Close

Page 2 of 2 FirstFirst 12
Results 26 to 36 of 36
  1. #26
    Join Date
    Feb 2010
    Posts
    298
    Rep Points
    272.3
    Mentioned
    17 Post(s)
    Rep Power
    3



    Yes Reputation No
    Click here to enlarge Originally Posted by dzenno@PTF Click here to enlarge
    @cstavaru , how are your load actual and requested in this last log posted? Can you give it a bit more resolution/scaling as well?
    Very good question ! Click here to enlarge Attached to this post is a WOT log (gears 2-3) in which you can see that the load target oscillates...but in the original log posted (without increased torque limits) it does not oscillate. This can explain the timing oscillation in this log, I suppose.

    As for the resolution and scaling, I am not sure what you meant so I have attached a zip containing the CSV.
    Attached Images Attached Images  
    Attached Files Attached Files

  2. #27
    Join Date
    Feb 2010
    Posts
    298
    Rep Points
    272.3
    Mentioned
    17 Post(s)
    Rep Power
    3



    Yes Reputation No
    Click here to enlarge Originally Posted by Josh@Cobb Click here to enlarge
    Is this occurring in all cylinders? Normally we only log Cyl 1 Timing, but it might be worthwhile to log all 6.
    I have logged one more cylinder (1 and 6 logged) and the timing is the same on both. So I can safely conclude that the timing is doing this on all cylinders.

  3. #28
    Join Date
    Nov 2010
    Posts
    937
    Rep Points
    562.7
    Mentioned
    52 Post(s)
    Rep Power
    6


    Yes Reputation No
    Click here to enlarge Originally Posted by cstavaru Click here to enlarge
    This leads me to believe that the torque limits may need DEcreasing instead of INcreasing to provide timing and boost target stability ! But this is just a supposition of mine...
    From your log pics timing in the "so-so" map is much lower when not oscillating, so I think you are on to something in reducing the torque limits table values. I have thought before that this table is named incorrectly and this is more a torque to load lookup table instead of a limit. But we can only trial and error to find out.

    Can you clarify the mapping:
    "bad" map = only change to "good" map is higher timing targets
    "so-so" = only change is torque limit table from "bad" map
    "good" = based on stg2+ with altered load, timing, fuel only.
    which ROM?

    Good thorough testing!

  4. #29
    Join Date
    Feb 2010
    Posts
    298
    Rep Points
    272.3
    Mentioned
    17 Post(s)
    Rep Power
    3



    Yes Reputation No
    Click here to enlarge Originally Posted by JoshBoody Click here to enlarge
    From your log pics timing in the "so-so" map is much lower when not oscillating, so I think you are on to something in reducing the torque limits table values. I have thought before that this table is named incorrectly and this is more a torque to load lookup table instead of a limit. But we can only trial and error to find out.

    Can you clarify the mapping:
    "bad" map = only change to "good" map is higher timing targets
    "so-so" = only change is torque limit table from "bad" map
    "good" = based on stg2+ with altered load, timing, fuel only.
    which ROM?

    Good thorough testing!
    Exactly, this is what I thought today too, the Load to Torque Limit may in fact be used to look up a load target from the requested torque. However Cobb did not significantly alter this map compared to the Stage 0 map. They did modify the table headers probably due to the fact that it is used to create load target from torque. But why the little modifications from lets's say 100Nm to 100.8Nm ? Doesn't make sense to me at this point. And where can you set the torque targets then ? And why is the Requested Torque always 510 ?

    PS: You are correct about all the map meanings. ROM is IJE0S.

  5. #30
    Join Date
    Feb 2010
    Posts
    298
    Rep Points
    272.3
    Mentioned
    17 Post(s)
    Rep Power
    3



    Yes Reputation No
    Click here to enlarge Originally Posted by cstavaru Click here to enlarge
    Exactly, this is what I thought today too, the Load to Torque Limit may in fact be used to look up a load target from the requested torque. However Cobb did not significantly alter this map compared to the Stage 0 map. They did modify the table headers probably due to the fact that it is used to create load target from torque. But why the little modifications from lets's say 100Nm to 100.8Nm ? Doesn't make sense to me at this point. And where can you set the torque targets then ? And why is the Requested Torque always 510 ?

    PS: You are correct about all the map meanings. ROM is IJE0S.
    I just realized that you can set the torque in the throttle maps ! So the circle could be complete: Press the accelerator, request a certain torque via the throttle maps, the the ECU looks up the Load to Torque Limit map (whose correct name is Torque to Load Target) and a load target is created. Just a theory.

  6. #31
    Join Date
    Jun 2012
    Location
    Austin, TX
    Posts
    236
    Rep Points
    757.9
    Mentioned
    92 Post(s)
    Rep Power
    8


    Yes Reputation No
    Click here to enlarge Originally Posted by cstavaru Click here to enlarge
    I just realized that you can set the torque in the throttle maps ! So the circle could be complete: Press the accelerator, request a certain torque via the throttle maps, the the ECU looks up the Load to Torque Limit map (whose correct name is Torque to Load Target) and a load target is created. Just a theory.
    CSR sent me a notification that you contacted them. Since I already posted in here, I told them I'd just help you out directly. Sorry I didn't reply yesterday, I've been really busy catching up from the holiday weekend. Shoot me the logs and associated maps and I'll see if there's anything jumping out at me. josh.dankel@cobbtuning.com
    Josh Dankel
    ECU Engineer
    866.922.3059
    Click here to enlarge
    web | forum | blog | facebook | twitter | youtube

  7. #32
    Join Date
    Jun 2012
    Location
    North East
    Posts
    404
    Rep Points
    419.1
    Mentioned
    20 Post(s)
    Rep Power
    5


    Yes Reputation No
    @cstavaru

    Did you figure this out?
    For Sale:

    - NX Express complete wet kit with Plug & Play fuel adapter for BMW 335i

    - FBO parts here LINK


  8. #33
    Join Date
    Feb 2010
    Posts
    298
    Rep Points
    272.3
    Mentioned
    17 Post(s)
    Rep Power
    3



    Yes Reputation No
    Click here to enlarge Originally Posted by boosted-M Click here to enlarge
    @cstavaru

    Did you figure this out?
    Not yet, but Josh@Cobb sent me a map with the Timing (Fail Safe) table being more or less identical to the Timing (Main) table. So he probably thinks the ECU enters a failsafe mode. I will have to test this out, but the big question (if it works) is why does the ECU enter failsafe mode. Are some important engine health monitors missing from the Cobb logging parameters ? Also the fail safe table timing is not so close to 0 as in my logs, so I have some doubts of this being the problem. But I will have to test it out these days.

    Anyway, if you have this problem you may do the tweak above and see if it works.

  9. #34
    Join Date
    Jun 2012
    Location
    North East
    Posts
    404
    Rep Points
    419.1
    Mentioned
    20 Post(s)
    Rep Power
    5


    Yes Reputation No
    Click here to enlarge Originally Posted by cstavaru Click here to enlarge
    Not yet, but Josh@Cobb sent me a map with the Timing (Fail Safe) table being more or less identical to the Timing (Main) table. So he probably thinks the ECU enters a failsafe mode. I will have to test this out, but the big question (if it works) is why does the ECU enter failsafe mode. Are some important engine health monitors missing from the Cobb logging parameters ? Also the fail safe table timing is not so close to 0 as in my logs, so I have some doubts of this being the problem. But I will have to test it out these days.

    Anyway, if you have this problem you may do the tweak above and see if it works.
    I had the "Flatline" issue but then stacked with the JB4 G5 ISO and timing recovery post shift is MUCH better.
    I went back and forth with Josh earlier this year and asked if they could implement a “TIMING MODE” to view in a datalog just like they have a “FUEL MODE” to tell which fuel map the DME reading from.
    I also tried copying the MAIN timing map to the FAILSAFE and this did not help me..

    Hopefully you have better luck!
    For Sale:

    - NX Express complete wet kit with Plug & Play fuel adapter for BMW 335i

    - FBO parts here LINK


  10. #35
    Join Date
    Feb 2010
    Posts
    298
    Rep Points
    272.3
    Mentioned
    17 Post(s)
    Rep Power
    3



    Yes Reputation No
    Click here to enlarge Originally Posted by boosted-M Click here to enlarge
    I had the "Flatline" issue but then stacked with the JB4 G5 ISO and timing recovery post shift is MUCH better.
    I went back and forth with Josh earlier this year and asked if they could implement a “TIMING MODE” to view in a datalog just like they have a “FUEL MODE” to tell which fuel map the DME reading from.
    I also tried copying the MAIN timing map to the FAILSAFE and this did not help me..

    Hopefully you have better luck!
    Josh@Cobb just said he also modified other tables that are not available in ATR/ATP, so it's not just the failsafe timing table. Now I'm really anxious to try the map Click here to enlarge

  11. #36
    Join Date
    Jun 2012
    Location
    North East
    Posts
    404
    Rep Points
    419.1
    Mentioned
    20 Post(s)
    Rep Power
    5


    Yes Reputation No
    Click here to enlarge Originally Posted by cstavaru Click here to enlarge
    Josh@Cobb just said he also modified other tables that are not available in ATR/ATP, so it's not just the failsafe timing table. Now I'm really anxious to try the map Click here to enlarge
    Sweet,get out there and give her hell..!!
    For Sale:

    - NX Express complete wet kit with Plug & Play fuel adapter for BMW 335i

    - FBO parts here LINK


Page 2 of 2 FirstFirst 12

Tags for this Thread

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •