Close

Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 25 of 43
  1. #1
    Join Date
    Apr 2011
    Location
    Jersey City
    Posts
    3,857
    Rep Points
    3,642.6
    Mentioned
    74 Post(s)
    Rep Power
    37


    Reputation: Yes | No

    Car surges between 2k and 4k rpms with GIAC tune??

    Hey guys,

    I have a 2007 335 with 49k miles on it and am having a wierd issue while accelerating.

    My mods are:
    BMS intake
    AR 3 inch catless dps
    Helix Intercooler
    Vanguard Exhaust
    GIAC Stg 2 flash
    AR Oilcooler

    I've done some searches on the codes I have but want to hear your opinions.

    The two codes I keep getting are:
    2A17 DMTL Diagnosis module tank leakage, system failure
    2AAF Fuel Pump Plausibility
    I know the 2AAF comes up often, even on stock cars.

    The issue i'm having is between 2k rpm and 4k rpm....in 2nd and 3rd gear, the car "struggles" and kinda "jerks or surges" as if the traction control was kicking in. I have turned off the traction control and driven on smooth roads, even starting at 35 mph (where i'm definitely not losing traction), rolling in 3rd and punching it, the car struggles or surges between 2k- 3.5k and then takes off like a bat out of hell.

    Is it my injectors? Is my fuel pump starting to go? You would think there would be more codes. The car boosts to 16psi just fine (like the GIAC stg 2 flash should) and runs hard, it just seems to hiccup between those rpms. Any ideas?
    I don't have any logs. Ive never logged before and don't really know how to do it. I should also say, it doesn't do it consistantly, sometimes the car will accelerate fine..
    Click here to enlarge
    ESS 6XX kit

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Nov 2010
    Location
    USA
    Posts
    1,924
    Rep Points
    1,825.9
    Mentioned
    11 Post(s)
    Rep Power
    19


    1 out of 1 members liked this post. Reputation: Yes | No
    I had a similar problem and it was massive carbon build up....2k to 4k rpms the car hesitated, stuttered, shuddered, whatever you wanna call it.

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Feb 2010
    Location
    NJ
    Posts
    13,460
    Rep Points
    58.0
    Mentioned
    318 Post(s)
    Rep Power
    0


    Reputation: Yes | No
    Probably fuel pump

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Apr 2011
    Location
    Jersey City
    Posts
    3,857
    Rep Points
    3,642.6
    Mentioned
    74 Post(s)
    Rep Power
    37



    Reputation: Yes | No
    I'm thinking it might be the fuel pump also, just dont understand why it doesnt' throw more codes. I would just take it to the dealer but i guess i have to take off the intake and ar downpipes? Ugh....i'm tempted to just leave them on and take off the flash or just buy a fuel pump and have a indy install it.
    Click here to enlarge
    ESS 6XX kit

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Nov 2010
    Location
    USA
    Posts
    1,924
    Rep Points
    1,825.9
    Mentioned
    11 Post(s)
    Rep Power
    19


    Reputation: Yes | No
    Sometimes I would get a misfire in cyl 5 code, and the fuel pump code, yet none of that was the problem. Carbon build up was, at only 49k miles.

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Nov 2009
    Location
    Miami, FL.
    Posts
    1,895
    Rep Points
    771.0
    Mentioned
    9 Post(s)
    Rep Power
    8


    Reputation: Yes | No
    right, you're better off buying it online and installing it with your shop of choice. no telling what the stealership will say is wrong or what they'll charge you lol, or even worse, half break something totally unrelated so you have to come back again in a month or so.
    Click here to enlarge
    2007 335i Coupe
    Mods: Check the Garage

  7. #7
    Join Date
    Apr 2011
    Location
    Jersey City
    Posts
    3,857
    Rep Points
    3,642.6
    Mentioned
    74 Post(s)
    Rep Power
    37



    Reputation: Yes | No
    My only problem is trying to find a shop that can diagnose the issue. These cars are still pretty new to most Indy shops. I'm going to put the car on stock map and do some runs tonight to see if it gets better. I think it may be carbon build up bc after some hard runs it seems to get a little better.
    Click here to enlarge
    ESS 6XX kit

  8. #8
    Join Date
    Feb 2010
    Location
    NJ
    Posts
    13,460
    Rep Points
    58.0
    Mentioned
    318 Post(s)
    Rep Power
    0


    Reputation: Yes | No
    Click here to enlarge Originally Posted by bobS Click here to enlarge
    My only problem is trying to find a shop that can diagnose the issue. These cars are still pretty new to most Indy shops. I'm going to put the car on stock map and do some runs tonight to see if it gets better. I think it may be carbon build up bc after some hard runs it seems to get a little better.

    id say its better to fork over $ for a fuel pump of tischer now, expect to put it in, but take to matt@cambertoe for the cleaning and bring the pump with you incse that doesnt solve the pronlem, or if you just want to replace and be sure..

  9. #9
    Join Date
    Nov 2010
    Location
    le Paris
    Posts
    6,653
    Rep Points
    -256.0
    Mentioned
    48 Post(s)
    Rep Power
    0


    Reputation: Yes | No
    If you ask me it's intake.

  10. #10
    Join Date
    Apr 2011
    Location
    Jersey City
    Posts
    3,857
    Rep Points
    3,642.6
    Mentioned
    74 Post(s)
    Rep Power
    37



    Reputation: Yes | No
    Are u serious about the intake?

    I drove the car around real hard in "stock map" and it ran flawlessly. No issues at all, 8 psi of boost, runs great, I couldn't get the issue to come back. I changed the map back to stg2 and it came back, although not that bad. Sometimes I accelerate hard and there are no surging issues. I wonder if its the flash itself. I may go to the Giac dealer and see if they can give me a different version/flash. I don't get any codes besides what I posted and the car starts perfectly(no long cranks).
    Click here to enlarge
    ESS 6XX kit

  11. #11
    Join Date
    Nov 2010
    Location
    le Paris
    Posts
    6,653
    Rep Points
    -256.0
    Mentioned
    48 Post(s)
    Rep Power
    0


    Reputation: Yes | No
    Click here to enlarge Originally Posted by bobS Click here to enlarge
    Are u serious about the intake?
    Yeah, in older cars a car with dirty intake would act exactly like that.

  12. #12
    Join Date
    Nov 2009
    Location
    Simi Valley, CA
    Posts
    7,980
    Rep Points
    8,872.8
    Mentioned
    626 Post(s)
    Rep Power
    89


    Reputation: Yes | No
    Best thing might be to do a BT log showing any important parameters and sending it in to GIAC for advice. Normally from the logs you can determine what the problem is get the customer on the right track.

  13. #13
    Join Date
    Apr 2011
    Location
    Jersey City
    Posts
    3,857
    Rep Points
    3,642.6
    Mentioned
    74 Post(s)
    Rep Power
    37



    Reputation: Yes | No
    Your right I'm going to just log it and see whats going on. The intake has been on for 7k miles so I doubt that's it but I'll check it.
    Click here to enlarge
    ESS 6XX kit

  14. #14
    Join Date
    Feb 2010
    Location
    NJ
    Posts
    13,460
    Rep Points
    58.0
    Mentioned
    318 Post(s)
    Rep Power
    0


    Reputation: Yes | No
    i think he meant intake manifold, not DCI or other air filter

  15. #15
    Join Date
    Apr 2011
    Location
    Jersey City
    Posts
    3,857
    Rep Points
    3,642.6
    Mentioned
    74 Post(s)
    Rep Power
    37



    Reputation: Yes | No
    I got ya, I'm pretty sure it's a software issue. It runs perfect in "stock map" and I can get it to surge in power at the same spot in the rpm band every time. I've felt it before but I always thought it was just losing traction and traction control was kicking in, I don't beat on the car so I never really realized I could replicate it so easy. GIAC is sending me a log file and I'm going to log a couple runs and send it to them. We'll see what happens.
    Click here to enlarge
    ESS 6XX kit

  16. #16
    Join Date
    Aug 2010
    Location
    Valley Stream NY
    Posts
    3,293
    Rep Points
    2,744.4
    Mentioned
    85 Post(s)
    Rep Power
    28


    Reputation: Yes | No
    when was the last time you changed the plugs?

  17. #17
    Join Date
    Jan 2010
    Location
    SoCal
    Posts
    117,182
    Rep Points
    31,311.9
    Mentioned
    2056 Post(s)
    Rep Power
    314


    Reputation: Yes | No
    Click here to enlarge Originally Posted by bobS Click here to enlarge
    I got ya, I'm pretty sure it's a software issue. It runs perfect in "stock map" and I can get it to surge in power at the same spot in the rpm band every time. I've felt it before but I always thought it was just losing traction and traction control was kicking in, I don't beat on the car so I never really realized I could replicate it so easy. GIAC is sending me a log file and I'm going to log a couple runs and send it to them. We'll see what happens.
    Maybe time to switch from GIAC.

  18. #18
    Join Date
    Apr 2011
    Location
    Jersey City
    Posts
    3,857
    Rep Points
    3,642.6
    Mentioned
    74 Post(s)
    Rep Power
    37



    Reputation: Yes | No
    The plugs were changed 8k miles ago.

    I don't think I'll switch the tune I'm happy with it. We'll see what the issue is first.
    Click here to enlarge
    ESS 6XX kit

  19. #19
    Join Date
    Feb 2010
    Posts
    1,738
    Mentioned
    63 Post(s)
    Rep Power
    0


    Reputation: Yes | No
    Does it get worse with colder temps? If so its a load targetting issue. Log your wgdc and both fuel pumps, you will see they dance around before stabalizing. Your throttle will be pinned and your boost will wobble.

  20. #20
    Join Date
    Apr 2011
    Location
    Jersey City
    Posts
    3,857
    Rep Points
    3,642.6
    Mentioned
    74 Post(s)
    Rep Power
    37



    Reputation: Yes | No
    No it got better with colder temps, last night it was 65 degrees and I was driving back from the beach and it didn't do it once. Car ran strong. My symptoms do sound like your describing though when I can get the car to do it.

    I got a log file from GIAC today but I'm gonna wait till tomorrow bc it's raining like crazy here tonight and the temps are cold. I'll do a log and send it to them.
    Click here to enlarge
    ESS 6XX kit

  21. #21
    Join Date
    Dec 2010
    Posts
    61
    Rep Points
    80.3
    Mentioned
    6 Post(s)
    Rep Power
    0


    Reputation: Yes | No
    Click here to enlarge Originally Posted by LostMarine Click here to enlarge
    id say its better to fork over $ for a fuel pump of tischer now, expect to put it in, but take to matt@cambertoe for the cleaning and bring the pump with you incse that doesnt solve the pronlem, or if you just want to replace and be sure..
    +1 - its your fuel pump, get it done at an indy shop and don't worry about removing your mods

  22. #22
    Join Date
    Apr 2011
    Location
    Jersey City
    Posts
    3,857
    Rep Points
    3,642.6
    Mentioned
    74 Post(s)
    Rep Power
    37



    Reputation: Yes | No
    Click here to enlarge Originally Posted by turkish335 Click here to enlarge
    +1 - its your fuel pump, get it done at an indy shop and don't worry about removing your mods
    Why do u think it's my fuel pump? I have no codes and no long start issue.
    Click here to enlarge
    ESS 6XX kit

  23. #23
    Join Date
    Dec 2010
    Posts
    61
    Rep Points
    80.3
    Mentioned
    6 Post(s)
    Rep Power
    0


    2 out of 2 members liked this post. Reputation: Yes | No
    Click here to enlarge Originally Posted by bobS Click here to enlarge
    Why do u think it's my fuel pump? I have no codes and no long start issue.
    2AAF - I got that code before my pump went out, however I was having long starts.... anyways, haven't got that code since the fuel pump replacement.... not sure what else it could be, but it sounds like there is a lack of fuel in that RPM range causing the hickups or some kind of other failure (DMTL pump?) - check out this thread if you haven't yet:
    http://www.n54tech.com/forums/showthread.php?t=11420


  24. #24
    Join Date
    Apr 2011
    Location
    Jersey City
    Posts
    3,857
    Rep Points
    3,642.6
    Mentioned
    74 Post(s)
    Rep Power
    37



    Reputation: Yes | No
    Thanks for the link, I'm logging tomorrow so we'll see
    Click here to enlarge
    ESS 6XX kit

  25. #25
    Join Date
    Apr 2011
    Location
    Jersey City
    Posts
    3,857
    Rep Points
    3,642.6
    Mentioned
    74 Post(s)
    Rep Power
    37



    Reputation: Yes | No
    Ok, I just logged 3 runs, sent them to GIAC but I don't know how to graph them lol. i've never done this before, i'm searching now how to do it but if anyone wants to help, shoot me a PM thanks.
    Click here to enlarge
    ESS 6XX kit

Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Tags for this Thread

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •