Close

Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast
Results 1 to 25 of 59
  1. #1
    Join Date
    Jul 2012
    Posts
    467
    Rep Points
    337.4
    Mentioned
    4 Post(s)
    Rep Power
    4


    Yes Reputation No

    Have an idea for the 6AT maybe it will work

    I think it's possible to fit zf 6hp26 transmission instead of 6hp21 and flash the TCU
    the 6hp26 is in 335d.
    6hp26 can handle more power and there's 1000hp build kit for it

    what do u think?

    Alpina did this thing with the new 3 series, they swap the 8HP45 to 8HP70

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Sep 2012
    Location
    NJ...For now
    Posts
    530
    Rep Points
    1,564.1
    Mentioned
    40 Post(s)
    Rep Power
    16


    Yes Reputation No
    Click here to enlarge Originally Posted by 135idct Click here to enlarge
    I think it's possible to fit zf 6hp26 transmission instead of 6hp21 and flash the TCU
    the 6hp26 is in 335d.
    6hp26 can handle more power and there's 1000hp build kit for it

    what do u think?

    Alpina did this thing with the new 3 series, they swap the 8HP45 to 8HP70
    I am all ears for anything that can stop me from having to do an AT to MT swap
    SYVECS Standalone l Motiv Port Injection with Fuel It Stage 3 LPFP l MFactory LSD l CFS Racing Radiator l m3 front and rear control arms l ST Coilover System Vargas Stage 2+ Fully Upgraded Turbos l Vargas Inlet System l VRSF DP | VRSF FMIC | Alpina TCM Flash | BMS Trunk Meth l Nitrous Express Dry l Evolution Raceworks Charge Pipe with n20/meth bungs l Vargas HPFP Upgrade v1 l Agency Power Exhaust with n55 mid pipes l Apex AERO-7 Lightweight Wheels l Toyo R888s



  3. #3
    Join Date
    Mar 2013
    Location
    England
    Posts
    523
    Rep Points
    582.2
    Mentioned
    4 Post(s)
    Rep Power
    6


    Yes Reputation No
    I assume the fact that the d box is built to only see 5500 rpm would not be a issue?
    Is the engine the limiting factor on the d or do you think the box is capable of 7000 rpm? Would certainly be interesting to find out.
    Click here to enlarge
    335i ~ JB4 ~ BMS ~ DCI ~ Active Autowerks CP & BOV ~ Borla Catback Exhaust

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Jun 2012
    Location
    NJ
    Posts
    4,199
    Rep Points
    1,800.3
    Mentioned
    102 Post(s)
    Rep Power
    19


    Yes Reputation No
    I know someone had talked about just swapping the 335d's 6AT TQ Converter, since that's really what makes the trans an "upgrade" to us.
    COBB AP ProTune by Bren of ///Bren Tuning
    Akrapovic DP | Helix FMIC | Alpina TCM Flash | Walbro 450LPH Fuel Pump


    "The moment money becomes your motivation, you are immediately not as good as someone who is motivated by passion and internal will." -A. Senna

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Jul 2012
    Posts
    467
    Rep Points
    337.4
    Mentioned
    4 Post(s)
    Rep Power
    4



    1 out of 1 members liked this post. Yes Reputation No
    Click here to enlarge Originally Posted by Sparky68 Click here to enlarge
    I assume the fact that the d box is built to only see 5500 rpm would not be a issue?
    Is the engine the limiting factor on the d or do you think the box is capable of 7000 rpm? Would certainly be interesting to find out.
    5500 rpm bcuz the diesel engine, this trans is in many cars like: the new mustang 5.0
    Last edited by 135idct; 05-11-2013 at 04:42 PM.

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Jul 2012
    Posts
    467
    Rep Points
    337.4
    Mentioned
    4 Post(s)
    Rep Power
    4



    Yes Reputation No
    Click here to enlarge Originally Posted by benzy89 Click here to enlarge
    I know someone had talked about just swapping the 335d's 6AT TQ Converter, since that's really what makes the trans an "upgrade" to us.
    good to hear that, i think a fully trans swap will make magic to our 6AT 335 and 135i

    we will see 600+ rwhp 6AT if it fits with no problems

  7. #7
    Join Date
    Jul 2012
    Posts
    467
    Rep Points
    337.4
    Mentioned
    4 Post(s)
    Rep Power
    4



    Yes Reputation No
    Click here to enlarge Originally Posted by Njz Click here to enlarge
    I am all ears for anything that can stop me from having to do an AT to MT swap
    we just need a volunteer to give us the green light

  8. #8
    Join Date
    Nov 2012
    Location
    Naples, Fl
    Posts
    755
    Rep Points
    861.8
    Mentioned
    18 Post(s)
    Rep Power
    9


    1 out of 1 members liked this post. Yes Reputation No
    Well this sound somewhat promising, but im assuming it wont work since it is so simple and obvious that im sure someone would have tried it/researched it more...
    Click here to enlarge

  9. #9
    Join Date
    Jul 2011
    Location
    NYC
    Posts
    203
    Rep Points
    84.6
    Mentioned
    5 Post(s)
    Rep Power
    0


    2 out of 2 members liked this post. Yes Reputation No
    Click here to enlarge Originally Posted by Eric335 Click here to enlarge
    Well this sound somewhat promising, but im assuming it wont work since it is so simple and obvious that im sure someone would have tried it/researched it more...
    sometimes the simplest things are the most overlooked Click here to enlarge
    Click here to enlarge

  10. #10
    Join Date
    Nov 2012
    Location
    Naples, Fl
    Posts
    755
    Rep Points
    861.8
    Mentioned
    18 Post(s)
    Rep Power
    9


    Yes Reputation No
    Click here to enlarge Originally Posted by tofu Click here to enlarge
    sometimes the simplest things are the most overlooked Click here to enlarge
    I feel ive seen this 335d tranny discussion before though Click here to enlarge On E90Post...
    Click here to enlarge

  11. #11
    Join Date
    Mar 2010
    Location
    Toronto, Canada
    Posts
    6,683
    Rep Points
    3,335.6
    Mentioned
    225 Post(s)
    Rep Power
    34


    Yes Reputation No
    Its usually all just talk..go for it and definitely try it out...dont assume anyone has done anything before, let alone done it right
    Click here to enlarge

  12. #12
    Join Date
    Aug 2012
    Location
    Tallahassee
    Posts
    1,483
    Rep Points
    17.1
    Mentioned
    34 Post(s)
    Rep Power
    0


    Yes Reputation No
    Click here to enlarge Originally Posted by dzenno@ProTUNING Freaks Click here to enlarge
    Its usually all just talk..go for it and definitely try it out...dont assume anyone has done anything before, let alone done it right
    +1

    Give it a try OP! I don't see why you wouldn't. It's what pushes the platform forward

  13. #13
    Join Date
    Mar 2010
    Location
    AZ
    Posts
    2,729
    Rep Points
    2,484.0
    Mentioned
    40 Post(s)
    Rep Power
    25


    Yes Reputation No
    Lets start with some images. Who can dig up some info on both trannies? Penis or vagina?
    Click here to enlarge
    Join the largest N5X Enthusiasts Group! 1200+ Members Strong!
    https://www.facebook.com/groups/n5xenthusiasts/

  14. #14
    Join Date
    Mar 2010
    Location
    AZ
    Posts
    2,729
    Rep Points
    2,484.0
    Mentioned
    40 Post(s)
    Rep Power
    25


    Yes Reputation No
    I'm reading that the TCM programming(on at least one car) throws a fault code with engine rpm of greater than 6k. Not sure if that is to protect the engine or the transmission.

    Also, the 6hp28 is the second generation of this, just like the 6hp19 is the previous of the 21. Wonder if there are many differenes in terms of mounting points, etc.
    Click here to enlarge
    Join the largest N5X Enthusiasts Group! 1200+ Members Strong!
    https://www.facebook.com/groups/n5xenthusiasts/

  15. #15
    Join Date
    Mar 2010
    Location
    AZ
    Posts
    2,729
    Rep Points
    2,484.0
    Mentioned
    40 Post(s)
    Rep Power
    25


    Yes Reputation No
    Here is good news. Says it has the ZF HP26 and revs to 7600.

    http://www.maseratiraleigh.com/specs...ti-GranTurismo


    Another maserati spinning to 7k with the HP26. The 2009 genesis v8 takes it to 6500.
    Last edited by klipseracer; 05-12-2013 at 12:20 AM.
    Click here to enlarge
    Join the largest N5X Enthusiasts Group! 1200+ Members Strong!
    https://www.facebook.com/groups/n5xenthusiasts/

  16. #16
    Join Date
    Mar 2010
    Location
    AZ
    Posts
    2,729
    Rep Points
    2,484.0
    Mentioned
    40 Post(s)
    Rep Power
    25


    Yes Reputation No
    Ford also has their versions, called the 6r60

    http://www.shinseiauto.com/japanese/...6r60zfhp26.pdf
    Click here to enlarge
    Join the largest N5X Enthusiasts Group! 1200+ Members Strong!
    https://www.facebook.com/groups/n5xenthusiasts/

  17. #17
    Join Date
    May 2010
    Posts
    237
    Rep Points
    21.0
    Mentioned
    13 Post(s)
    Rep Power
    0


    2 out of 2 members liked this post. Yes Reputation No
    @LostMarine and I discussed this years ago. A number of experts said the coding would make it extremely, extremely difficult.
    Click here to enlarge

  18. #18
    Join Date
    Jul 2012
    Posts
    467
    Rep Points
    337.4
    Mentioned
    4 Post(s)
    Rep Power
    4



    Yes Reputation No
    Click here to enlarge Originally Posted by dzenno@ProTUNING Freaks Click here to enlarge
    Its usually all just talk..go for it and definitely try it out...dont assume anyone has done anything before, let alone done it right
    I asked an expert, he told me even if it fits u will face a big problem (Coding) Click here to enlarge

  19. #19
    Join Date
    Mar 2010
    Location
    AZ
    Posts
    2,729
    Rep Points
    2,484.0
    Mentioned
    40 Post(s)
    Rep Power
    25


    Yes Reputation No
    Coding or TCU programming? Because I don't see why coding would be such a big issue. if we can swap from MT to AT or AT to DCT, both of which I've been told has or can be done. Not to mention with a stand alone...
    Click here to enlarge
    Join the largest N5X Enthusiasts Group! 1200+ Members Strong!
    https://www.facebook.com/groups/n5xenthusiasts/

  20. #20
    Join Date
    Jul 2012
    Posts
    467
    Rep Points
    337.4
    Mentioned
    4 Post(s)
    Rep Power
    4



    Yes Reputation No
    Click here to enlarge Originally Posted by klipseracer Click here to enlarge
    Coding or TCU programming? Because I don't see why coding would be such a big issue. if we can swap from MT to AT or AT to DCT, both of which I've been told has or can be done. Not to mention with a stand alone...
    the tcu programming, i asked zf about it and im waiting for the reply

  21. #21
    Join Date
    Mar 2010
    Location
    AZ
    Posts
    2,729
    Rep Points
    2,484.0
    Mentioned
    40 Post(s)
    Rep Power
    25


    1 out of 1 members liked this post. Yes Reputation No
    I can see how the coding would present a larger obstacle. But with that supposed, open source flashing project, perhaps we can dig into the guts of the logic of the TCU a bit more. At that point though, we'd be probably just as well off swapping in a dct and programming it to use a stronger clutch pack.
    Click here to enlarge
    Join the largest N5X Enthusiasts Group! 1200+ Members Strong!
    https://www.facebook.com/groups/n5xenthusiasts/

  22. #22
    Join Date
    Jul 2012
    Posts
    467
    Rep Points
    337.4
    Mentioned
    4 Post(s)
    Rep Power
    4



    Yes Reputation No
    there's level10 fully built trans, but no one test it at high levels of power 600+ rwhp, if it can handle it ill go for it, waiting for some one to test it

  23. #23
    Join Date
    Sep 2012
    Location
    Harrisburg
    Posts
    1,281
    Rep Points
    1,527.3
    Mentioned
    43 Post(s)
    Rep Power
    16


    3 out of 3 members liked this post. Yes Reputation No
    6HP21_DataSheet.pdf
    6HP28_DataSheet.pdf


    I wanted to add these here. What I notice is how similar the dimensions are, and the gear ratios are the same. I kind of think you could just switch the mechatronic from the 6HP21 directly to the 6HP28, provided you were able to mount the 6HP28 to the rear of the engine. Documentation from Sonnax indicates the mechtronics are the same across all second generation ZF six speed automatics. This makes sense as the primary difference is the number of clutches (and possibly their diameter, although that is unclear to me). The actual configuration of the gears is the same (Lepelletier) so the control of those gears would be the same as well.

    The ratios of the gears being the same is significant because the 6HP21 programming expects a certain change in the delta between the input and output shaft speed when a gear is changed. The fact the 6HP28 uses the same ratios as the 6HP21 means the 6HP21 would expect the same speed change as the 6HP28 transmission would give it, potentially meaning the mechtronics could be directly swapped from a 21 to a 28. If there are physical differences in the aluminum halfs of the valve body, there is still the potential for the TCU itself to be directly swapped over from 21 mechatronics assembly to a 28 assembly.

  24. #24
    Join Date
    Jul 2012
    Posts
    467
    Rep Points
    337.4
    Mentioned
    4 Post(s)
    Rep Power
    4



    Yes Reputation No
    Click here to enlarge Originally Posted by ajm8127 Click here to enlarge
    6HP21_DataSheet.pdf
    6HP28_DataSheet.pdf


    I wanted to add these here. What I notice is how similar the dimensions are, and the gear ratios are the same. I kind of think you could just switch the mechatronic from the 6HP21 directly to the 6HP28, provided you were able to mount the 6HP28 to the rear of the engine. Documentation from Sonnax indicates the mechtronics are the same across all second generation ZF six speed automatics. This makes sense as the primary difference is the number of clutches (and possibly their diameter, although that is unclear to me). The actual configuration of the gears is the same (Lepelletier) so the control of those gears would be the same as well.

    The ratios of the gears being the same is significant because the 6HP21 programming expects a certain change in the delta between the input and output shaft speed when a gear is changed. The fact the 6HP28 uses the same ratios as the 6HP21 means the 6HP21 would expect the same speed change as the 6HP28 transmission would give it, potentially meaning the mechtronics could be directly swapped from a 21 to a 28. If there are physical differences in the aluminum halfs of the valve body, there is still the potential for the TCU itself to be directly swapped over from 21 mechatronics assembly to a 28 assembly.
    Thanx very informative, i think there are many versions for the 6hp28 which one should i pick, which one is the highest torque rated?
    What about 6hp32 and 6hp34 i think they can handle more torque.

    Can u try this at your shop?!Click here to enlarge

  25. #25
    Join Date
    Sep 2012
    Location
    Harrisburg
    Posts
    1,281
    Rep Points
    1,527.3
    Mentioned
    43 Post(s)
    Rep Power
    16


    Yes Reputation No
    Click here to enlarge Originally Posted by 135idct Click here to enlarge
    Thanx very informative, i think there are many versions for the 6hp28 which one should i pick, which one is the highest torque rated?
    What about 6hp32 and 6hp34 i think they can handle more torque.

    Can u try this at your shop?!Click here to enlarge
    I would use a 6HP28 from a 335d. I don't have a shop or the funds or the time to try this.

    I suggest instead of just using the transmission with the highest torque rating you can find, try to figure out what the maximum torque your engine will produce at your planned power goal. Use the appropriate transmission for that torque. Keep in mind swapping the transmissions seems possible but is certainly not proven. You are entering uncharted waters. You may end up with something that just won't work.

Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast

Tags for this Thread

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •