Close

Page 1 of 8 123 ... LastLast
Results 1 to 25 of 200
  1. #1
    Join Date
    Feb 2012
    Posts
    210
    Rep Points
    426.3
    Mentioned
    27 Post(s)
    Rep Power
    5


    7 out of 7 members liked this post. Reputation: Yes | No

    COBB Datalog Grapher for Excel - Plot Datalogs with 1 (or 2) Clicks!

    IMPORTANT: Scan the end of the thread for the newest version. As of 4/17/13, the newest version is on post#172: http://www.bimmerboost.com/showthrea...317#post360317

    Screenshots of the new interface can be found here:
    http://www.bimmerboost.com/showthrea...217#post322217

    And an overview of some newer functionality can be found here (as well as in the help screen of the program):
    http://www.bimmerboost.com/showthrea...427#post320427

    Up until this point, whenever I wanted to graph a log from the AccessPORT, I would lose 15 minutes of my day. I would also typically wait until we were on our way out the door to graph them up, which would lead to alot of explatives thrown in my direction.

    I needed a solution, so I decided to write some VBA code to take all the hassle out of graphing! I made three versions: one for Office 2003, one for Office 2007-2010, and one for OSX Office 2011. See posts #52 for the latest v1.3 files, unless @Sticky can update the attachments in this post.

    The user interface is pretty straight forward. Suggestions are always welcome, and I expect some bugs at first. The only system requirements are MS Excel (with VBA), which if you don't have you can easily acquire.

    The program imports the .csv datalog file from recent firmware COBB AccessPORT ONLY. It should work with all versions from when they added all the logging monitors to present. Click which monitors you have logged and want graphed. If you don't know, you can select all of them and the program will automatically remove the monitors that weren't logged in the .csv file. Once the .csv is imported, it filters out the "noise" before and after going WOT, if that option is selected on the home tab. The log then graphs everything on a self-adjusting plot.

    When you open the file, make sure you click "Enable Macros" otherwise nothing will work.

    Home screen:
    Click here to enlarge

    Click the button and navigate to the datalog .csv file:
    Click here to enlarge

    Give your log a name. This will become the name of the graph and data tab.
    Click here to enlarge

    Graph output:
    Click here to enlarge

    Data cleaned up:
    Click here to enlarge
    Last edited by Zasquatch; 03-20-2012 at 10:04 AM. Reason: New versions posted

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Feb 2012
    Posts
    210
    Rep Points
    426.3
    Mentioned
    27 Post(s)
    Rep Power
    5



    Reputation: Yes | No
    Ok @Sticky... how do i get rid of the giant "attached images" at the end of the post? lol

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Jan 2010
    Location
    SoCal
    Posts
    117,104
    Rep Points
    31,294.1
    Mentioned
    2055 Post(s)
    Rep Power
    313


    Reputation: Yes | No
    Click here to enlarge Originally Posted by Zasquatch Click here to enlarge
    Ok @Sticky ... how do i get rid of the giant "attached images" at the end of the post? lol
    You just want those deleted?

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Jan 2010
    Location
    SoCal
    Posts
    117,104
    Rep Points
    31,294.1
    Mentioned
    2055 Post(s)
    Rep Power
    313


    Reputation: Yes | No
    Removed them, you made it a little tough with your images having similar names... but I figured it out because that is how I roll.

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Feb 2012
    Posts
    210
    Rep Points
    426.3
    Mentioned
    27 Post(s)
    Rep Power
    5



    Reputation: Yes | No
    Click here to enlarge Originally Posted by Sticky Click here to enlarge
    Removed them, you made it a little tough with your images having similar names... but I figured it out because that is how I roll.
    Lol... well done

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Apr 2010
    Location
    NYC
    Posts
    3,089
    Rep Points
    999.1
    Mentioned
    104 Post(s)
    Rep Power
    10


    1 out of 1 members liked this post. Reputation: Yes | No
    Guessing this doesn't work with OpenOffice? I don't have MSOffice (yes I'm lame) Click here to enlarge

  7. #7
    Join Date
    Jan 2010
    Location
    SoCal
    Posts
    117,104
    Rep Points
    31,294.1
    Mentioned
    2055 Post(s)
    Rep Power
    313


    Reputation: Yes | No
    I don't have MSoffice either, forget paying MS when openoffice exists.

  8. #8
    Join Date
    Feb 2012
    Posts
    210
    Rep Points
    426.3
    Mentioned
    27 Post(s)
    Rep Power
    5



    Reputation: Yes | No
    Click here to enlarge Originally Posted by themyst Click here to enlarge
    Guessing this doesn't work with OpenOffice? I don't have MSOffice (yes I'm lame) Click here to enlarge
    You guys can download a free 3 month trial from Microsoft to hold you over until I figure out how to make a stand-alone program Click here to enlarge

  9. #9
    Join Date
    Apr 2010
    Location
    NYC
    Posts
    3,089
    Rep Points
    999.1
    Mentioned
    104 Post(s)
    Rep Power
    10


    Reputation: Yes | No
    Click here to enlarge Originally Posted by Zasquatch Click here to enlarge
    You guys can download a free 3 month trial from Microsoft to hold you over until I figure out how to make a stand-alone program Click here to enlarge
    No need, usenet exists for a reason! I'm just happy with OpenOffice, call me crazy.

    @Terry@BMS needs to download this pronto. Click here to enlarge

  10. #10
    Join Date
    Jun 2010
    Location
    Chicago, IL
    Posts
    919
    Rep Points
    778.4
    Mentioned
    42 Post(s)
    Rep Power
    8


    1 out of 1 members liked this post. Reputation: Yes | No
    OpenOffice is now owned and controlled by Oracle after they acquired Sun Microsystems last year. Naturally, the development slowed down and some features were removed.

    LibreOffice is the fork maintained by open source community and has the latest features. I grapher should work fine with LibreOffice under Windows.

    Nice work Zasquatch!
    From all the things I've lost,
    I miss my mind the most!
    Click here to enlarge

  11. #11
    Join Date
    Dec 2011
    Location
    Upstate NY
    Posts
    120
    Rep Points
    148.1
    Mentioned
    10 Post(s)
    Rep Power
    2


    1 out of 1 members liked this post. Reputation: Yes | No
    Good work! I did the same and have an interface which will find and graph hp/tq much like virtual dyno does. I noticed that different releases from cobb name the parameters a bit different so I had to start using the "like" operator when moving and sorting columns with find routines.

  12. #12
    Join Date
    Feb 2012
    Posts
    210
    Rep Points
    426.3
    Mentioned
    27 Post(s)
    Rep Power
    5



    Reputation: Yes | No
    I can confirm that as is, the files will not work with LibreOffice. I can pursue that route if my stand-alone idea doesn't pan out though.

  13. #13
    Join Date
    Feb 2012
    Posts
    210
    Rep Points
    426.3
    Mentioned
    27 Post(s)
    Rep Power
    5



    Reputation: Yes | No
    • Good work! I did the same and have an interface which will find and graph hp/tq much like virtual dyno does. I noticed that different releases from cobb name the parameters a bit different so I had to start using the "like" operator when moving and sorting columns with find routines

      Yeah, i found that too. I embedded a "find-replace" in the code to fix the headers that change.

  14. #14
    Join Date
    Mar 2010
    Location
    Toronto, Canada
    Posts
    6,676
    Rep Points
    3,291.4
    Mentioned
    225 Post(s)
    Rep Power
    0


    1 out of 1 members liked this post. Reputation: Yes | No
    Couldn't get this to work on my Excel 2011 for Mac edition

  15. #15
    Join Date
    Jun 2010
    Location
    Chicago, IL
    Posts
    919
    Rep Points
    778.4
    Mentioned
    42 Post(s)
    Rep Power
    8


    Reputation: Yes | No
    Click here to enlarge Originally Posted by Zasquatch Click here to enlarge
    I can confirm that as is, the files will not work with LibreOffice. I can pursue that route if my stand-alone idea doesn't pan out though.

    Hence the problem with all VBA scripts: its MS only Click here to enlarge

    What's wrong with http://www.javalotte.com/csvgraph/ ?
    From all the things I've lost,
    I miss my mind the most!
    Click here to enlarge

  16. #16
    Join Date
    Feb 2012
    Posts
    210
    Rep Points
    426.3
    Mentioned
    27 Post(s)
    Rep Power
    5



    Reputation: Yes | No
    Alright alright alright.... I'm working on making another version that anyone can use.

    The problem with web-based graphing tools is what if you don't have an internet connection? I want to make something that can be used anywhere, not limited to internet access.

    I made the vba stuff for my own use and figured I'd share it. Clearly no one uses MS office LOL so I will pursue making something stand-alone.

  17. #17
    Join Date
    Mar 2010
    Location
    Toronto, Canada
    Posts
    6,676
    Rep Points
    3,291.4
    Mentioned
    225 Post(s)
    Rep Power
    0


    Reputation: Yes | No
    Click here to enlarge Originally Posted by vasillalov Click here to enlarge
    Hence the problem with all VBA scripts: its MS only Click here to enlarge

    What's wrong with http://www.javalotte.com/csvgraph/ ?
    I'd love to have something for offline viewing...i guess ATP/ATR will have that ability so its a matter of waiting

  18. #18
    Join Date
    Mar 2010
    Location
    Toronto, Canada
    Posts
    6,676
    Rep Points
    3,291.4
    Mentioned
    225 Post(s)
    Rep Power
    0


    Reputation: Yes | No
    Click here to enlarge Originally Posted by Zasquatch Click here to enlarge
    Alright alright alright.... I'm working on making another version that anyone can use.

    The problem with web-based graphing tools is what if you don't have an internet connection? I want to make something that can be used anywhere, not limited to internet access.

    I made the vba stuff for my own use and figured I'd share it. Clearly no one uses MS office LOL so I will pursue making something stand-alone.
    You can just implement it in an HTML page with javascript right in it and people can run the html page locally in a browser instead of having to go online and visit a web page..

  19. #19
    Join Date
    Feb 2012
    Posts
    210
    Rep Points
    426.3
    Mentioned
    27 Post(s)
    Rep Power
    5



    Reputation: Yes | No
    Click here to enlarge Originally Posted by dzenno Click here to enlarge
    I'd love to have something for offline viewing...i guess ATP/ATR will have that ability so its a matter of waiting
    True that. At this point I'm pursuing it more to brush up on my coding skills, I've gotten pretty rusty. Otherwise, my VBA works perfect on all my machines Click here to enlarge

  20. #20
    Join Date
    Dec 2011
    Location
    Upstate NY
    Posts
    120
    Rep Points
    148.1
    Mentioned
    10 Post(s)
    Rep Power
    2


    Reputation: Yes | No
    Zas, PM me your email addy I'd like to share some VBA script with you that works with Cobb CSV's, you might find it useful.

  21. #21
    Join Date
    Nov 2010
    Posts
    937
    Rep Points
    562.7
    Mentioned
    52 Post(s)
    Rep Power
    6


    Reputation: Yes | No
    I get a "run-time error 1004: app defined or object-defined error" when trying on 2003 and 2010. I do rename my datalog files... not sure if this would have an effect. It loads the data, but does not graph it.

  22. #22
    Join Date
    Feb 2012
    Posts
    210
    Rep Points
    426.3
    Mentioned
    27 Post(s)
    Rep Power
    5



    Reputation: Yes | No
    You have PM, send me the log and ill take a look. I have an idea of what it might be.

  23. #23
    Join Date
    Dec 2011
    Location
    Upstate NY
    Posts
    120
    Rep Points
    148.1
    Mentioned
    10 Post(s)
    Rep Power
    2


    1 out of 1 members liked this post. Reputation: Yes | No
    Try this:

    Code:
    ZAS = ActiveWorkbook.Name
    strFileName = Application.GetOpenFilename("Datalog Files,*.csv", , , "Grab a Cobb AccessPORT Datalog")
        
        If strFileName = False Then
            Exit Sub
        End If
    
        If Not strFileName Like "*datalog*" Then
            MsgBox "Not a native AccessPORT datalog filename!", vbExclamation, 
        End If
    
    
    Application.ScreenUpdating = False
    Application.Calculation = xlCalculationManual
    Workbooks(ZAS).Activate
    
    '================================================
    '                 OPEN  DATALOG
    '================================================
    
    Workbooks.OpenText Filename:=strFileName, Origin:=65001, StartRow:=1, DataType:=xlDelimited, TextQualifier:= _
            xlDoubleQuote, ConsecutiveDelimiter:=False, Tab:=True, Semicolon:=False, _
            Comma:=True, Space:=False, Other:=False, TrailingMinusNumbers:=True
            
    CSV = ActiveWorkbook.Name
    The rest is plug and chug copy pasta from the CSV to the workbook, and both files can be renamed without error.

  24. #24
    Join Date
    Feb 2012
    Posts
    210
    Rep Points
    426.3
    Mentioned
    27 Post(s)
    Rep Power
    5



    Reputation: Yes | No
    I'm not following. The name of the file shouldn't matter, as long as it has a .csv extension. My guess is that the column headers are getting imported with funny characters (i.e. the degree symbol in (*F)).

    JoshBoody, email or zip and post the log file and I will see where the code is getting hosed up.

  25. #25
    Join Date
    Nov 2011
    Location
    Toronto
    Posts
    247
    Rep Points
    432.5
    Mentioned
    15 Post(s)
    Rep Power
    5


    1 out of 1 members liked this post. Reputation: Yes | No
    I have Excel 2007. Am I out of luck?

Page 1 of 8 123 ... LastLast

Tags for this Thread

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •