Close

Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 25 of 30
  1. #1
    Join Date
    May 2011
    Posts
    173
    Rep Points
    117.2
    Mentioned
    6 Post(s)
    Rep Power
    2


    1 out of 1 members liked this post. Yes Reputation No

    Thumbs down Cobb AP uninstalls but keeps leaving codes, thoughts?

    I am trying to get a clean uninstall of my Cobb AP but can't seem to do so. I keep getting the 2FA3 and a bunch of DSC codes that can be seen with the BT tool (See below).

    To trouble shoot I updated to the latest firmware, reinstalled a basic Cobb map and then did another clean uninstall and the codes persist. The codes cannot be cleared by the BT tool or the Cobb AP, they will come right back. Click here to enlarge
    After each uninstall I locked the car and let it sit for >10 mins, actually 12 hours on the first uninstall.

    I emailed Cobb and called them, no fix yet but they said they are working on it. There is a thread on the other forum detailing the same problem with the exact same codes, but no fix was described.

    Any thoughts? Need a fix somewhat urgently Click here to enlarge

    AP-BMW-001 v1.6.5.0-5756
    Serial: 76 (INSTALLED)
    Vehicle: BMW N54 (I8A0S)


    MSD80/MSD81 Engine module for N53/N54

    Current Fault Codes
    2FA3:
    2FA3 Coding missing
    Error will not cause a warning light
    Error is currently present
    Test conditions have not been completed

    Freeze Frame Information
    *Event 1 Odometer 147360kms 91565miles Engine speed 0.00 rpm voltage Kl. 87
    12.19 V status motor control 0.00 0-n time since start end 0.00 s*
    *
    *


    Dynamic stability control DSC 87

    Current Fault Codes
    D357:
    DSC: No message (gearbox 186)
    Error will not cause a warning light
    Error is not currently present
    Test conditions have been completed
    Timeout

    5E19:
    DSC: Engine management: interface
    Error will cause a warning light
    Error is not currently present
    Test conditions have been completed

    D356:
    DSC: No message (engine 170)
    Error will cause a warning light
    Error is not currently present
    Test conditions have been completed
    Timeout

    D355:
    DSC: No message (engine 169)
    Error will cause a warning light
    Error is not currently present
    Test conditions have been completed
    Timeout

    D354:
    DSC: No message (engine 168)
    Error will cause a warning light
    Error is not currently present
    Test conditions have been completed

  2. #2
    Join Date
    May 2011
    Posts
    173
    Rep Points
    117.2
    Mentioned
    6 Post(s)
    Rep Power
    2



    Yes Reputation No
    Correction: Can't be removed with the BT it should say.

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Feb 2012
    Posts
    566
    Rep Points
    577.0
    Mentioned
    10 Post(s)
    Rep Power
    6


    Yes Reputation No
    Has anyone had this issue before? (not directed to you OP)
    SOLD --'07 E90 335i, PTF COBB E50, HFS4, ER CP, ETS 7", AA DP, Vishnu Exhaust, DCI, ACT, Nitto Nt555

    '10 E92 335i M, 6MT COBB v3, ER IC, ER CP, VRSF DP, Fuel-it st2
    installing soon: Mfactory LSD, , powerflex subrframe bushings

  4. #4
    Join Date
    May 2011
    Posts
    173
    Rep Points
    117.2
    Mentioned
    6 Post(s)
    Rep Power
    2



    Yes Reputation No
    Click here to enlarge Originally Posted by marv85 Click here to enlarge
    Has anyone had this issue before? (not directed to you OP)
    If you search for "5E19" on the other forum you will find the thread I am talking about with the same codes after uninstall of Cobb. The thread is titled "Uninstalling Cobb AP"

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Nov 2012
    Posts
    9
    Rep Points
    66.2
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Rep Power
    0


    Yes Reputation No
    Have you tried clearing the "shadow fault codes", in addition to the general code clear

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Sep 2012
    Location
    Portland OR
    Posts
    388
    Rep Points
    104.9
    Mentioned
    37 Post(s)
    Rep Power
    0


    Yes Reputation No
    INPA would allow you to remove codes & code history. Worst case you could flash your DME as long as you have a charger on the car.

  7. #7
    Join Date
    Aug 2012
    Location
    Folsom, Ca
    Posts
    182
    Rep Points
    436.1
    Mentioned
    4 Post(s)
    Rep Power
    5


    Yes Reputation No
    Just curious are you trying to sell your car thus need codes gone? What's wrong with having the dealer clear these?

    edit:

    i guess these codes are caused by COBB uninstall? Thus running with COBB there are no codes? Just trying to fully understand your issue.
    Click here to enlarge
    PTF Pro eTune by Dzenno / COBB S1+ E50
    Alpina B3 Flash / ETS FMIC / ER CP / DCI

  8. #8
    Join Date
    May 2011
    Posts
    173
    Rep Points
    117.2
    Mentioned
    6 Post(s)
    Rep Power
    2



    Yes Reputation No
    Click here to enlarge Originally Posted by VNeBLOB42 Click here to enlarge
    Just curious are you trying to sell your car thus need codes gone? What's wrong with having the dealer clear these?

    edit:

    i guess these codes are caused by COBB uninstall? Thus running with COBB there are no codes? Just trying to fully understand your issue.
    Yes, the codes are there only when Cobb is uninstalled. They are gone when Cobb is installed, thus the reason I think it is Cobb related. Not to mention other people have reported the same problem.

    Click here to enlarge Originally Posted by Wedge1967 Click here to enlarge
    INPA would allow you to remove codes & code history. Worst case you could flash your DME as long as you have a charger on the car.
    The car runs fine but just has those stupid codes.

    I think the BT tool has the same power as INPA to erase codes. The code will just come back.

    Click here to enlarge Originally Posted by caliguy562 Click here to enlarge
    Have you tried clearing the "shadow fault codes", in addition to the general code clear
    Yep, didn't change anything.

  9. #9
    Join Date
    Jun 2010
    Posts
    644
    Rep Points
    684.9
    Mentioned
    34 Post(s)
    Rep Power
    7


    Yes Reputation No
    LEMANS BLUE M-TECH E92->PROCEDE REV3::ETS 7" FMIC::RACELAND DPS::WAVETRAC DIFF::DEFIV DIFF LOCKDOWN::DEFIV OCC::DEFIV INTAKE::RB PCV

  10. #10
    Join Date
    Oct 2012
    Location
    AZ
    Posts
    667
    Rep Points
    1,749.3
    Mentioned
    18 Post(s)
    Rep Power
    18


    Yes Reputation No
    I had this issue for a while. Having BMW re-code it helped, but didn't fix. If I uninstall the cobb there is still a coding error, which I *can* erase. This plagued me for a long time.

  11. #11
    Join Date
    May 2011
    Posts
    173
    Rep Points
    117.2
    Mentioned
    6 Post(s)
    Rep Power
    2



    Yes Reputation No

    Ugh.

    Well I saved my stock ROM the second I first installed Cobb, but it looks like it won't help.

  12. #12
    Join Date
    Jun 2010
    Location
    Europe
    Posts
    94
    Rep Points
    89.6
    Mentioned
    2 Post(s)
    Rep Power
    0


    Yes Reputation No
    I had the same issue, but only 2FA3 code, NO dsc codes.
    It was becuase my stock rom had speed limiter off and the AP didn't recognized it and flashed back a stock canned rom. Actually, conecting INPA i could see the rom was from another car, the VIN was different. I said wtf??
    There was nothing I could do, except a dealer software update. Which I did.
    Now INPA recognize my VIN, shows the car runs the latest bmw software (E89x-12-07-508), shows the new ecu type I8A0S (I890S before), but 2FA3 is still there. I can't get rid of it.
    The dealer told me that the software update succeded, but the dme module could not be coded after the update.
    Other than that, the car runs perfect.
    E90 335i 6MT
    JB4 G5
    FBO + Meth

  13. #13
    Join Date
    Sep 2012
    Location
    Portland OR
    Posts
    388
    Rep Points
    104.9
    Mentioned
    37 Post(s)
    Rep Power
    0


    Yes Reputation No
    Well, 2FA3 code is a coding issue from BMW and you'll find that in ALLDATA as a know error that will be fixed on future updates. Just like the code we have in the AT trans module after putting the latest base flash down on the GKE ECU. The DSC codes on the other hand I would be taking it back to the dealership. You can pull up all the assembly numbers in INPA and then using the BMW Coding Tools application cross reference the assembly numbers to see if any one of them is out of date and can be updated. If so, I would update that assembly using WinKFP. If you need help, let me know.

  14. #14
    Join Date
    Jan 2010
    Location
    SoCal
    Posts
    120,249
    Rep Points
    32,700.6
    Mentioned
    2130 Post(s)
    Rep Power
    328


    Yes Reputation No
    Was this resolved?

    @Josh@Cobb
    Chrome Space Bar Issue: http://www.boostaddict.com/showthrea...338#post738338


    Stage 2 or 2.5 E9X M3 S65 V8 supercharger kit for sale
    : http://www.boostaddict.com/showthrea...r-kit-for-sale

  15. #15
    Join Date
    Jun 2012
    Location
    Austin, TX
    Posts
    236
    Rep Points
    757.9
    Mentioned
    92 Post(s)
    Rep Power
    8


    1 out of 1 members liked this post. Yes Reputation No
    Not sure. I know he a call into our tech support. The DSC codes were definitely weird to me as we don't flash that module. I'm not sure if the module is failing or is having issues with the reset command at the end of programming. As others have stated, I would recommend uninstalling and hitting the dealership if under warranty. If not, I personally wouldn't worry about shadow codes due to what it will cost in parts. I don't believe this is a AP install/uninstall issue for the reasons previously stated.

    @stangorang I know the 2FA3 is present on some/most cars, but is not an issue. Shoot me a PM or give our techs a call back if you haven't found a solution. It's tough to diagnose this stuff without the car, but I'll do what I can.
    Josh Dankel
    ECU Engineer
    866.922.3059
    Click here to enlarge
    web | forum | blog | facebook | twitter | youtube

  16. #16
    Join Date
    Mar 2013
    Location
    England
    Posts
    523
    Rep Points
    582.2
    Mentioned
    4 Post(s)
    Rep Power
    6


    Yes Reputation No
    Click here to enlarge Originally Posted by Josh@Cobb Click here to enlarge

    @stangorang I know the 2FA3 is present on some/most cars, but is not an issue. Shoot me a PM or give our techs a call back if you haven't found a solution. It's tough to diagnose this stuff without the car, but I'll do what I can.
    That's one of the reasons I like this forum.
    Click here to enlarge
    335i ~ JB4 ~ BMS ~ DCI ~ Active Autowerks CP & BOV ~ Borla Catback Exhaust

  17. #17
    Join Date
    Nov 2011
    Location
    Florida
    Posts
    905
    Rep Points
    795.7
    Mentioned
    113 Post(s)
    Rep Power
    0


    Yes Reputation No
    @stangorang

    Did you have a previously flash tune prior to Cobb, if yes, what was it ?

  18. #18
    Join Date
    May 2011
    Posts
    173
    Rep Points
    117.2
    Mentioned
    6 Post(s)
    Rep Power
    2



    Yes Reputation No
    Click here to enlarge Originally Posted by Josh@Cobb Click here to enlarge
    Not sure. I know he a call into our tech support. The DSC codes were definitely weird to me as we don't flash that module. I'm not sure if the module is failing or is having issues with the reset command at the end of programming. As others have stated, I would recommend uninstalling and hitting the dealership if under warranty. If not, I personally wouldn't worry about shadow codes due to what it will cost in parts. I don't believe this is a AP install/uninstall issue for the reasons previously stated.

    @stangorang I know the 2FA3 is present on some/most cars, but is not an issue. Shoot me a PM or give our techs a call back if you haven't found a solution. It's tough to diagnose this stuff without the car, but I'll do what I can.
    Yeah I got in contact with the Cobb techs. Didn't really come up with a solution.

    Car runs fine and just got back from the dealer without an issue. I am not sure those DSC codes are something to worry about since they are not currently present and simply logged. I have a feeling they are from back in the day with the earlier Cobb revisions. A few of the early maps caused my car to limp after going WOT. I mentioned these codes and code 2D59 back into September 2011 on the other forum. Car is still running so probably nothing to be concerned about.

  19. #19
    Join Date
    May 2011
    Posts
    173
    Rep Points
    117.2
    Mentioned
    6 Post(s)
    Rep Power
    2



    Yes Reputation No
    Click here to enlarge Originally Posted by BuraQ Click here to enlarge
    @stangorang

    Did you have a previously flash tune prior to Cobb, if yes, what was it ?
    Only flash tune has been Cobb

  20. #20
    Join Date
    Jul 2010
    Location
    Burnaby, BritishColumbia, Canada
    Posts
    111
    Rep Points
    41.5
    Mentioned
    1 Post(s)
    Rep Power
    0


    Yes Reputation No
    I have the DSC codes as well,the app when checking for codes does not see the DSC codes but INPA will and some other codes show up with the app after a while and then when cross checking with INPA it shows no codes present.

    When uninstalled or installed the app will not clear the DSC codes so when i uninstall i clear all codes with INPA and no codes return when the car is in stock configuration when checking with the app or with INPA ,therefore this must be an app issue.

  21. #21
    Join Date
    May 2011
    Posts
    173
    Rep Points
    117.2
    Mentioned
    6 Post(s)
    Rep Power
    2



    Yes Reputation No
    Click here to enlarge Originally Posted by harry Click here to enlarge
    I have the DSC codes as well,the app when checking for codes does not see the DSC codes but INPA will and some other codes show up with the app after a while and then when cross checking with INPA it shows no codes present.

    When uninstalled or installed the app will not clear the DSC codes so when i uninstall i clear all codes with INPA and no codes return when the car is in stock configuration when checking with the app or with INPA ,therefore this must be an app issue.

    My DSC codes come back even after being cleared with the BT tool. Not sure if trying with INPA would make a difference but who knows.

    The 2FA3 codes disappears after Cobb is reinstalled.

  22. #22
    Join Date
    Jun 2012
    Location
    Austin, TX
    Posts
    236
    Rep Points
    757.9
    Mentioned
    92 Post(s)
    Rep Power
    8


    2 out of 2 members liked this post. Yes Reputation No
    I'll see if I get an INPA cable for testing. If its something I can fix in code, I'll get it in there... it won't be a quick fix though. Thanks for the info guys, if something lse can clear the codes and keep them gone, I should be able to as well. I want to figure out exactly what kicks them at all.
    Josh Dankel
    ECU Engineer
    866.922.3059
    Click here to enlarge
    web | forum | blog | facebook | twitter | youtube

  23. #23
    Join Date
    Sep 2012
    Location
    Munich/Germany
    Posts
    122
    Rep Points
    137.0
    Mentioned
    8 Post(s)
    Rep Power
    2


    Yes Reputation No
    I also get a bunch of codes when I install or uninstall.
    Most of them are regarding xDrive and DSC, but also some for FRM Module (Autmaticlight sensor and so on)

    But I can delete them all after the install/uninstall process.
    BMW 335i xDrive MT
    COBB Stage2+|Wagner FMIC|CPe-Downpipes|BMW Performance Exhaust

  24. #24
    Join Date
    Jun 2012
    Location
    Austin, TX
    Posts
    236
    Rep Points
    757.9
    Mentioned
    92 Post(s)
    Rep Power
    8


    Yes Reputation No
    Click here to enlarge Originally Posted by lorddrinkalot Click here to enlarge
    I also get a bunch of codes when I install or uninstall.
    Most of them are regarding xDrive and DSC, but also some for FRM Module (Autmaticlight sensor and so on)

    But I can delete them all after the install/uninstall process.
    I can definitely understand some showing up due to the process, but stangorang says his will not go away... which is the weird part to me.
    Josh Dankel
    ECU Engineer
    866.922.3059
    Click here to enlarge
    web | forum | blog | facebook | twitter | youtube

  25. #25
    Join Date
    Jan 2012
    Posts
    179
    Rep Points
    542.0
    Mentioned
    2 Post(s)
    Rep Power
    6


    Yes Reputation No
    Click here to enlarge Originally Posted by lorddrinkalot Click here to enlarge
    I also get a bunch of codes when I install or uninstall.
    Most of them are regarding xDrive and DSC, but also some for FRM Module (Autmaticlight sensor and so on)

    But I can delete them all after the install/uninstall process.
    Same here

Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Tags for this Thread

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •