Close

Results 1 to 6 of 6
  1. #1
    Join Date
    Jul 2013
    Location
    Burr ridge,IL
    Posts
    82
    Rep Points
    36.0
    Mentioned
    7 Post(s)
    Rep Power
    0


    Reputation: Yes | No

    X5M limp mode after Dinan Tune

    Well I picked picked up my truck from the dealer after having the software installed, they test drove it said it moves now. So I get in it, do one launch and it goes into limp mode. They said now they've reset the adaptions and its good.

    Does that make any sense? I'm leaving it there till Tuesday anyways cause the dinan exhaust isn't in yet. My SA has been driving it and said its fine now. I'm just a little concerned.Click here to enlarge

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Jan 2010
    Location
    SoCal
    Posts
    117,756
    Rep Points
    31,551.1
    Mentioned
    2064 Post(s)
    Rep Power
    316


    Reputation: Yes | No
    Limp mode with these motors happens I don't think it is anything to be concerned about unless it's a constant repeat occurrence. It will happen sometimes even when stock.

    Keep us updated though.

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Apr 2010
    Posts
    198
    Rep Points
    127.9
    Mentioned
    2 Post(s)
    Rep Power
    2


    Reputation: Yes | No
    At the very least I'd have them note it on the service paperwork. That way it will be in their records if it happens again and you need to have it addressed. Sounds paranoids but I've had SAs leave who knew my car and it was like starting from scratch with the new guy (the whole "we couldn't repeat the symptoms" dance)

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Jul 2013
    Location
    Burr ridge,IL
    Posts
    82
    Rep Points
    36.0
    Mentioned
    7 Post(s)
    Rep Power
    0



    Reputation: Yes | No
    Click here to enlarge Originally Posted by Sticky Click here to enlarge
    Limp mode with these motors happens I don't think it is anything to be concerned about unless it's a constant repeat occurrence. It will happen sometimes even when stock.

    Keep us updated though.
    I don't know, I wish it wouldn't happen at all. I do race the M a lot. By it going in limp mode could cost me some cash at the track. I'll be posting videos & time slips from next weeks visit to the track.

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Jul 2013
    Location
    Burr ridge,IL
    Posts
    82
    Rep Points
    36.0
    Mentioned
    7 Post(s)
    Rep Power
    0



    Reputation: Yes | No
    Click here to enlarge Originally Posted by alextremo Click here to enlarge
    At the very least I'd have them note it on the service paperwork. That way it will be in their records if it happens again and you need to have it addressed. Sounds paranoids but I've had SAs leave who knew my car and it was like starting from scratch with the new guy (the whole "we couldn't repeat the symptoms" dance)

    That's happened to me before too. Which is not fun, but you're 100% right that at least it's in the records. Just kinda makes me mad, 100k truck,6k on upgrades. One launch and then limp mode. Kinda makes me upset.

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Jan 2010
    Location
    SoCal
    Posts
    117,756
    Rep Points
    31,551.1
    Mentioned
    2064 Post(s)
    Rep Power
    316


    Reputation: Yes | No
    Click here to enlarge Originally Posted by Hansel22 Click here to enlarge
    That's happened to me before too. Which is not fun, but you're 100% right that at least it's in the records. Just kinda makes me mad, 100k truck,6k on upgrades. One launch and then limp mode. Kinda makes me upset.
    Completely understandable.

Tags for this Thread

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •