Close

Results 1 to 18 of 18
  1. #1
    Join Date
    Feb 2010
    Posts
    295
    Rep Points
    613.0
    Mentioned
    12 Post(s)
    Rep Power
    7


    2 out of 2 members liked this post. Reputation: Yes | No

    Thumbs up vHPF M3 Dyno Graphs - 1010rwhp, 1013rwhp, 1014rwhp and more from 10/21/2011

    Here are some dyno graphs from the HPF M3 back on 10/21/2011 with the Precision 8285. The results would have been a bit higher had we run standard rear tires. The rear tires we were running are the big tall heavy 345s on 13" wide wheels. These runs were at 30psi. We were definitely running into a flow restriction in the Steed Speed turbo manifold after 1,000rwhp and we can't run the HPF cast version because it can't be installed in two sections which make it possible to fit the 8285 without removing the engine.

    We're now moving this motor into the drag car and it will have an HPF tubular manifold, so that restriction will be eliminated very soon. Click here to enlarge As you can see from the dyno graph, smoothing was at zero, all 12 runs were nearly identical showing very consistent results. All runs were done nearly back to back with minor variations in boost and timing.

    Click here to enlarge
    STAGE 1 M3 TURBO KIT SALE - $13,500!!!!
    Click here to enlarge Click here to enlarge Click here to enlarge
    Click here to enlarge

    HorsepowerFreaks.com
    12905 NE Airport Way
    Portland, OR 97230
    (503) 256-5600
    BMW Performance Parts
    Product questions or to purchase - sales@horsepowerfreaks.com

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Feb 2010
    Location
    Corpus Christi, Texas, United States
    Posts
    2,997
    Rep Points
    1,193.8
    Mentioned
    6 Post(s)
    Rep Power
    12


    Reputation: Yes | No
    Does your DynoJet have a Load or Power Absorption Unit?

    Great numbers! Just curious if that spool time is loaded or with an "unloaded" DynoJet. 4th gear?

    Any reason y'all aren't going over 30psi yet?

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Feb 2010
    Posts
    295
    Rep Points
    613.0
    Mentioned
    12 Post(s)
    Rep Power
    7



    Reputation: Yes | No
    Nope, no loading. yes on 4th gear. We turned it up past 30psi but it didn't make any more power due to the back pressure in the turbo manifold.

    Chris.
    STAGE 1 M3 TURBO KIT SALE - $13,500!!!!
    Click here to enlarge Click here to enlarge Click here to enlarge
    Click here to enlarge

    HorsepowerFreaks.com
    12905 NE Airport Way
    Portland, OR 97230
    (503) 256-5600
    BMW Performance Parts
    Product questions or to purchase - sales@horsepowerfreaks.com

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Feb 2010
    Location
    Corpus Christi, Texas, United States
    Posts
    2,997
    Rep Points
    1,193.8
    Mentioned
    6 Post(s)
    Rep Power
    12


    Reputation: Yes | No
    Thanks for the info! Awesome to see it past the four digit barrier. Maybe the load unit kit for the DynoJets would show off a more realistic spool time? Could be an investment to think about.

    Can't wait to see results with the new exhaust Mani!

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Jan 2010
    Location
    SoCal
    Posts
    110,163
    Rep Points
    27,524.9
    Mentioned
    1862 Post(s)
    Rep Power
    276


    Reputation: Yes | No
    Click here to enlarge Originally Posted by HPF Chris Click here to enlarge
    Nope, no loading. yes on 4th gear. We turned it up past 30psi but it didn't make any more power due to the back pressure in the turbo manifold.

    Chris.
    How are you going to resolve this?

    Additionally, are these the highest dynos you have posted?

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Jan 2010
    Location
    SoCal
    Posts
    110,163
    Rep Points
    27,524.9
    Mentioned
    1862 Post(s)
    Rep Power
    276


    Reputation: Yes | No
    Why does one of the torque figures spike to 1800?

  7. #7
    Join Date
    Feb 2010
    Location
    Corpus Christi, Texas, United States
    Posts
    2,997
    Rep Points
    1,193.8
    Mentioned
    6 Post(s)
    Rep Power
    12


    1 out of 1 members liked this post. Reputation: Yes | No
    Click here to enlarge Originally Posted by Sticky Click here to enlarge
    Why does one of the torque figures spike to 1800?
    When RPM signal is off, (using inductive pickup?) you change a very important variable of the equation.

    With an inductive pickup for RPM signal you usually grab the clamp around the signal wire to the number 1 coil/spark plug. If you can grab RPM through OBD2 it works well. Calculating by roll speed can be thrown off by gear changes.

  8. #8
    Join Date
    Feb 2010
    Posts
    295
    Rep Points
    613.0
    Mentioned
    12 Post(s)
    Rep Power
    7



    Reputation: Yes | No
    Click here to enlarge Originally Posted by SlicktopTTZ Click here to enlarge
    When RPM signal is off, (using inductive pickup?) you change a very important variable of the equation.

    With an inductive pickup for RPM signal you usually grab the clamp around the signal wire to the number 1 coil/spark plug. If you can grab RPM through OBD2 it works well. Calculating by roll speed can be thrown off by gear changes.
    Since it's an inertia dyno, the car is accelerating a known mass therefore horsepower is measured. The torque value is calculated and requires RPM for the calculation.
    STAGE 1 M3 TURBO KIT SALE - $13,500!!!!
    Click here to enlarge Click here to enlarge Click here to enlarge
    Click here to enlarge

    HorsepowerFreaks.com
    12905 NE Airport Way
    Portland, OR 97230
    (503) 256-5600
    BMW Performance Parts
    Product questions or to purchase - sales@horsepowerfreaks.com

  9. #9
    Join Date
    Feb 2010
    Location
    Corpus Christi, Texas, United States
    Posts
    2,997
    Rep Points
    1,193.8
    Mentioned
    6 Post(s)
    Rep Power
    12


    Reputation: Yes | No
    Click here to enlarge Originally Posted by HPF Chris Click here to enlarge
    Since it's an inertia dyno, the car is accelerating a known mass therefore horsepower is measured. The torque value is calculated and requires RPM for the calculation.
    Works the same way for load based dynes too. We can go by inductive pickup, optical pickup, roll speed or pulled straight off the engine computer from the OBD2 port. Click here to enlarge

    I mentioned the inductive pickup because I've seen that happen before at high rpm when there is an increased number of signals. Do you guys have the capability to pickup RPM from OBD2? It works flawless as long as the refresh rate of the software is good!

    I think if you guys got a load unit it would really show how it spools on the street. Maybe even gain a few psi on the dyno at the same waste-gate setting. Do you happen to have any "on road" logs of the RPM and boost?

  10. #10
    Join Date
    Mar 2010
    Location
    Kingdom of Bahrain
    Posts
    2,658
    Rep Points
    2,079.2
    Mentioned
    27 Post(s)
    Rep Power
    21


    Reputation: Yes | No
    Nice Chris Click here to enlarge
    Click here to enlarge



    EURO 04 M3 Current Mods:GC DAs, Eibach Sways, PF RTAB's, RE RCAs, INTRAVEE II, Black Roundels, ///MFEST Badges, Depo's, Screen protector for NAV display, VCSL Bumper + Race Lip & CF Trunk & CF Rear Diffusor, DIETZ TV in Motion, SS= V1 Headers + catless pipes + X-Pipe + SS Sport Exhaust, Z8 Starter Button, Lamin-X, OEM CSL interior, OEM CSL Steering, OEM CSL Intake, OEM CSL Roof, MSS54HP + OEM CSL Tune, BBS CH's, LIGHTWERKZ, 355mm ST40 BBK, BW Oil Cooler....

  11. #11
    Join Date
    Jan 2010
    Location
    SoCal
    Posts
    110,163
    Rep Points
    27,524.9
    Mentioned
    1862 Post(s)
    Rep Power
    276


    Reputation: Yes | No
    If I'm not mistaken, these are the highest figures from HPF? Last we saw from a Stage IV was in the 900's: http://www.bimmerboost.com/content.p...925-whp&page=2

  12. #12
    Join Date
    Jan 2012
    Location
    Tri-State
    Posts
    592
    Rep Points
    47.3
    Mentioned
    7 Post(s)
    Rep Power
    0


    Reputation: Yes | No
    1800 ft lb's of torque in the second dyno pull, impressive.

  13. #13
    Join Date
    Jan 2010
    Location
    SoCal
    Posts
    110,163
    Rep Points
    27,524.9
    Mentioned
    1862 Post(s)
    Rep Power
    276


    Reputation: Yes | No
    Click here to enlarge Originally Posted by bmwtek Click here to enlarge
    1800 ft lb's of torque in the second dyno pull, impressive.
    Yes but that number isn't accurate.

  14. #14
    Join Date
    May 2010
    Location
    canada
    Posts
    519
    Rep Points
    122.6
    Mentioned
    2 Post(s)
    Rep Power
    2


    Reputation: Yes | No
    soooo the SAE numbers probably don't crack the 1000whp mark.

  15. #15
    Join Date
    Jan 2010
    Location
    SoCal
    Posts
    110,163
    Rep Points
    27,524.9
    Mentioned
    1862 Post(s)
    Rep Power
    276


    Reputation: Yes | No
    Click here to enlarge Originally Posted by black bnr32 Click here to enlarge
    soooo the SAE numbers probably don't crack the 1000whp mark.
    Only one way to find out...

  16. #16
    Join Date
    May 2010
    Posts
    740
    Rep Points
    453.1
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Rep Power
    5


    Reputation: Yes | No
    Click here to enlarge Originally Posted by Sticky Click here to enlarge
    Only one way to find out...
    Look at the power band.. it's only good for a dyno queen.

  17. #17
    Join Date
    Jan 2010
    Location
    SoCal
    Posts
    110,163
    Rep Points
    27,524.9
    Mentioned
    1862 Post(s)
    Rep Power
    276


    Reputation: Yes | No
    Click here to enlarge Originally Posted by ccsykes Click here to enlarge
    Look at the power band.. it's only good for a dyno queen.
    Supras disagree.

  18. #18
    Join Date
    May 2010
    Location
    canada
    Posts
    519
    Rep Points
    122.6
    Mentioned
    2 Post(s)
    Rep Power
    2


    Reputation: Yes | No
    Click here to enlarge Originally Posted by black bnr32 Click here to enlarge
    soooo the SAE numbers probably don't crack the 1000whp mark.
    Click here to enlarge Originally Posted by Sticky Click here to enlarge
    Only one way to find out...
    yeah, a guy can look at all other hpf graphs and see their uncorrected numbers are significantly higher than SAE. thus, no 1000whp.

Tags for this Thread

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •