Close

Page 3 of 7 FirstFirst 12345 ... LastLast
Results 51 to 75 of 172
  1. #51
    Join Date
    Feb 2010
    Posts
    23
    Rep Points
    4.1
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Rep Power
    0


    Reputation: Yes | No
    Hire some $#@!es for entertainment

  2. #52
    Join Date
    Feb 2010
    Posts
    324
    Rep Points
    467.6
    Mentioned
    8 Post(s)
    Rep Power
    5


    Reputation: Yes | No
    I'm kind of with Laloosh on this and I've tuned more cars for cp-e or using cp-e products than anyone from cp-e. Basically all of the tuners are going to turn the boost up to get the highest number. Using the standback, this is cake - simply type the number in the software. It's then up to the turbos to hit b/c the standback will slam the wastegates shut until it hits the boost target or the motor melts. I'm pretty sure BMS and Shiv could accomplish the same thing though I don't know how easy it is to change the appropriate variables on those systems. Because of this it just seems that all the tune piggyback tunes will hit the same number. I think they'll handily beat the flash tunes.

    Definitely need to log knock/spark advance. That may play a factor. The car is likely to be knocking all over the place while the turbos are struggling to hit 19 psi.

  3. #53
    Join Date
    Apr 2010
    Location
    USA
    Posts
    641
    Rep Points
    720.8
    Mentioned
    16 Post(s)
    Rep Power
    8


    Reputation: Yes | No
    I think this is awesome and it will be great for all the tuners and M3 guys to get together!

  4. #54
    Join Date
    May 2010
    Posts
    11
    Rep Points
    28.0
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Rep Power
    0


    Reputation: Yes | No
    subscribed....a big props to BB!!

  5. #55
    Join Date
    Jan 2010
    Location
    Encino, CA
    Posts
    1,161
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Rep Power
    0


    Reputation: Yes | No
    To solve the issue, have a set boost amount. See who makes the most at a certain boost level.

  6. #56
    Join Date
    Jan 2010
    Location
    SoCal
    Posts
    117,751
    Rep Points
    31,550.6
    Mentioned
    2064 Post(s)
    Rep Power
    316



    Reputation: Yes | No
    Click here to enlarge Originally Posted by boom Click here to enlarge
    I'm kind of with Laloosh on this and I've tuned more cars for cp-e or using cp-e products than anyone from cp-e. Basically all of the tuners are going to turn the boost up to get the highest number. Using the standback, this is cake - simply type the number in the software. It's then up to the turbos to hit b/c the standback will slam the wastegates shut until it hits the boost target or the motor melts. I'm pretty sure BMS and Shiv could accomplish the same thing though I don't know how easy it is to change the appropriate variables on those systems. Because of this it just seems that all the tune piggyback tunes will hit the same number. I think they'll handily beat the flash tunes.

    Definitely need to log knock/spark advance. That may play a factor. The car is likely to be knocking all over the place while the turbos are struggling to hit 19 psi.
    There will be customer cars as well, so if tuners are not being honest their own customers will keep them in check.

  7. #57
    Join Date
    May 2010
    Location
    Seattle
    Posts
    528
    Rep Points
    423.6
    Mentioned
    13 Post(s)
    Rep Power
    5


    Reputation: Yes | No
    Lemme bring my diesel, as long as it's a dyno that can pull torque #'s off my car....I'm sure Terry (BMS) wouldn't mind, and people would love to see the #'s, I think. Click here to enlarge
    Click here to enlarge

  8. #58
    Join Date
    Jan 2010
    Location
    SoCal
    Posts
    117,751
    Rep Points
    31,550.6
    Mentioned
    2064 Post(s)
    Rep Power
    316



    Reputation: Yes | No
    Received a response from Vishnu today, they are going to choose a representative as it just does not make too much sense for Shiv to drive or fly down, and I agree. Completely reasonable solution to the issue of the distance.

  9. #59
    Join Date
    Jan 2010
    Location
    SoCal
    Posts
    117,751
    Rep Points
    31,550.6
    Mentioned
    2064 Post(s)
    Rep Power
    316



    Reputation: Yes | No
    Still waiting on response from GIAC, last one left.

  10. #60
    Join Date
    May 2010
    Posts
    42
    Rep Points
    14.2
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Rep Power
    0


    Reputation: Yes | No
    Looking forward to the results!

  11. #61
    Join Date
    Nov 2009
    Location
    la la land
    Posts
    337
    Rep Points
    256.1
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Rep Power
    3


    Reputation: Yes | No
    I'd be in. I haven't had my Powerchip software re-installed yet. I could put my car on the dyno with the stock software, let them reflash me, and then dyno again.

  12. #62
    Join Date
    Jan 2010
    Location
    SoCal
    Posts
    117,751
    Rep Points
    31,550.6
    Mentioned
    2064 Post(s)
    Rep Power
    316



    Reputation: Yes | No
    Click here to enlarge Originally Posted by fstop7 Click here to enlarge
    I'd be in. I haven't had my Powerchip software re-installed yet. I could put my car on the dyno with the stock software, let them reflash me, and then dyno again.
    You willing to try more than one software? Get the software performs the best on your car?

  13. #63
    Join Date
    Nov 2009
    Location
    la la land
    Posts
    337
    Rep Points
    256.1
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Rep Power
    3


    Reputation: Yes | No
    Nah, I already spent the money on Powerchip and since there's no way to resell it I'd be throwing the money away with another tune.

  14. #64
    Join Date
    Jan 2010
    Location
    SoCal
    Posts
    117,751
    Rep Points
    31,550.6
    Mentioned
    2064 Post(s)
    Rep Power
    316



    Reputation: Yes | No
    Click here to enlarge Originally Posted by fstop7 Click here to enlarge
    Nah, I already spent the money on Powerchip and since there's no way to resell it I'd be throwing the money away with another tune.
    I think I could hook you up if you are willing to try various software Click here to enlarge

  15. #65
    Join Date
    Jan 2010
    Location
    SoCal
    Posts
    117,751
    Rep Points
    31,550.6
    Mentioned
    2064 Post(s)
    Rep Power
    316



    Reputation: Yes | No

  16. #66
    Join Date
    Jan 2010
    Location
    SoCal
    Posts
    117,751
    Rep Points
    31,550.6
    Mentioned
    2064 Post(s)
    Rep Power
    316



    Reputation: Yes | No
    Powerchip is on board.

    Another message sent to GIAC, who is the last one left.

  17. #67
    Join Date
    May 2010
    Location
    Seattle
    Posts
    528
    Rep Points
    423.6
    Mentioned
    13 Post(s)
    Rep Power
    5


    Reputation: Yes | No
    I believe I've secured DTUK, Sticky (for the diesel). Not sure which tunes, but I'm hoping for both. Next up, VAC.
    Click here to enlarge

  18. #68
    Join Date
    Jan 2010
    Location
    SoCal
    Posts
    117,751
    Rep Points
    31,550.6
    Mentioned
    2064 Post(s)
    Rep Power
    316



    Reputation: Yes | No
    Click here to enlarge Originally Posted by Ronin Click here to enlarge
    I believe I've secured DTUK, Sticky (for the diesel). Not sure which tunes, but I'm hoping for both. Next up, VAC.
    Nice work! How are you planning to switch them off, run your JBD and then switch to the other one? How much time does that take?

  19. #69
    Join Date
    May 2010
    Location
    Seattle
    Posts
    528
    Rep Points
    423.6
    Mentioned
    13 Post(s)
    Rep Power
    5


    Reputation: Yes | No
    Click here to enlarge Originally Posted by Sticky Click here to enlarge
    Nice work! How are you planning to switch them off, run your JBD and then switch to the other one? How much time does that take?
    JBD takes maybe 5 minutes to remove (4 screws on the cowel, unplug from the ECU, unplug the loopback, plug in the stock ECU connector, 4 screws back in the cowel), and from what I can tell, the DTUK units are about the same (one unit requires an additional connection to the boost sensor).
    Click here to enlarge

  20. #70
    Join Date
    Jan 2010
    Location
    SoCal
    Posts
    117,751
    Rep Points
    31,550.6
    Mentioned
    2064 Post(s)
    Rep Power
    316



    Reputation: Yes | No
    Click here to enlarge Originally Posted by Ronin Click here to enlarge
    JBD takes maybe 5 minutes to remove (4 screws on the cowel, unplug from the ECU, unplug the loopback, plug in the stock ECU connector, 4 screws back in the cowel), and from what I can tell, the DTUK units are about the same (one unit requires an additional connection to the boost sensor).
    That is great news! Hopefully Vac gets back to you.

  21. #71
    Join Date
    Apr 2010
    Posts
    251
    Rep Points
    107.0
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Rep Power
    2


    Reputation: Yes | No
    So, you're basically just looking for the highest output/peak #'s?

    I suppose it'd be almost impossible to get baseline numbers to verify the actual performance increase from each setup.

  22. #72
    Join Date
    Jan 2010
    Location
    SoCal
    Posts
    117,751
    Rep Points
    31,550.6
    Mentioned
    2064 Post(s)
    Rep Power
    316



    Reputation: Yes | No
    Click here to enlarge Originally Posted by Stahlgrau Click here to enlarge
    So, you're basically just looking for the highest output/peak #'s?

    I suppose it'd be almost impossible to get baseline numbers to verify the actual performance increase from each setup.
    No, not at all. Basically looking for an independent overview of the market. No BS, no nonsense, just the graphs to present to the consumer.

    Not impossible to get baseline numbers at all.

  23. #73
    Join Date
    Jan 2010
    Location
    SoCal
    Posts
    117,751
    Rep Points
    31,550.6
    Mentioned
    2064 Post(s)
    Rep Power
    316



    Reputation: Yes | No
    Just got confirmation from OE tuning.... this is going to be big, maybe too big. Going to have to balance this.

  24. #74
    Join Date
    Jan 2010
    Location
    SoCal
    Posts
    117,751
    Rep Points
    31,550.6
    Mentioned
    2064 Post(s)
    Rep Power
    316



    Reputation: Yes | No
    Still waiting on GIAC... sent 2 e-mails, tweeted them, nothing.

    Is it to much to ask for them to even respond? Everyone else has managed to.... and they only needed 1 e-mail.

  25. #75
    Join Date
    May 2010
    Posts
    13
    Rep Points
    12.3
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Rep Power
    0


    Reputation: Yes | No
    Click here to enlarge Originally Posted by Sticky Click here to enlarge
    Still waiting on GIAC... sent 2 e-mails, tweeted them, nothing.

    Is it to much to ask for them to even respond? Everyone else has managed to.... and they only needed 1 e-mail.
    Send Austin a PM or email. I am sure they would be interested especially with the launch of GIAC stage 2 and the map switcher.Click here to enlarge

Page 3 of 7 FirstFirst 12345 ... LastLast

Tags for this Thread

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •