Close

Rep Points
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)

Yes Reputation No

n00b reviews JB4

Hi guys-I've been reading and studying the forums to learn as much as I can about tunes and mods. I'm an old fa*t and been fooling around with cars for years, even built a couple old school rods from the ground up. Got my first BMW a few months back, 08 e92, sport, OC, 19" 230's, Steptronic, Titanium on coral red,PPK, 45k mi, I love it.

Agonized over which tune for a long time, came down to JB4 or Cobb, (no Vishnu pls for reasons discussed on this forum and over at n54). Pulled the trigger on the JB4, again for reasons discussed on the forums. I'm a fair mechanic and figured I could easily handle the install, plus Terry's customer service is legendary.

Installed yesterday afternoon. Getting to the ecu was a piece of cake. I took my time to make sure I got it right and routed the usb cable to the glovebox. That entailed removing the ecu and disassembling the ecu box amid a myriad of wires. Wrestled with that for a while. If you're going to do this pay attention to the cable routing thru the box to the section the JB4 winds up in. It ends up in the second space from the ecu towards the front of the car. I had to pull the box apart twice to get this right. It was not easy to pull the connectors apart. I needed both the pdf and video to figure this out. I was terrified I'd break a connector or pull a wire loose, so I lost some time here. Would be cool if either the video or pdf or both went into more detail here.