Close

Page 2 of 2 FirstFirst 12
Results 26 to 46 of 46
  1. #26
    Join Date
    Jan 2012
    Posts
    979
    Rep Points
    2,200.8
    Mentioned
    69 Post(s)
    Rep Power
    23


    Yes Reputation No
    Click here to enlarge Originally Posted by alextremo Click here to enlarge
    Pulls hard. Any progress on a n63 tune?
    We can do the n63 in x6's and x5's but not the 550's.

  2. #27
    Join Date
    Jan 2010
    Location
    SoCal
    Posts
    119,416
    Rep Points
    32,100.8
    Mentioned
    2106 Post(s)
    Rep Power
    322


    Yes Reputation No
    Click here to enlarge Originally Posted by Andrew@activeautowerke Click here to enlarge
    We can do the n63 in x6's and x5's but not the 550's.
    Why not the 550's?

    Stage 2 or 2.5 E9X M3 S65 V8 supercharger kit for sale
    : http://www.boostaddict.com/showthrea...r-kit-for-sale

  3. #28
    Join Date
    Apr 2010
    Posts
    198
    Rep Points
    127.9
    Mentioned
    2 Post(s)
    Rep Power
    2


    Yes Reputation No
    Click here to enlarge Originally Posted by Andrew@activeautowerke Click here to enlarge
    We can do the n63 in x6's and x5's but not the 550's.

    is this something you are actively working on? What needs to happen to make this available on 550's?

  4. #29
    Join Date
    Jan 2012
    Posts
    979
    Rep Points
    2,200.8
    Mentioned
    69 Post(s)
    Rep Power
    23


    Yes Reputation No
    Click here to enlarge Originally Posted by Sticky Click here to enlarge
    Why not the 550's?

    From what i have gathered is that the 550's use the new flex ray ecu's which basically lock down and will actually revert back to stock. The only way to flash them at the moment is to replace the ecu's with new ones and flash them at the start. $$$

    In time it will all be figured out im sure.

  5. #30
    Join Date
    Apr 2010
    Posts
    198
    Rep Points
    127.9
    Mentioned
    2 Post(s)
    Rep Power
    2


    Yes Reputation No
    Click here to enlarge Originally Posted by Andrew@activeautowerke Click here to enlarge
    From what i have gathered is that the 550's use the new flex ray ecu's which basically lock down and will actually revert back to stock. The only way to flash them at the moment is to replace the ecu's with new ones and flash them at the start. $$$

    In time it will all be figured out im sure.
    Really? Has this been verified? How does the dinan flash get around this?

  6. #31
    Join Date
    Jan 2010
    Location
    SoCal
    Posts
    119,416
    Rep Points
    32,100.8
    Mentioned
    2106 Post(s)
    Rep Power
    322


    Yes Reputation No
    Click here to enlarge Originally Posted by Andrew@activeautowerke Click here to enlarge
    From what i have gathered is that the 550's use the new flex ray ecu's which basically lock down and will actually revert back to stock. The only way to flash them at the moment is to replace the ecu's with new ones and flash them at the start. $$$

    In time it will all be figured out im sure.
    It's a good question, how does Dinan do it?

    Stage 2 or 2.5 E9X M3 S65 V8 supercharger kit for sale
    : http://www.boostaddict.com/showthrea...r-kit-for-sale

  7. #32
    Join Date
    Jan 2012
    Posts
    979
    Rep Points
    2,200.8
    Mentioned
    69 Post(s)
    Rep Power
    23


    Yes Reputation No
    Click here to enlarge Originally Posted by Sticky Click here to enlarge
    It's a good question, how does Dinan do it?
    They replaced our customers ecu. $3800

  8. #33
    Join Date
    Apr 2010
    Posts
    198
    Rep Points
    127.9
    Mentioned
    2 Post(s)
    Rep Power
    2


    Yes Reputation No
    Click here to enlarge Originally Posted by Andrew@activeautowerke Click here to enlarge
    They replaced our customers ecu. $3800
    That's not my experience - the dealer flashed the dinan tune via OBD while I waited, took about 45mins.

  9. #34
    Join Date
    Jan 2010
    Location
    SoCal
    Posts
    119,416
    Rep Points
    32,100.8
    Mentioned
    2106 Post(s)
    Rep Power
    322


    Yes Reputation No
    I think Dinan actually has the 550i cracked.

    Stage 2 or 2.5 E9X M3 S65 V8 supercharger kit for sale
    : http://www.boostaddict.com/showthrea...r-kit-for-sale

  10. #35
    Join Date
    Jan 2012
    Posts
    979
    Rep Points
    2,200.8
    Mentioned
    69 Post(s)
    Rep Power
    23


    Yes Reputation No
    Click here to enlarge Originally Posted by alextremo Click here to enlarge
    That's not my experience - the dealer flashed the dinan tune via OBD while I waited, took about 45mins.

    Really? He told me they replaced it. Ill double check

  11. #36
    Join Date
    Apr 2010
    Posts
    198
    Rep Points
    127.9
    Mentioned
    2 Post(s)
    Rep Power
    2


    Yes Reputation No
    Click here to enlarge Originally Posted by Andrew@activeautowerke Click here to enlarge
    Really? He told me they replaced it. Ill double check
    Yep. Interested to know more about the 'reverting back to stock' too - I've seen some posts on other boards where several members who recently got the Dinan flash weren't getting the results they expected, including one with a boost gauge showing 9-10psi post flash (mine shows 14.5-15 @WOT) I wonder if there is some compatability issue with newer ECU software versions that is triggering this functionality.

    Would be great if you can get this figured out - I would love to see the gains from your downpipes/exhaust with a tune that was purpose built for that set up. It may convince me to switch from my current tune Click here to enlarge

  12. #37
    Join Date
    Jan 2012
    Posts
    979
    Rep Points
    2,200.8
    Mentioned
    69 Post(s)
    Rep Power
    23


    Yes Reputation No
    Click here to enlarge Originally Posted by alextremo Click here to enlarge
    Yep. Interested to know more about the 'reverting back to stock' too - I've seen some posts on other boards where several members who recently got the Dinan flash weren't getting the results they expected, including one with a boost gauge showing 9-10psi post flash (mine shows 14.5-15 @WOT) I wonder if there is some compatability issue with newer ECU software versions that is triggering this functionality.

    Would be great if you can get this figured out - I would love to see the gains from your downpipes/exhaust with a tune that was purpose built for that set up. It may convince me to switch from my current tune Click here to enlarge
    Invoice says to replace ecu and flash with dinan software.. Car had more than 1500 miles on the ecu before they tuned it. For whats its worth the tune did work.

    Click here to enlarge

  13. #38
    Join Date
    Apr 2010
    Posts
    198
    Rep Points
    127.9
    Mentioned
    2 Post(s)
    Rep Power
    2


    Yes Reputation No
    Click here to enlarge Originally Posted by Andrew@activeautowerke Click here to enlarge
    Invoice says to replace ecu and flash with dinan software.. Car had more than 1500 miles on the ecu before they tuned it. For whats its worth the tune did work.

    Click here to enlarge
    Maybe something else was wrong with that car, I just looked at my receipt and it has "Dinan software upgrade" listed as a line item and a work item saying "installed Dinan software" No mention of ecu replacement.

    Price was 2399, but was stage 1 and I think was on sale at the time.

  14. #39
    Join Date
    Jan 2010
    Location
    SoCal
    Posts
    119,416
    Rep Points
    32,100.8
    Mentioned
    2106 Post(s)
    Rep Power
    322


    Yes Reputation No
    Click here to enlarge Originally Posted by Andrew@activeautowerke Click here to enlarge
    Invoice says to replace ecu and flash with dinan software.. Car had more than 1500 miles on the ecu before they tuned it. For whats its worth the tune did work.

    Click here to enlarge
    Was this graph ever posted before?

    Stage 2 or 2.5 E9X M3 S65 V8 supercharger kit for sale
    : http://www.boostaddict.com/showthrea...r-kit-for-sale

  15. #40
    Join Date
    Jun 2013
    Location
    North Houston
    Posts
    1,295
    Rep Points
    1,639.5
    Mentioned
    111 Post(s)
    Rep Power
    17


    Yes Reputation No
    Click here to enlarge Originally Posted by Andrew@activeautowerke Click here to enlarge
    From what i have gathered is that the 550's use the new flex ray ecu's which basically lock down and will actually revert back to stock. The only way to flash them at the moment is to replace the ecu's with new ones and flash them at the start. $$$

    In time it will all be figured out im sure.

    Flexray is for suspension.
    You must be talking about the F cars having Ethernet and a MAC address. Yes, they have a MAC address and its just like a little network in the car......
    Click here to enlarge
    Burger Motorsports dealer
    Turner Motorsports dealer
    Bimmerworld dealer
    Active Autowerks Dealer
    Shipping built/stroked/CNC ported N54's Internationally!
    Follow us!
    http://www.facebook.com/BMWdoctor
    http://twitter.com/abrhouston
    http://instagram.com/abrhouston/
    http://abrhouston.com
    http://abr.genbook.com Book online appointments!

  16. #41
    Join Date
    Jan 2010
    Location
    SoCal
    Posts
    119,416
    Rep Points
    32,100.8
    Mentioned
    2106 Post(s)
    Rep Power
    322


    Yes Reputation No
    Click here to enlarge Originally Posted by alex@ABRhouston Click here to enlarge
    Flexray is for suspension.
    You must be talking about the F cars having Ethernet and a MAC address. Yes, they have a MAC address and its just like a little network in the car......
    No I believe he is correct regarding flexray and the ecu?

    Stage 2 or 2.5 E9X M3 S65 V8 supercharger kit for sale
    : http://www.boostaddict.com/showthrea...r-kit-for-sale

  17. #42
    Join Date
    Jan 2012
    Posts
    979
    Rep Points
    2,200.8
    Mentioned
    69 Post(s)
    Rep Power
    23


    Yes Reputation No
    Click here to enlarge Originally Posted by alex@ABRhouston Click here to enlarge
    Flexray is for suspension.
    You must be talking about the F cars having Ethernet and a MAC address. Yes, they have a MAC address and its just like a little network in the car......

    Flex ray is a new information protocol that replaced CAN. It moves data at a much higher rate of speed than other ecu's can.

    I believe the suspension components would be controlled by modules.

  18. #43
    Join Date
    Jun 2013
    Location
    North Houston
    Posts
    1,295
    Rep Points
    1,639.5
    Mentioned
    111 Post(s)
    Rep Power
    17


    1 out of 1 members liked this post. Yes Reputation No
    you guys are "kinda" right.

    I'll explain.

    YES the DME does have flex ray going to it.
    BUT the primary reason it has flex ray (10MB per second- the fastest "wire" bus system BMW has) is for suspension and active dynamics while driving.


    An "E" chassis BMW normally went like this: OBD plug => D can => central gateway module (like the instrument cluster on the older cars, or the SGM/ZGM/JBE on the newer cars) => CAN or PT-CAN => DME.


    An "F" chassis BMW goes like this: OBD plug => ethernet OR D can => ZGM (which has a MAC address) => PT can AND FLEXRAXY => DME.


    There are some similarity and differences in this.

    First off, the E chassis is simple. easy to understand. easy to follow on bus topology.

    the F chassis is a whole different ball park. It has muliple bus systems to be redundant, and also for sub functions.


    Being that the E chassis didnt have a high load of consumers or data demands, a simple CAN bus worked fine. low speeds, no problem. E65? whoops, add a MOST bus to it, but still let it talk to everyone else on wires......

    But, because of the F chassis having SO MUCH information/systems/features- they had to implement more and faster bus systems to handle the load.


    Still- an F car will get programming from the OBD connector via ETHERNET from the ICOM.
    when asked to program, the D can is disabled and ETHERNET is flipped on. (100mb per second- super fast)
    from ethernet, it goes to the ZGM which allows it to pass/fail (think of the troll at the bridge) and from there it goes via PTcan to the DME.


    But you also have to remember, there isnt a MOST port to program on F cars like the E cars had; so it could program multiple modules at one time......

    the F cars smoosh all the information down ethernet- its then ZGM's job to distribute the information accordingly- if it needs to go program the transmission (EGS) on the PTcan, or it needs to program the Air conditioning (IHKA) on Kcan, or encode the CAS on Kcan2.... it determines where it goes.

    Honestly, I dont think (but cant confirm) that the DME is the hard part.... I think cracking the ZGM's MAC address lock down capabilities and its way of blocking unoriginal attempts to program or manipulate vehicle coding is the problem..... I mean I know the DME is gonna be something to work on (like what happened to the N54 open code here) but the first line of defense (the ZGM) will have to be broken first (in my opinion)


    Flex ray is talking to the DME for engine loads, talking to the ICM for pitch/yaw, talking to the SZL for steering input, talking to the shocks to tell them how to dampen, talking to the headlights to tell them where to swivel.... its all super fast and needs to be so its reactive..... but its main job isnt to program, just telegraph information as quickly as possible.


    remember, there is PTcan, and PTcan2 for redundancy as well..... its a really garbled up mess trying to understand "what goes where and why" when it comes to the F cars.


    hopefully that made sense. Its easier to understand in the BMW seminars I teach (for hookers and booze money) on the weekends Click here to enlarge
    Click here to enlarge
    Burger Motorsports dealer
    Turner Motorsports dealer
    Bimmerworld dealer
    Active Autowerks Dealer
    Shipping built/stroked/CNC ported N54's Internationally!
    Follow us!
    http://www.facebook.com/BMWdoctor
    http://twitter.com/abrhouston
    http://instagram.com/abrhouston/
    http://abrhouston.com
    http://abr.genbook.com Book online appointments!

  19. #44
    Join Date
    Apr 2010
    Posts
    198
    Rep Points
    127.9
    Mentioned
    2 Post(s)
    Rep Power
    2


    Yes Reputation No
    Good info. We need some networking gurus to get started on figuring this out.

  20. #45
    Join Date
    Jan 2010
    Location
    SoCal
    Posts
    119,416
    Rep Points
    32,100.8
    Mentioned
    2106 Post(s)
    Rep Power
    322


    Yes Reputation No
    Ya good stuff. All I know is that if BMW made a microwave it would need 5,000 button presses and a laptop connected to it just to make popcorn.

    Stage 2 or 2.5 E9X M3 S65 V8 supercharger kit for sale
    : http://www.boostaddict.com/showthrea...r-kit-for-sale

  21. #46
    Join Date
    Jan 2012
    Posts
    979
    Rep Points
    2,200.8
    Mentioned
    69 Post(s)
    Rep Power
    23


    Yes Reputation No
    Fiber optics shooting through the car Click here to enlarge

Page 2 of 2 FirstFirst 12

Tags for this Thread

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •