you got was a negative response and not the response you were looking for. Error code 23, meaning its processing your request, continue to request until it provides a response. The problem is I believe there is a bug somewhere or it times out, and goes onto the next block. At which point the DME has to start over preparing a new block of memory and the cycle continues. Someone else had this problem and I believe the fixed it with a proper charge on their battery and battery charger. What kind of charger are you using? I recommend throwing it on the charger over night. Then I'd power cycle the DME by unplugging it from the battery for a minute then plugging it back in. Keep the charger on it and then give it another go.
    Thanks for the reply! The battery charger has 2, 10, and 50 amp settings. I only tried on 2 and 10. The charger also has two different modes: conventional and "deep cycle". I tried only with conventional.

    Could this code be caused by the the previous Dinan flash in any way or would that for sure be a different error code?

    I know I had jb4 in map 0 and I disabled the halos...obviously no radio or any lights on. No other electrical things running from what I could tell. Is 12.5 volts normal or is that low? 12.5 is the most I could get with the charger on 10 amps.

    Whenever I get some time I'll try charging overnight and resetting the DME. When I do the actual read should I put the charger on 50 amps?

    Thanks again

  13. #13
    Join Date
    Mar 2010
    Location
    AZ
    Posts
    2,826
    Rep Points
    -67.0
    Mentioned
    43 Post(s)
    Rep Power
    0


    Yes Reputation No
    Click here to enlarge Originally Posted by justjosh Click here to enlarge
    Thanks for the reply! The battery charger has 2, 10, and 50 amp settings. I only tried on 2 and 10. The charger also has two different modes: conventional and "deep cycle". I tried only with conventional.

    Could this code be caused by the the previous Dinan flash in any way or would that for sure be a different error code?

    I know I had jb4 in map 0 and I disabled the halos...obviously no radio or any lights on. No other electrical things running from what I could tell. Is 12.5 volts normal or is that low? 12.5 is the most I could get with the charger on 10 amps.

    Whenever I get some time I'll try charging overnight and resetting the DME. When I do the actual read should I put the charger on 50 amps?

    Thanks again
    Charge the battery for a few hours, then throw it on 50a and try again and report back.

  14. #14
    Join Date
    Nov 2009
    Location
    Simi Valley, CA
    Posts
    8,219
    Rep Points
    9,374.4
    Mentioned
    655 Post(s)
    Rep Power
    94


    Yes Reputation No
    Thought I posted here already. But, I'd guess Dinan disabled the read command, and when BMW flashed it back to stock they did not rewrite it somehow. In the past flashing the entire car back to stock with INPA has resolved that issue so that would be my suggestion. Wedge motorsports may be able to help you with that remotely. Click here to enlarge
    Burger Motorsports
    Home of the Worlds fastest N20s, N54s, N55s, N63s, S55s, and S63s!

    It is the sole responsibility of the purchaser and installer of any BMS part to employ the correct installation techniques required to ensure the proper operation of BMS parts, and BMS disclaims any and all liability for any part failure due to improper installation or use. It is the sole responsibility of the customer to verify that the use of their vehicle and items purchased comply with federal, state and local regulations. BMS claims no legal federal, state or local certification concerning pollution controlled motor vehicles or mandated emissions requirements. BMS products labeled for use only in competition racing vehicles may only be used on competition racing vehicles operated exclusively on a closed course in conjunction with a sanctioned racing event, in accordance with all federal and state laws, and may never be operated on public roads/highways. Please see http://www.burgertuning.com/emissions_info.html for more information on legal requirements related to use of BMS parts.

  15. #15
    Join Date
    May 2011
    Posts
    11
    Rep Points
    233.1
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Rep Power
    3


    Yes Reputation No
    Looks like I have the same problem...http://www.bimmerboost.com/showthrea...h-Read-failure

  16. #16
    Join Date
    Jul 2012
    Location
    Boston, MA
    Posts
    2,576
    Rep Points
    1,867.4
    Mentioned
    53 Post(s)
    Rep Power
    19


    Yes Reputation No
    Click here to enlarge Originally Posted by klipseracer Click here to enlarge
    Charge the battery for a few hours, then throw it on 50a and try again and report back.
    Normally the 50A setting is usually just for jump starting and should only be used for like 10 seconds. The 2A setting should be more than enough to keep the voltage up I would think, leaving it on 10A shouldn't hurt it as it should auto regulate.

  17. #17
    Join Date
    Mar 2010
    Location
    AZ
    Posts
    2,826
    Rep Points
    -67.0
    Mentioned
    43 Post(s)
    Rep Power
    0


    Yes Reputation No
    Click here to enlarge Originally Posted by Torgus Click here to enlarge
    Normally the 50A setting is usually just for jump starting and should only be used for like 10 seconds. The 2A setting should be more than enough to keep the voltage up I would think, leaving it on 10A shouldn't hurt it as it should auto regulate.
    Well for 10 seconds we could be sure there is enough juice Click here to enlarge

  18. #18
    Join Date
    Sep 2013
    Posts
    13
    Rep Points
    13.0
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Rep Power
    0



    1 out of 1 members liked this post. Yes Reputation No
    I haven't tried the BB flash again yet. Wedge helped me flash my DME back to completely stock using INPA cable. Right now I'm trying to get a misfire issue at high rpm sorted out before I do the back end flash. It should work now though...

  19. #19
    Join Date
    Jan 2013
    Posts
    228
    Rep Points
    146.2
    Mentioned
    7 Post(s)
    Rep Power
    2


    Yes Reputation No
    Click here to enlarge Originally Posted by justjosh Click here to enlarge
    I haven't tried the BB flash again yet. Wedge helped me flash my DME back to completely stock using INPA cable. Right now I'm trying to get a misfire issue at high rpm sorted out before I do the back end flash. It should work now though...
    Your're lucky Wedge tried with same thing with me as I had the same issue (invalid read) and couldn't. So right now I'm $#@!ed!!. I uninstalled or unmarried the Cobb days prior to attempting the flash but we came to a conclusion that the Cobb must have left something behind that is blocking the
    bb flash. I emailed cobb to see if there's anything they can do.

  20. #20
    Join Date
    Sep 2013
    Posts
    13
    Rep Points
    13.0
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Rep Power
    0



    1 out of 1 members liked this post. Yes Reputation No
    Click here to enlarge Originally Posted by 07Tundra Click here to enlarge
    Your're lucky Wedge tried with same thing with me as I had the same issue (invalid read) and couldn't. So right now I'm $#@!ed!!. I uninstalled or unmarried the Cobb days prior to attempting the flash but we came to a conclusion that the Cobb must have left something behind that is blocking the
    bb flash. I emailed cobb to see if there's anything they can do.
    Hmmm that worries me a little haha. EDIT: Why didn't you just use Cobb AP to flash the BMS flash?

  21. #21
    Join Date
    Mar 2010
    Location
    AZ
    Posts
    2,826
    Rep Points
    -67.0
    Mentioned
    43 Post(s)
    Rep Power
    0


    Yes Reputation No
    Click here to enlarge Originally Posted by 07Tundra Click here to enlarge
    Your're lucky Wedge tried with same thing with me as I had the same issue (invalid read) and couldn't. So right now I'm $#@!ed!!. I uninstalled or unmarried the Cobb days prior to attempting the flash but we came to a conclusion that the Cobb must have left something behind that is blocking the
    bb flash. I emailed cobb to see if there's anything they can do.
    Peculiar, because other cobb members have flashed successfully. Do you have a thread with a log?

  22. #22
    Join Date
    Jan 2013
    Posts
    228
    Rep Points
    146.2
    Mentioned
    7 Post(s)
    Rep Power
    2


    Yes Reputation No
    No I don't, But after speaking with Cobb they said I could do a write as the Cobb only blocks the read. It's not my DD so I will wait until the cobb comes back and I will retry the uninstall again. I don't see how I could have done it wrong as it's really easy to uninstall...so we'll see

  23. #23
    Join Date
    Sep 2013
    Posts
    13
    Rep Points
    13.0
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Rep Power
    0



    1 out of 1 members liked this post. Yes Reputation No
    Wanted to give an update for everyone with the same issue and all those who helped me sort it out.

    I was successful reading and flashing with BB after flashing the car stock via INPA. Major thanks to Wedge for help with INPA flash.

    Here is a quick pull with everything working how it should. Thanks again!



    FBO
    Jb4 g5 + BMS 50% e85 flash (map 5 in video)
    50/50 e85/93 mix
    Walbro 255
    6mt with CDV delete
    Lighter wheels (apex arc 8 w/ MPSS)
    Stock turbos

  24. #24
    Join Date
    Jan 2010
    Location
    SoCal
    Posts
    120,356
    Rep Points
    32,764.6
    Mentioned
    2133 Post(s)
    Rep Power
    328


    Yes Reputation No
    Click here to enlarge Originally Posted by justjosh Click here to enlarge
    Wanted to give an update for everyone with the same issue and all those who helped me sort it out.

    I was successful reading and flashing with BB after flashing the car stock via INPA. Major thanks to Wedge for help with INPA flash.

    Here is a quick pull with everything working how it should. Thanks again!

    https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=5Bg20k5sRrw

    FBO
    Jb4 g5 + BMS 50% e85 flash (map 5 in video)
    50/50 e85/93 mix
    Walbro 255
    6mt with CDV delete
    Lighter wheels (apex arc 8 w/ MPSS)
    Stock turbos
    Awesome. Glad to hear everything is all good.
    Chrome Space Bar Issue: http://www.boostaddict.com/showthrea...338#post738338


    Stage 2 or 2.5 E9X M3 S65 V8 supercharger kit for sale
    : http://www.boostaddict.com/showthrea...r-kit-for-sale

Tags for this Thread

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •