Close

Results 1 to 13 of 13

Thread: DMTL pump?

  1. #1
    Join Date
    Apr 2010
    Location
    NYC
    Posts
    3,089
    Rep Points
    999.1
    Mentioned
    104 Post(s)
    Rep Power
    10


    Yes Reputation No

    DMTL pump?

    My car's having a chronic issue with a code constantly popping up regarding this failure, code below

    2A17
    2A17 DMTL diagnosis module tank leakage, system failure

    Is the DMTL pump #2 at the below link? Thanks in advance.

    http://www.realoem.com/bmw/showparts...19&hg=16&fg=10

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Dec 2011
    Location
    Roanoke VA
    Posts
    1,632
    Rep Points
    2,248.3
    Mentioned
    54 Post(s)
    Rep Power
    23


    3 out of 3 members liked this post. Yes Reputation No
    My car was throwing codes for "DMTL fault Switching voltage High" or something like that so i ordered a new DMTL pump. Then the codes stopped popping up before i installed the new DMTL pump and has been fine for over 6 months.

    If you want i can give you the new DMTL pump i ordered, you just have to pay shipping.
    Click here to enlarge
    MOTIV750, MOTIV P-1000 PI, MOTIV/FUEL-IT! low pressure fuel system, AEM EMS/COBB AP, Aquamist HFS-3, ETS FMIC, SPEC stage 3+ clutch/SS flywheel, BC Racing coilovers and VMR wheels wrapped in Hankook RS3s.

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Jan 2010
    Location
    SoCal
    Posts
    120,327
    Rep Points
    32,737.4
    Mentioned
    2133 Post(s)
    Rep Power
    328


    Yes Reputation No
    What is the DTML pump?

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Dec 2011
    Location
    Roanoke VA
    Posts
    1,632
    Rep Points
    2,248.3
    Mentioned
    54 Post(s)
    Rep Power
    23


    1 out of 1 members liked this post. Yes Reputation No
    Click here to enlarge Originally Posted by Sticky Click here to enlarge
    What is the DTML pump?
    Diagnostic Module Tank Leakage. It's part of the Evap emissions system. It pressurises the fuel tank to check for leaks.
    Click here to enlarge
    MOTIV750, MOTIV P-1000 PI, MOTIV/FUEL-IT! low pressure fuel system, AEM EMS/COBB AP, Aquamist HFS-3, ETS FMIC, SPEC stage 3+ clutch/SS flywheel, BC Racing coilovers and VMR wheels wrapped in Hankook RS3s.

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Jan 2010
    Location
    SoCal
    Posts
    120,327
    Rep Points
    32,737.4
    Mentioned
    2133 Post(s)
    Rep Power
    328


    Yes Reputation No
    Click here to enlarge Originally Posted by rader1 Click here to enlarge
    Diagnostic Module Tank Leakage. It's part of the Evap emissions system. It pressurises the fuel tank to check for leaks.
    I wish I could say this is not the first I have heard of it.

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Dec 2011
    Location
    Roanoke VA
    Posts
    1,632
    Rep Points
    2,248.3
    Mentioned
    54 Post(s)
    Rep Power
    23


    Yes Reputation No
    Click here to enlarge Originally Posted by Sticky Click here to enlarge
    I wish I could say this is not the first I have heard of it.
    Yeah, it's a fairly common problem. Fortunately, it doesn't mechanically affect the car in any way(that I know of.)
    Click here to enlarge
    MOTIV750, MOTIV P-1000 PI, MOTIV/FUEL-IT! low pressure fuel system, AEM EMS/COBB AP, Aquamist HFS-3, ETS FMIC, SPEC stage 3+ clutch/SS flywheel, BC Racing coilovers and VMR wheels wrapped in Hankook RS3s.

  7. #7
    Join Date
    May 2012
    Location
    Jacksonville, FL
    Posts
    2,971
    Rep Points
    2,932.4
    Mentioned
    78 Post(s)
    Rep Power
    30


    1 out of 1 members liked this post. Yes Reputation No
    Coworker had this issue after overfilling his gas tank, said the pump didn't stop on its own. Replaced the module and hasn't had an issue since.
    2011 E90 M3 \ Melbourne Rot Metallic

    Click here to enlarge

  8. #8
    Join Date
    Aug 2010
    Location
    moco, md
    Posts
    1,216
    Rep Points
    1,522.9
    Mentioned
    20 Post(s)
    Rep Power
    16


    Yes Reputation No
    I have overfilled my gas tank several times, and after the last time i was driving home, my gas needle started moving between 1/2 a tank and full tank on its own....freaked me out lol. I got home, turned the car off, and heard a weird "failing mechanical" type of noise...left it alone and drove the car a couple hours later, and it acted normal...havent had any codes or problems since. i dont know if this is possibly related to the dtml pump/system?
    Last edited by Stucks; 12-24-2012 at 04:00 AM.

  9. #9
    Join Date
    Jan 2010
    Location
    SoCal
    Posts
    120,327
    Rep Points
    32,737.4
    Mentioned
    2133 Post(s)
    Rep Power
    328


    Yes Reputation No
    Click here to enlarge Originally Posted by Stucks Click here to enlarge
    I have overfilled my gas tank several times, and after the last time i was driving home, my gas needle started moving between 1/2 a tank and full tank on its own....freaked me out lol. I got home, turned the car off, and heard a weird "failing mechanical" type of noise...left it alone and drove the car a couple hours later, and it acted normal...havent had any codes or problems since. i dont know if this is possibly related to the dtml pump/system?
    That's freaking weird.

  10. #10
    Join Date
    Apr 2010
    Location
    NYC
    Posts
    3,089
    Rep Points
    999.1
    Mentioned
    104 Post(s)
    Rep Power
    10



    Yes Reputation No
    flashed to the "BMS flash" and installed the JB4, this code hasn't come back nor have the mixture codes. The JB4 auto-code-clearing function is off, so I'm sure the JB4 isn't clearing them.

  11. #11
    Join Date
    Mar 2010
    Posts
    962
    Rep Points
    1,141.3
    Mentioned
    45 Post(s)
    Rep Power
    12


    Yes Reputation No
    This code always pops up on me and I know it..Whenever I fuel it constantly stops like its already full..I have to press the fuel trigger button on the gas nozzle half way or it wont work...Very weird. Each time it happens this code pops up. I clear the code and on the next fill up it wont happen for awhile...Weird

  12. #12
    Join Date
    Oct 2011
    Posts
    1,059
    Rep Points
    1,149.7
    Mentioned
    39 Post(s)
    Rep Power
    12


    Yes Reputation No
    If you have INPA, there is a DMTL test sequence which should illustrate if you are within limits.

  13. #13
    Join Date
    Nov 2011
    Posts
    453
    Rep Points
    662.4
    Mentioned
    17 Post(s)
    Rep Power
    7


    Yes Reputation No
    Click here to enlarge Originally Posted by rader1 Click here to enlarge
    My car was throwing codes for "DMTL fault Switching voltage High" or something like that so i ordered a new DMTL pump. Then the codes stopped popping up before i installed the new DMTL pump and has been fine for over 6 months.

    If you want i can give you the new DMTL pump i ordered, you just have to pay shipping.
    The exact same thing happened to me except I didn't order it. I had done my homework and was ready to order it and the code disappeared and never came back.
    Click here to enlarge
    PTF Tuned Cobb Stage 2+ | H&R / Koni Sport | BBS LM

Tags for this Thread

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •