Close

Results 1 to 14 of 14

Thread: Ecu tuning

  1. #1
    Join Date
    Sep 2012
    Location
    LÚvis, Qc, Canada
    Posts
    8
    Rep Points
    8.6
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Rep Power
    0


    2 out of 2 members liked this post. Reputation: Yes | No

    Ecu tuning

    Sorry if the post is not in the right section, i'm from Qc, Canada and I'm not as good as all you guys/girls in english...So Hi I have a 328I 1999 e46 and I already know that their is many many thread about this but i'm don't understand and I don't find what I am searching for(even with two full night of intensive search)
    Here's my ''problem'':

    I would like to turbo my 2.8, and I know that I need gasket and arp studs, after that I would like to build-up a littile setup(i'm gonna see later what a REALLY want but I have a good idea by-now) by the way I am going to school in mechanic and I already have a good base on it, but when it comes to ECU tuning....i'm lost.... I'm running a obd2 ecu and that's pretty all I know... I found info about kwp 2000plus, MS2, AEM EMS, but I don't know where I need to go with all that...every kind of help would be really appreciated... btw I would like to keep all the luxury/comfort things I have, such as mem leather seats, control on the steering, etc. Thank you

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Jan 2010
    Location
    SoCal
    Posts
    117,751
    Rep Points
    31,550.6
    Mentioned
    2064 Post(s)
    Rep Power
    316


    Reputation: Yes | No
    You should definitely have an experienced tuner tune it for you.

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Sep 2012
    Location
    LÚvis, Qc, Canada
    Posts
    8
    Rep Points
    8.6
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Rep Power
    0



    Reputation: Yes | No
    Tune it with what....we don't have much Bimmer garage, tuner here.... Should I go MS2 and have someone helping me to tune it..... but with Ms2 can I keep my seats, steering and all my luxury stuff?... finally will Ms2 only replace my engine control module or it will delete allll my computers?

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Feb 2011
    Posts
    967
    Rep Points
    1,459.5
    Mentioned
    19 Post(s)
    Rep Power
    15


    Reputation: Yes | No
    By running a stand alone, you will lose a bit of the inherent features of the car. With the E46 328i, I am not exactly sure what that includes, but I am pretty sure you will lose at least DSC and Cruise Control, and you more than likely have an annoying CEL on your dash.

    You should check out Technique Tuning at http://www.techniquetuning.com. They apparently build a very nice kits for the E46 330i. With NickG's experience, I don't see why he can't tune the 328i. I just don't recall if the DMEs are different.

    Another shop who has built M50-based turbo kits is The Race Market (TRM) at http://www.racersmarket.net. Although their kits are E36 based, they might be able to help you with tuning.

    Finally, have you thought about going with a supercharger?

    Active Autowerke Stage 1 Supercharger: http://store.activeautowerke.com/act...vel-1-p34.aspx
    Active Autowerke Stage 2 Supercharger: http://store.activeautowerke.com/act...plete-p39.aspx
    ESS Tuning Supercharger Kits: http://www.esstuning.com/categories/...52dSeries/328/

    Best of luck.
    2002 E46 M3 6MT | Jet Black . Black Nappa | My GermanBoost Build Thread
    2009 E90 M3 DCT | Melbourne Red . Speed Cloth

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Sep 2012
    Location
    LÚvis, Qc, Canada
    Posts
    8
    Rep Points
    8.6
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Rep Power
    0



    Reputation: Yes | No
    Thank you for the answer, yes i have thought about a SC but i rould really like to have a turbo..... I know it requires time, patience and a lot of money...but i'm sure i can... So does anybody wanna tell me what would be the option if i don't want a standalone...like a piggyback or a ecu reburn(not sure how you say it).....thank you flipm3 for you answers... Click here to enlarge

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Nov 2010
    Location
    le Paris
    Posts
    6,653
    Rep Points
    -228.0
    Mentioned
    48 Post(s)
    Rep Power
    0


    Reputation: Yes | No
    Bonjour Click here to enlarge

    Technique tuning a un kit turbo pour votre voiture si je ne me trompe pas.
    http://techniquetuning.com/index.html

    @NickG

  7. #7
    Join Date
    Sep 2012
    Location
    LÚvis, Qc, Canada
    Posts
    8
    Rep Points
    8.6
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Rep Power
    0



    Reputation: Yes | No
    I would really like to build my own setup...i'm just blocked by the way to tune it...with what can i do it.... kwp2000?

  8. #8
    Join Date
    Sep 2012
    Location
    LÚvis, Qc, Canada
    Posts
    8
    Rep Points
    8.6
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Rep Power
    0



    Reputation: Yes | No
    I just found out I could use a megasquirt in parallel with me stock ecu...to control only few things I would like to control and keep my feautures..

  9. #9
    Join Date
    Sep 2012
    Posts
    21
    Rep Points
    88.1
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Rep Power
    0


    2 out of 2 members liked this post. Reputation: Yes | No
    I tuned a 328i with a GT3071r on it awhile back.

    Click here to enlarge

  10. #10
    Join Date
    Jan 2010
    Location
    SoCal
    Posts
    117,751
    Rep Points
    31,550.6
    Mentioned
    2064 Post(s)
    Rep Power
    316


    Reputation: Yes | No
    Click here to enlarge Originally Posted by Zak@activeautowerke Click here to enlarge
    I tuned a 328i with a GT3071r on it awhile back.

    Click here to enlarge
    Zak you are now set as a vendor account. Welcome.

  11. #11
    Join Date
    Sep 2012
    Location
    LÚvis, Qc, Canada
    Posts
    8
    Rep Points
    8.6
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Rep Power
    0



    1 out of 1 members liked this post. Reputation: Yes | No
    I'm bringing this post back-up... I did more research and found out that the best solution would be MS3 and tune-it with some friends that already run MS...

  12. #12
    Join Date
    Jan 2010
    Location
    SoCal
    Posts
    117,751
    Rep Points
    31,550.6
    Mentioned
    2064 Post(s)
    Rep Power
    316


    Reputation: Yes | No
    Click here to enlarge Originally Posted by jippy Click here to enlarge
    I'm bringing this post back-up... I did more research and found out that the best solution would be MS3 and tune-it with some friends that already run MS...
    Sounds cost-effective to me...

  13. #13
    Join Date
    Sep 2012
    Location
    LÚvis, Qc, Canada
    Posts
    8
    Rep Points
    8.6
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Rep Power
    0



    Reputation: Yes | No
    What does that mean?

  14. #14
    Join Date
    Jan 2010
    Location
    SoCal
    Posts
    117,751
    Rep Points
    31,550.6
    Mentioned
    2064 Post(s)
    Rep Power
    316


    Reputation: Yes | No
    Click here to enlarge Originally Posted by jippy Click here to enlarge
    What does that mean?
    Means it's a good value in ECU's for the platform.

Tags for this Thread

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •