Close

Results 1 to 18 of 18
  1. #1
    Join Date
    Apr 2010
    Posts
    49
    Rep Points
    26.5
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Rep Power
    0


    3 out of 3 members liked this post. Yes Reputation No

    PLX DM-200 OBDII Gauge Pictures

    Got the PLX DM-200 OBDII Gauge and I must say it is awesome! There are so many variations of displaying the information on the gauge I am having a hard time choosing which sensors I want displayed haha.

    The install takes literally 5 seconds if you're ok with wires hanging out, but with a more discrete install it takes a few more minutes. I placed the sensor module in the compartment between the steering wheel and pedals and hardwired the gauge into the socket under the center armrest. I then used velco to mount the remote to the left of the steering wheel for a clean look (also makes it easy to take off and use!).

    I got the 60mm gauge and it is very big, 52mm may be enough for most people. However, I could not pass up the price on this 60mm and I like the fact that I can clearly read the gauge.

    Here it is in the box:

    Click here to enlarge

    Here is a closeup of the actual gauge installed

    Click here to enlarge

    Here you can see where I mounted the remote.

    Click here to enlarge

    Finally, here are pictures of my interior with the lights on/off.

    Click here to enlarge

    Click here to enlarge

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Jan 2010
    Location
    SoCal
    Posts
    120,267
    Rep Points
    32,722.2
    Mentioned
    2131 Post(s)
    Rep Power
    328


    Yes Reputation No
    I don't know how I missed this, thank you for posting.

    This is why I like getting more 1 series owners, bolstering the 1 series chassis section with details beyond just the motor. Great gauge, thank you.
    Chrome Space Bar Issue: http://www.boostaddict.com/showthrea...338#post738338


    Stage 2 or 2.5 E9X M3 S65 V8 supercharger kit for sale
    : http://www.boostaddict.com/showthrea...r-kit-for-sale

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Apr 2010
    Posts
    49
    Rep Points
    26.5
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Rep Power
    0



    2 out of 2 members liked this post. Yes Reputation No
    Here are some pictures to show what it looks like if you want to match the interior lights of the car...also turned the gauge upright.

    Click here to enlarge

    Click here to enlarge
    Click here to enlarge
    National Capital Chapter BMW CCA #367673

  4. #4
    Join Date
    May 2010
    Posts
    49
    Rep Points
    10.8
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Rep Power
    0


    Yes Reputation No
    That's a pretty damn cool gauge. If I had a spot for another gauge I would be all over this.

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Jan 2010
    Location
    Encino, CA
    Posts
    1,186
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Rep Power
    0


    Yes Reputation No
    Sick gauge, wish it would work with my ride

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Apr 2010
    Posts
    49
    Rep Points
    26.5
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Rep Power
    0



    Yes Reputation No
    It's plug and play on all cars with an OBD2 port so it should definitely work on your M
    Click here to enlarge
    National Capital Chapter BMW CCA #367673

  7. #7
    Join Date
    Jan 2010
    Location
    Encino, CA
    Posts
    1,186
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Rep Power
    0


    Yes Reputation No
    Click here to enlarge Originally Posted by Tochenzo Click here to enlarge
    It's plug and play on all cars with an OBD2 port so it should definitely work on your M
    Since I'm running a piggy back, I'd bet most of the features/sensors wouldn't work... Click here to enlarge

  8. #8
    Join Date
    Mar 2010
    Location
    Kingdom of Bahrain
    Posts
    2,697
    Rep Points
    2,104.3
    Mentioned
    27 Post(s)
    Rep Power
    22


    Yes Reputation No
    It should work perfectly on my car as its OEM ECU and stock. I'll order it and give it a shot Click here to enlarge
    Click here to enlarge



    EURO 04 M3 Current Mods:GC DAs, Eibach Sways, PF RTAB's, RE RCAs, INTRAVEE II, Black Roundels, ///MFEST Badges, Depo's, Screen protector for NAV display, VCSL Bumper + Race Lip & CF Trunk & CF Rear Diffusor, DIETZ TV in Motion, SS= V1 Headers + catless pipes + X-Pipe + SS Sport Exhaust, Z8 Starter Button, Lamin-X, OEM CSL interior, OEM CSL Steering, OEM CSL Intake, OEM CSL Roof, MSS54HP + OEM CSL Tune, BBS CH's, LIGHTWERKZ, 355mm ST40 BBK, BW Oil Cooler....

  9. #9
    Join Date
    Feb 2010
    Location
    Hanover, MD
    Posts
    1,243
    Rep Points
    697.1
    Mentioned
    4 Post(s)
    Rep Power
    7


    Yes Reputation No
    I haven't seen this before either. Great post OP
    Click here to enlarge

  10. #10
    Join Date
    Feb 2010
    Location
    NJ
    Posts
    13,426
    Rep Points
    58.0
    Mentioned
    318 Post(s)
    Rep Power
    0


    Yes Reputation No
    any way to log that, or just display?

  11. #11
    Join Date
    Apr 2010
    Posts
    4,600
    Rep Points
    3,236.6
    Mentioned
    24 Post(s)
    Rep Power
    33


    Yes Reputation No
    Click here to enlarge Originally Posted by LostMarine Click here to enlarge
    any way to log that, or just display?
    iPhone, hit the record button.
    Some people live long, meaningful lives.

    Other people eat shit and die.

    I'm not racist, I hate everybody equally; especially fat people.


    Click here to enlarge

  12. #12
    Join Date
    Apr 2010
    Posts
    49
    Rep Points
    26.5
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Rep Power
    0



    2 out of 2 members liked this post. Yes Reputation No
    Click here to enlarge Originally Posted by LostMarine Click here to enlarge
    any way to log that, or just display?
    I believe you have to purchase an additional adapter to plug into a laptop, or if you have an iphone you can log it onto that with the kiwi wifi
    http://www.plxdevices.com/datalogger.html
    Click here to enlarge
    National Capital Chapter BMW CCA #367673

  13. #13
    Join Date
    May 2010
    Posts
    740
    Rep Points
    453.1
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Rep Power
    5


    1 out of 1 members liked this post. Yes Reputation No
    Click here to enlarge Originally Posted by MSpiredM3 Click here to enlarge
    Sick gauge, wish it would work with my ride
    Check out the DM 15O, its more compact.

  14. #14
    Join Date
    Feb 2010
    Location
    NJ
    Posts
    13,426
    Rep Points
    58.0
    Mentioned
    318 Post(s)
    Rep Power
    0


    Yes Reputation No
    do you neeed anything else to monitor the afr/timing/egt if you buy that guage? does it read it from the cars obd or do you still have to install sensors, etc..?

  15. #15
    Join Date
    May 2010
    Posts
    740
    Rep Points
    453.1
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Rep Power
    5


    1 out of 1 members liked this post. Yes Reputation No
    Click here to enlarge Originally Posted by LostMarine Click here to enlarge
    do you neeed anything else to monitor the afr/timing/egt if you buy that guage? does it read it from the cars obd or do you still have to install sensors, etc..?
    It simply plugs into your OBDII port. The DM 200 has a controller box you must mount. The DM 150 you just plug right into the OBDII port..

    Click here to enlarge

  16. #16
    Join Date
    Feb 2010
    Location
    NJ
    Posts
    13,426
    Rep Points
    58.0
    Mentioned
    318 Post(s)
    Rep Power
    0


    Yes Reputation No

  17. #17
    Join Date
    Apr 2010
    Posts
    49
    Rep Points
    26.5
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Rep Power
    0



    1 out of 1 members liked this post. Yes Reputation No
    The DM200 alone only reads whatever is off the OBD port. The OBD reads an "EGT" value, but I believe it is only getting these readings from the Cats, which aren't the ideal locations for EGTs. However, I feel that its better than nothing. If you want to tap in EGT sensors and AFR's, you need to get additional modules and daisy chain them to the DM200 module.
    Click here to enlarge
    National Capital Chapter BMW CCA #367673

  18. #18
    Join Date
    Feb 2010
    Location
    NJ
    Posts
    13,426
    Rep Points
    58.0
    Mentioned
    318 Post(s)
    Rep Power
    0


    Yes Reputation No
    yes, that is what i was just told, but for anyone wanting to purchase such items, the above posted are links to the products, which is what i was looking for. And I thank you for this post which alerted me to their setup, which will be purchased shortly Click here to enlarge

Tags for this Thread

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •