Close

Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 25 of 41
  1. #1
    Join Date
    May 2010
    Location
    Park Ridge, IL
    Posts
    233
    Rep Points
    16.8
    Mentioned
    1 Post(s)
    Rep Power
    0


    Reputation: Yes | No

    Used the BB Flash to read my car last night

    Hey guys. I used the BB flash program to read my stock 2008 6MT E92 last night. Took 1hr 11min from start to finish. It said completed and everything however the 2mb file that was saved has a .org extension. Is this correct? Did I do something wrong? Click here to enlarge Thanks for the help.

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Mar 2010
    Location
    AZ
    Posts
    2,729
    Rep Points
    2,484.0
    Mentioned
    40 Post(s)
    Rep Power
    25


    Reputation: Yes | No
    org = original. Its fine.
    Click here to enlarge
    Join the largest N5X Enthusiasts Group! 1200+ Members Strong!
    https://www.facebook.com/groups/n5xenthusiasts/

  3. #3
    Join Date
    May 2010
    Location
    Park Ridge, IL
    Posts
    233
    Rep Points
    16.8
    Mentioned
    1 Post(s)
    Rep Power
    0



    Reputation: Yes | No
    Click here to enlarge Originally Posted by klipseracer Click here to enlarge
    org = original. Its fine.
    So just save it somewhere safe and load another bin and I should be fine?

  4. #4
    Join Date
    May 2012
    Location
    Jacksonville, FL
    Posts
    2,936
    Rep Points
    2,858.8
    Mentioned
    78 Post(s)
    Rep Power
    29


    Reputation: Yes | No
    @SLV335I, if you want a proven reliable tune to load up, save your org file somewhere safe, but keep a copy to play around with. Download tuner pro, apply Shivs Stage 0 patch and flash the bin file back to your car. If you dont feel comfortable doing this, email me your org file an i will send the bin file back to you with the stage 0 patch applied. Then you just have to flash it to your car.
    2011 E90 M3 \ Melbourne Rot Metallic

    Click here to enlarge

  5. #5
    Join Date
    May 2010
    Location
    Park Ridge, IL
    Posts
    233
    Rep Points
    16.8
    Mentioned
    1 Post(s)
    Rep Power
    0



    Reputation: Yes | No
    Click here to enlarge Originally Posted by lulz_m3 Click here to enlarge
    @SLV335I, if you want a proven reliable tune to load up, save your org file somewhere safe, but keep a copy to play around with. Download tuner pro, apply Shivs Stage 0 patch and flash the bin file back to your car. If you dont feel comfortable doing this, email me your org file an i will send the bin file back to you with the stage 0 patch applied. Then you just have to flash it to your car.
    I appreciate that. I used Tuner Pro and when I open the file I saved nothing comes up on the screen. Not 100% sure what I'm doing wrong. If you can please PM me your email and I will send it right over.

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Mar 2010
    Location
    AZ
    Posts
    2,729
    Rep Points
    2,484.0
    Mentioned
    40 Post(s)
    Rep Power
    25


    Reputation: Yes | No
    Click here to enlarge Originally Posted by SLV335I Click here to enlarge
    I appreciate that. I used Tuner Pro and when I open the file I saved nothing comes up on the screen. Not 100% sure what I'm doing wrong. If you can please PM me your email and I will send it right over.
    TunerPro only shows the tables you select on the left. It will only show the tables on the left if it knows where those tables are. So the XDF you use must corresponds to the Rom type you have. If so then I'd upload a copy to the cloud, save a copy locally, and make another copy to play with and rename it something else besides org such as bin. Load up your xdf and your bin and the tables will show.
    Click here to enlarge
    Join the largest N5X Enthusiasts Group! 1200+ Members Strong!
    https://www.facebook.com/groups/n5xenthusiasts/

  7. #7
    Join Date
    Mar 2010
    Posts
    961
    Rep Points
    1,141.3
    Mentioned
    45 Post(s)
    Rep Power
    12


    2 out of 2 members liked this post. Reputation: Yes | No
    You can always change the extension of the .org to .bin

    Thats what I did! lol
    Click here to enlarge

  8. #8
    Join Date
    May 2010
    Location
    Park Ridge, IL
    Posts
    233
    Rep Points
    16.8
    Mentioned
    1 Post(s)
    Rep Power
    0



    Reputation: Yes | No
    Will also try that thanks.

  9. #9
    Join Date
    Jan 2010
    Location
    SoCal
    Posts
    117,699
    Rep Points
    31,533.4
    Mentioned
    2064 Post(s)
    Rep Power
    316


    Reputation: Yes | No
    Click here to enlarge Originally Posted by Cn555ic Click here to enlarge
    You can always change the extension of the .org to .bin

    Thats what I did! lol
    Easiest solution ever.

  10. #10
    Join Date
    May 2010
    Location
    Park Ridge, IL
    Posts
    233
    Rep Points
    16.8
    Mentioned
    1 Post(s)
    Rep Power
    0



    Reputation: Yes | No
    Thanks to lulz_m3 I flashed my car with a stage 1 flash he sent me. Problem is the first time I got on it I heard a noise and my check engine light came on and the car ran like crap. Thank god I had my BT cable and laptop in the car. I had all kinds of cylinder misfires and something about the O2 signal behind the cat.

    So I'm now flashing to stage 0 to see if that helps. I have 93 octane in the car and its only about 72 degrees out right now. Maybe I need new plugs. Not sure but it scared the crap out of me.

  11. #11
    Join Date
    Mar 2010
    Posts
    961
    Rep Points
    1,141.3
    Mentioned
    45 Post(s)
    Rep Power
    12


    Reputation: Yes | No
    Click here to enlarge Originally Posted by SLV335I Click here to enlarge
    Thanks to lulz_m3 I flashed my car with a stage 1 flash he sent me. Problem is the first time I got on it I heard a noise and my check engine light came on and the car ran like crap. Thank god I had my BT cable and laptop in the car. I had all kinds of cylinder misfires and something about the O2 signal behind the cat.

    So I'm now flashing to stage 0 to see if that helps. I have 93 octane in the car and its only about 72 degrees out right now. Maybe I need new plugs. Not sure but it scared the crap out of me.

    Thats not normal at all man...DId you clear the codes and is it still doing this?
    Click here to enlarge

  12. #12
    Join Date
    May 2010
    Location
    Park Ridge, IL
    Posts
    233
    Rep Points
    16.8
    Mentioned
    1 Post(s)
    Rep Power
    0



    Reputation: Yes | No
    Click here to enlarge Originally Posted by Cn555ic Click here to enlarge
    Thats not normal at all man...DId you clear the codes and is it still doing this?
    I cleared the codes and its running fine.

  13. #13
    Join Date
    May 2012
    Location
    Jacksonville, FL
    Posts
    2,936
    Rep Points
    2,858.8
    Mentioned
    78 Post(s)
    Rep Power
    29


    Reputation: Yes | No
    Click here to enlarge Originally Posted by Cn555ic Click here to enlarge
    Thats not normal at all man...DId you clear the codes and is it still doing this?
    It's pretty normal to misfire when going from stock to an 18psi file on old plugs. Cobb users are very familiar with this lol.
    2011 E90 M3 \ Melbourne Rot Metallic

    Click here to enlarge

  14. #14
    Join Date
    May 2010
    Location
    Park Ridge, IL
    Posts
    233
    Rep Points
    16.8
    Mentioned
    1 Post(s)
    Rep Power
    0



    Reputation: Yes | No
    I flashed back to my stock map till I change my plugs. Ran it hard for the first 3 gears and no problems, so thank god nothing went wrong. Thanks again to lulz_m3 for all the help tonight.

  15. #15
    Join Date
    May 2012
    Location
    Jacksonville, FL
    Posts
    2,936
    Rep Points
    2,858.8
    Mentioned
    78 Post(s)
    Rep Power
    29


    1 out of 1 members liked this post. Reputation: Yes | No
    Anytime man, life's to short to only run 8psi Click here to enlarge
    2011 E90 M3 \ Melbourne Rot Metallic

    Click here to enlarge

  16. #16
    Join Date
    Sep 2012
    Location
    Harrisburg
    Posts
    1,284
    Rep Points
    1,526.3
    Mentioned
    43 Post(s)
    Rep Power
    16


    Reputation: Yes | No
    Click here to enlarge Originally Posted by Cn555ic Click here to enlarge
    You can always change the extension of the .org to .bin

    Thats what I did! lol
    I would still keep the unadulterated .org file in a safe place (maybe multiple places for redundancy) in case you need to flash it back for some reason. Making a copy and changing the copy's extension to .bin is fine, but don't patch then flash your only stock copy.
    Eppur si muove.

  17. #17
    Join Date
    May 2010
    Location
    Park Ridge, IL
    Posts
    233
    Rep Points
    16.8
    Mentioned
    1 Post(s)
    Rep Power
    0



    Reputation: Yes | No
    Click here to enlarge Originally Posted by ajm8127 Click here to enlarge
    I would still keep the unadulterated .org file in a safe place (maybe multiple places for redundancy) in case you need to flash it back for some reason. Making a copy and changing the copy's extension to .bin is fine, but don't patch then flash your only stock copy.
    I was so scared with messing something up that I saved the original in 3 different places. LOL I flashed back to the original map last night till I change my plugs. They might be original with 50K miles on them. I don't see anything in the BMW service papers that they were changed by the original owner. Hope that's the only thing I need to change now. Fingers crossed its not injectors.

  18. #18
    Join Date
    Mar 2010
    Posts
    961
    Rep Points
    1,141.3
    Mentioned
    45 Post(s)
    Rep Power
    12


    Reputation: Yes | No
    Click here to enlarge Originally Posted by ajm8127 Click here to enlarge
    I would still keep the unadulterated .org file in a safe place (maybe multiple places for redundancy) in case you need to flash it back for some reason. Making a copy and changing the copy's extension to .bin is fine, but don't patch then flash your only stock copy.

    Thanks for the headsup but I already have that file saved on my laptop in two places and also copied onto my PC at home and also on a USB stick..I think I got that covered! lol
    Click here to enlarge

  19. #19
    Join Date
    Sep 2012
    Location
    Harrisburg
    Posts
    1,284
    Rep Points
    1,526.3
    Mentioned
    43 Post(s)
    Rep Power
    16


    Reputation: Yes | No
    Click here to enlarge Originally Posted by Cn555ic Click here to enlarge
    Thanks for the headsup but I already have that file saved on my laptop in two places and also copied onto my PC at home and also on a USB stick..I think I got that covered! lol
    It's not you I'm worried about. You obviously know your way around a computer.
    Eppur si muove.

  20. #20
    Join Date
    Mar 2010
    Location
    AZ
    Posts
    2,729
    Rep Points
    2,484.0
    Mentioned
    40 Post(s)
    Rep Power
    25


    Reputation: Yes | No
    I would highly recommend relabelling one of them as STOCK and keeping the .org extension. After 6 months you may forget which .bin you've modified or not. Might be wise to do a MD5 of your stock file and save that as part of the name. This way you can always check and be confident the file is original if it matches the md5.
    Click here to enlarge
    Join the largest N5X Enthusiasts Group! 1200+ Members Strong!
    https://www.facebook.com/groups/n5xenthusiasts/

  21. #21
    Join Date
    May 2010
    Location
    Park Ridge, IL
    Posts
    233
    Rep Points
    16.8
    Mentioned
    1 Post(s)
    Rep Power
    0



    Reputation: Yes | No
    Thanks. I saved it and labeled it as original stock ECU file. So I'm good.

  22. #22
    Join Date
    May 2010
    Location
    Park Ridge, IL
    Posts
    233
    Rep Points
    16.8
    Mentioned
    1 Post(s)
    Rep Power
    0



    Reputation: Yes | No
    One question I had. I was running a JB+ on the car and uninstalled it right before reading my stock ECU. Do you think there would be a problem reading the stock ECU without driving the car for a few days without the JB+ installed? Just thinking the stock maps might be different because of the JB+.

  23. #23
    Join Date
    Jan 2010
    Location
    SoCal
    Posts
    117,699
    Rep Points
    31,533.4
    Mentioned
    2064 Post(s)
    Rep Power
    316


    Reputation: Yes | No
    Click here to enlarge Originally Posted by SLV335I Click here to enlarge
    One question I had. I was running a JB+ on the car and uninstalled it right before reading my stock ECU. Do you think there would be a problem reading the stock ECU without driving the car for a few days without the JB+ installed? Just thinking the stock maps might be different because of the JB+.
    The JB+ doesn't flash anything so why would the stock map be different?

  24. #24
    Join Date
    Mar 2010
    Location
    AZ
    Posts
    2,729
    Rep Points
    2,484.0
    Mentioned
    40 Post(s)
    Rep Power
    25


    Reputation: Yes | No
    Adaptation values aren't stored in the BIN AFAIK. I've been wrong before though.
    Click here to enlarge
    Join the largest N5X Enthusiasts Group! 1200+ Members Strong!
    https://www.facebook.com/groups/n5xenthusiasts/

  25. #25
    Join Date
    May 2010
    Location
    Park Ridge, IL
    Posts
    233
    Rep Points
    16.8
    Mentioned
    1 Post(s)
    Rep Power
    0



    Reputation: Yes | No
    Click here to enlarge Originally Posted by Sticky Click here to enlarge
    The JB+ doesn't flash anything so why would the stock map be different?
    I was just thinking that it was adapted to the JB+ changing the signals so maybe the maps would be changed. Wasn't sure so wanted to just ask if someone knew.

Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Tags for this Thread

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •