Close

Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
    Rep Points
    Mentioned
    5 Post(s)

Yes Reputation No

Post Common breaking point on rear axle shafts?

Recently had my right rear half shaft fail at the outer CV Joint...just curious where the common failure points have been in history on the higher powered BMW's?

Rep Points
    Mentioned
    2133 Post(s)

Yes Reputation No
    Good thread and I don't really the exact points myself so bump looking for answers.

Rep Points
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)

Yes Reputation No
    noob here: well i come from front wheel and idk if this will help but worth a shot

Click here to enlarge ive noticed numerous times while changing axels on my cars the axles usually are weak closer to the outer shaft or where the boot meets the hub. never have i had a problem closer to the transmission or in your case the rear diff. The longer the shaft is the weaker it is at the farthest point from the diff. my input, again if i am incorrect i am sorry but no one else stepped up. good luck if anything.Click here to enlarge

Rep Points
    Mentioned
    9 Post(s)

Yes Reputation No
    lol its been 5 hrs, no one has stepped up you say lol? well my two cents (even though ive never snapped an axle, though seen a few snap) is that its caused by BMW's poor use of an open diff. well i guess its not the worst idea, but a bad item for launches is for sure. almost every x35 ive heard of that snapped an axle, snapped it at the track (drag strip) or attempting a burnout. its all caused by all the torque pushing one axle (open diff) and the tire is still in 'static' friction. the weakest point(which is your question) is usually the axle boot, holding grease and the race + cage. the DSS offers upgraded axles, member here, lamia2super has them because he snapped at the drag strip with me (he still has an open diff!).
    Click here to enlarge
    2007 335i Coupe
    Mods: Check the Garage

Rep Points
    Mentioned
    2133 Post(s)

Yes Reputation No