Close

Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 25 of 44
  1. #1
    Join Date
    Oct 2010
    Location
    Alberta, Canada
    Posts
    294
    Rep Points
    -2,021.5
    Mentioned
    5 Post(s)
    Rep Power
    0


    Reputation: Yes | No

    Top Speed Limiter Removal

    So the goal is to remove the top speed limiter...no tune...no magic...6MT shift lights a bonus but not needed.

    Options:
    Evolve - $800
    ESS - $700
    AA - $500 ($700 with flash loader)
    Shark Injector - $350 (Not feeling good about this option...but dunno)


    So...now what I want is an option to remove my speed limiter...that doesn't contain a tune...for under $300.

    I don't feel comfortable going into the DME with NCS Expert so that's not an option.

    I would love it if Evolve offered just a limiter removal option since my AEM EMS controls the engine and I have no need for the tune.

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Jun 2012
    Location
    NJ
    Posts
    4,198
    Rep Points
    1,800.2
    Mentioned
    102 Post(s)
    Rep Power
    19


    Reputation: Yes | No
    How do you have a stand alone (AEM EMS) & the stock ECU (which would normally be controlling the engine's functions) still enforcing the Top Speed Limiter? Click here to enlarge
    COBB AP ProTune by Bren of ///Bren Tuning
    Akrapovic DP | Helix FMIC | Alpina TCM Flash | Walbro 450LPH Fuel Pump


    "The moment money becomes your motivation, you are immediately not as good as someone who is motivated by passion and internal will." -A. Senna

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Oct 2010
    Location
    Alberta, Canada
    Posts
    294
    Rep Points
    -2,021.5
    Mentioned
    5 Post(s)
    Rep Power
    0



    Reputation: Yes | No
    Click here to enlarge Originally Posted by benzy89 Click here to enlarge
    How do you have a stand alone (AEM EMS) & the stock ECU (which would normally be controlling the engine's functions) still enforcing the Top Speed Limiter? Click here to enlarge
    Piggyback

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Apr 2012
    Posts
    34
    Rep Points
    132.1
    Mentioned
    1 Post(s)
    Rep Power
    2


    1 out of 1 members liked this post. Reputation: Yes | No
    When are you looking to do it? If you're gonna be at this years mfest, I'm pretty sure my buddy can do it for you, since we plan of driving out there. He did the shift lights, raised the top speed limiter, and raised the redline on my car without any problems.
    Alternatively check out the comprehensive dme thread on m3f, plenty of guys are capable of doing that for you. You'd need to buy a $34.- cable, and it can be done using remote desktop, i believe.
    Hope this helps.
    Last edited by brokenm3; 01-30-2013 at 01:16 AM. Reason: grammar

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Oct 2010
    Location
    Alberta, Canada
    Posts
    294
    Rep Points
    -2,021.5
    Mentioned
    5 Post(s)
    Rep Power
    0



    Reputation: Yes | No
    Click here to enlarge Originally Posted by brokenm3 Click here to enlarge
    When are you looking to do it? If you're gonna be at this years mfest, I'm pretty sure my buddy can do it for you, since we plan of driving out there. He did the shift lights, raised the top speed limiter, and raised the redline on my car without any problems.
    Alternatively check out the comprehensive dme thread on m3f, plenty of guys are capable of doing that for you. You'd need to buy a $34.- cable, and it can be done using remote desktop, i believe.
    Hope this helps.
    I've read alot on the DME programming threads but after coding my lighting module successfully I would feel more comfortable getting someone to do this...I'm looking to get this done before the next shift s3ctor airstrip event. I may look into the remote desktop feature at a later date but for now hopefully evolve can help me out...we will see Click here to enlarge

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Jan 2010
    Location
    SoCal
    Posts
    117,234
    Rep Points
    31,323.1
    Mentioned
    2056 Post(s)
    Rep Power
    314


    Reputation: Yes | No
    Click here to enlarge Originally Posted by brokenm3 Click here to enlarge
    ou'd need to buy a $34.- cable, and it can be done using remote desktop, i believe.
    Hope this helps.
    Sounds like the cheapest solution...

  7. #7
    Join Date
    Jun 2010
    Posts
    644
    Rep Points
    684.9
    Mentioned
    34 Post(s)
    Rep Power
    7


    Reputation: Yes | No
    +1 NCS. It's not as bad as you might think.
    LEMANS BLUE M-TECH E92->PROCEDE REV3::ETS 7" FMIC::RACELAND DPS::WAVETRAC DIFF::DEFIV DIFF LOCKDOWN::DEFIV OCC::DEFIV INTAKE::RB PCV

  8. #8
    Join Date
    Oct 2010
    Location
    Alberta, Canada
    Posts
    294
    Rep Points
    -2,021.5
    Mentioned
    5 Post(s)
    Rep Power
    0



    Reputation: Yes | No
    Click here to enlarge Originally Posted by uniter Click here to enlarge
    +1 NCS. It's not as bad as you might think.
    I've used it...was successful with it on my lighting module...however would rather just plug, flash and go rather than fool with NCS.

  9. #9
    Join Date
    Jun 2010
    Posts
    644
    Rep Points
    684.9
    Mentioned
    34 Post(s)
    Rep Power
    7


    Reputation: Yes | No
    Your piggy might be able to do it, aside from getting those guys on the horn and asking them for 'the hookup' your other option is a flash. Then you have your low cost DIY NCS editing option. The last option nobody is insane enough to resort to is installing some custom made bull$#@! that jacks the speed signal or CAN speed signal or both.

    I think your best bet is a remote coding session Click here to enlarge

    I've heard of http://www.bpmsport.com/ doing this commercially.
    LEMANS BLUE M-TECH E92->PROCEDE REV3::ETS 7" FMIC::RACELAND DPS::WAVETRAC DIFF::DEFIV DIFF LOCKDOWN::DEFIV OCC::DEFIV INTAKE::RB PCV

  10. #10
    Join Date
    Oct 2010
    Location
    Alberta, Canada
    Posts
    294
    Rep Points
    -2,021.5
    Mentioned
    5 Post(s)
    Rep Power
    0



    Reputation: Yes | No
    Click here to enlarge Originally Posted by uniter Click here to enlarge
    Your piggy might be able to do it, aside from getting those guys on the horn and asking them for 'the hookup' your other option is a flash. Then you have your low cost DIY NCS editing option. The last option nobody is insane enough to resort to is installing some custom made bull$#@! that jacks the speed signal or CAN speed signal or both.

    I think your best bet is a remote coding session Click here to enlarge

    I've heard of http://www.bpmsport.com/ doing this commercially.
    Currently talking with Evolve to see if they'll do this. I may also want to adjust throttle opening % on wot as well so we will see if they can accommodate.

  11. #11
    Join Date
    Jun 2012
    Location
    NJ
    Posts
    4,198
    Rep Points
    1,800.2
    Mentioned
    102 Post(s)
    Rep Power
    19


    Reputation: Yes | No
    Click here to enlarge Originally Posted by Commanderwiggin Click here to enlarge
    Currently talking with Evolve to see if they'll do this. I may also want to adjust throttle opening % on wot as well so we will see if they can accommodate.
    Are you running the AEM as a turbo piggyback or just as an N/A tune... If your car is N/A (or even supercharged), I'd just have Evolve do it all over
    COBB AP ProTune by Bren of ///Bren Tuning
    Akrapovic DP | Helix FMIC | Alpina TCM Flash | Walbro 450LPH Fuel Pump


    "The moment money becomes your motivation, you are immediately not as good as someone who is motivated by passion and internal will." -A. Senna

  12. #12
    Join Date
    Oct 2010
    Location
    Alberta, Canada
    Posts
    294
    Rep Points
    -2,021.5
    Mentioned
    5 Post(s)
    Rep Power
    0



    Reputation: Yes | No
    Click here to enlarge Originally Posted by benzy89 Click here to enlarge
    Are you running the AEM as a turbo piggyback or just as an N/A tune... If your car is N/A (or even supercharged), I'd just have Evolve do it all over
    I have an HPF 2.75 so yes it's Turbo Click here to enlarge

  13. #13
    Join Date
    Dec 2012
    Posts
    49
    Rep Points
    117.9
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Rep Power
    2


    Reputation: Yes | No
    like a bo$$
    s54door

    Click here to enlarge

  14. #14
    Join Date
    Jun 2012
    Location
    NJ
    Posts
    4,198
    Rep Points
    1,800.2
    Mentioned
    102 Post(s)
    Rep Power
    19


    Reputation: Yes | No
    Click here to enlarge Originally Posted by Commanderwiggin Click here to enlarge
    I have an HPF 2.75 so yes it's Turbo Click here to enlarge
    Attachment 24793

    Ever consider to the ProEFI standalone since HPF is now using that on their S54 kits instead of the AEM EMS?
    COBB AP ProTune by Bren of ///Bren Tuning
    Akrapovic DP | Helix FMIC | Alpina TCM Flash | Walbro 450LPH Fuel Pump


    "The moment money becomes your motivation, you are immediately not as good as someone who is motivated by passion and internal will." -A. Senna

  15. #15
    Join Date
    Oct 2010
    Location
    Alberta, Canada
    Posts
    294
    Rep Points
    -2,021.5
    Mentioned
    5 Post(s)
    Rep Power
    0



    Reputation: Yes | No
    Click here to enlarge Originally Posted by benzy89 Click here to enlarge

    Ever consider to the ProEFI standalone since HPF is now using that on their S54 kits instead of the AEM EMS?
    Yes I've considered it and I remain to be impressed and we can leave that topic out of this thread.

  16. #16
    Join Date
    Sep 2012
    Posts
    21
    Rep Points
    88.1
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Rep Power
    0


    Reputation: Yes | No
    We can disable just the limiter and add shift lights with no tuning.

    $299 if you ship it in.

  17. #17
    Join Date
    Jan 2012
    Posts
    974
    Rep Points
    2,187.4
    Mentioned
    69 Post(s)
    Rep Power
    22


    Reputation: Yes | No
    Click here to enlarge Originally Posted by Zak@activeautowerke Click here to enlarge
    We can disable just the limiter and add shift lights with no tuning.

    $299 if you ship it in.
    Click here to enlarge

  18. #18
    Join Date
    Apr 2010
    Location
    Earth
    Posts
    5,159
    Rep Points
    526.1
    Mentioned
    4 Post(s)
    Rep Power
    6


    Reputation: Yes | No
    AA coming thru.
    Click here to enlargeClick here to enlarge

  19. #19
    Join Date
    Nov 2012
    Location
    Naples, Fl
    Posts
    755
    Rep Points
    861.8
    Mentioned
    18 Post(s)
    Rep Power
    9


    Reputation: Yes | No
    AA FTW!
    Click here to enlarge

  20. #20
    Join Date
    Oct 2010
    Location
    Alberta, Canada
    Posts
    294
    Rep Points
    -2,021.5
    Mentioned
    5 Post(s)
    Rep Power
    0



    Reputation: Yes | No
    Great! I'll be in contact soon Click here to enlarge

  21. #21
    Join Date
    May 2010
    Posts
    740
    Rep Points
    453.1
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Rep Power
    5


    Reputation: Yes | No
    Click here to enlarge Originally Posted by Zak@activeautowerke Click here to enlarge
    We can disable just the limiter and add shift lights with no tuning.

    $299 if you ship it in.
    Glad I read this thread.. my car is back Click here to enlarge

  22. #22
    Join Date
    Jan 2010
    Location
    SoCal
    Posts
    117,234
    Rep Points
    31,323.1
    Mentioned
    2056 Post(s)
    Rep Power
    314


    Reputation: Yes | No
    Click here to enlarge Originally Posted by ccsykes Click here to enlarge
    my car is back Click here to enlarge
    From?

  23. #23
    Join Date
    Oct 2010
    Location
    Alberta, Canada
    Posts
    294
    Rep Points
    -2,021.5
    Mentioned
    5 Post(s)
    Rep Power
    0



    1 out of 1 members liked this post. Reputation: Yes | No
    Click here to enlarge Originally Posted by Sticky Click here to enlarge
    From?
    From SAAD/ProEFI ... I hope it was in better shape than the other cars I've seen come out of there. I know how clean it was going in. Either way I hope you are happy with your setup now Chad.

  24. #24
    Join Date
    Jan 2010
    Location
    SoCal
    Posts
    117,234
    Rep Points
    31,323.1
    Mentioned
    2056 Post(s)
    Rep Power
    314


    Reputation: Yes | No
    Click here to enlarge Originally Posted by Commanderwiggin Click here to enlarge
    I hope it was in better shape than the other cars I've seen come out of there.
    Expound on this?

  25. #25
    Join Date
    Jun 2012
    Location
    NJ
    Posts
    4,198
    Rep Points
    1,800.2
    Mentioned
    102 Post(s)
    Rep Power
    19


    Reputation: Yes | No
    +1, details
    COBB AP ProTune by Bren of ///Bren Tuning
    Akrapovic DP | Helix FMIC | Alpina TCM Flash | Walbro 450LPH Fuel Pump


    "The moment money becomes your motivation, you are immediately not as good as someone who is motivated by passion and internal will." -A. Senna

Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Tags for this Thread

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •