Close

Results 1 to 25 of 25

Thread: Missfires cyl6

  1. #1
    Join Date
    Jul 2010
    Location
    Stockholm, Sweden
    Posts
    1,104
    Rep Points
    1,398.3
    Mentioned
    16 Post(s)
    Rep Power
    14


    Yes Reputation No

    Missfires cyl6

    on monday night doing a spirited overtake the engine started shuttering and went into limp mode. Using the jb4 dash controls I could get the fault code and emailed Terry (who responded superfast like always) suggesting the cause being, plugs, coils or injectors.

    Today I changed all plugs + cyl6 coil but I still get the cyl 6 missfires at ~4k rpm.

    Could the injector gone bad like that? Good and the instantly crap?

    I am running the jb4 in map0

    Any missfire guru with some advice out there?

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Nov 2009
    Location
    Miami, FL.
    Posts
    1,892
    Rep Points
    771.0
    Mentioned
    9 Post(s)
    Rep Power
    8


    Yes Reputation No
    terry is right. a misfire is thrown when one of three things are not in order, fuel, spark and timing. you said you changed all the plugs, so we can rule that out. you changed cyl 6's coil and are still throwing the code, so we can assume its not anything to do with spark. timing is a possibility but unlikely due to the success of the jb4, ive heard of misfires randomly, but as a whole, both tunes show great things so its unlikely to be a tune issue. lastly there's fuel, your injector could have gone bad, or you could be like me and your metal injector clip cracked. so all in all my best guess is from what you have told us, its a fuel issue, try to swap cyl 4 and 6's injector to see if the code moves to cyl 4.
    Click here to enlarge
    2007 335i Coupe
    Mods: Check the Garage

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Jul 2010
    Location
    Stockholm, Sweden
    Posts
    1,104
    Rep Points
    1,398.3
    Mentioned
    16 Post(s)
    Rep Power
    14



    Yes Reputation No
    I had one other issue but I didnt think it could be related, I removed my bsh catch can since it kinda put to much side and twist forces on the valve cover connector. So I have had some oil vapor spraying at cyl 5-6 injectors & coils. Though all spark plugs where clean and "dry" so no oil made it down there.

    But could oil vapors done something bad to my electric connections for coils & injectors?

    It all looks clean and nice, if nothing else pops up, I will try to swap two injectors. Is there a diy for injectors? Oddjob thanks for your quick reply! Anything I should know before removing the injectors?

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Nov 2010
    Location
    USA
    Posts
    1,923
    Rep Points
    1,825.9
    Mentioned
    11 Post(s)
    Rep Power
    19


    Yes Reputation No
    When was the last time you had your intake valves cleaned? Could be carbon build up. I used to get misfires in cyl 5 and forgot the other for massive carbon build-up.

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Jul 2010
    Location
    Stockholm, Sweden
    Posts
    1,104
    Rep Points
    1,398.3
    Mentioned
    16 Post(s)
    Rep Power
    14



    Yes Reputation No
    I guess carbon build up could be an issue, not sure if it would be so easy to reproduce and only hitting cyl6. It is also easier to swap injectors than removing the throttle body, but I have a 2007 335i so I should clean those valves sooner or later.

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Nov 2009
    Location
    Miami, FL.
    Posts
    1,892
    Rep Points
    771.0
    Mentioned
    9 Post(s)
    Rep Power
    8


    Yes Reputation No
    Click here to enlarge Originally Posted by xbox_fan Click here to enlarge
    It all looks clean and nice, if nothing else pops up, I will try to swap two injectors. Is there a diy for injectors? Oddjob thanks for your quick reply! Anything I should know before removing the injectors?
    yes, but its a pain in the butt, remember the fuel rail is pressurized at 1500+psi. to remove/swap the injectors you need to remove the fuel rail. do you have a local shop?
    Click here to enlarge
    2007 335i Coupe
    Mods: Check the Garage

  7. #7
    Join Date
    Jul 2010
    Location
    Stockholm, Sweden
    Posts
    1,104
    Rep Points
    1,398.3
    Mentioned
    16 Post(s)
    Rep Power
    14



    Yes Reputation No
    When I looked at it today it didnt look like the fuel rail was any issue? Its across the engine above the intake manifold.

    But I have a friend at a local bmw workshop he usually helps me for free Click here to enlarge

  8. #8
    Join Date
    Nov 2009
    Location
    Miami, FL.
    Posts
    1,892
    Rep Points
    771.0
    Mentioned
    9 Post(s)
    Rep Power
    8


    Yes Reputation No
    awesome you're set then, let us know how everything goes and what the diagnosis is.
    Click here to enlarge
    2007 335i Coupe
    Mods: Check the Garage

  9. #9
    Join Date
    Jul 2010
    Location
    Stockholm, Sweden
    Posts
    1,104
    Rep Points
    1,398.3
    Mentioned
    16 Post(s)
    Rep Power
    14



    Yes Reputation No
    I'll try to take some pics, I would prefer missfires on cyl1, why does it have to be all the way back to the firewall? Click here to enlarge

  10. #10
    Join Date
    Feb 2010
    Location
    NJ
    Posts
    13,468
    Rep Points
    58.0
    Mentioned
    318 Post(s)
    Rep Power
    0


    Yes Reputation No
    Click here to enlarge Originally Posted by xbox_fan Click here to enlarge
    on monday night doing a spirited overtake the engine started shuttering and went into limp mode. Using the jb4 dash controls I could get the fault code and emailed Terry (who responded superfast like always) suggesting the cause being, plugs, coils or injectors.

    Today I changed all plugs + cyl6 coil but I still get the cyl 6 missfires at ~4k rpm.

    Could the injector gone bad like that? Good and the instantly crap?

    I am running the jb4 in map0

    Any missfire guru with some advice out there?
    yup, cyl 6 was my first inj. replacement over a year ago, recently i had #5 replaced as well. problems gone.
    Last edited by LostMarine; 06-13-2011 at 10:26 AM.

  11. #11
    Join Date
    Jul 2010
    Location
    Stockholm, Sweden
    Posts
    1,104
    Rep Points
    1,398.3
    Mentioned
    16 Post(s)
    Rep Power
    14



    Yes Reputation No
    LM did you need to "re-code" the DME to accept the new injectors, or did you just swap them?

  12. #12
    Join Date
    Feb 2010
    Location
    NJ
    Posts
    13,468
    Rep Points
    58.0
    Mentioned
    318 Post(s)
    Rep Power
    0


    1 out of 1 members liked this post. Yes Reputation No
    i had a small write-up on N54 about it. but i had Matt@cambertoe do the swapping of hardware. The car runs and runs fine without coding, but i didnt REALLY push it as i didnt want to see side effects, but the car ran ok, but soundded a bit off, so i had it coded by the dealer the following day. it cost me $60 and about an hour wait. you just need to have the # on the side written down if you install beforehand

  13. #13
    Join Date
    Jan 2010
    Location
    SoCal
    Posts
    118,891
    Rep Points
    31,877.5
    Mentioned
    2092 Post(s)
    Rep Power
    319


    Yes Reputation No
    Click here to enlarge Originally Posted by LostMarine Click here to enlarge
    i had a small write-up on N54 about it. but i had Matt@cambertoe do the swapping of hardware. The car runs and runs fine without coding, but i didnt REALLY push it as i didnt want to see side effects, but the car ran ok, but soundded a bit off, so i had it coded by the dealer the following day. it cost me $60 and about an hour wait. you just need to have the # on the side written down if you install beforehand
    Good info, very good.

    Getting that write-up up here would be good!

  14. #14
    Join Date
    Jul 2010
    Location
    Stockholm, Sweden
    Posts
    1,104
    Rep Points
    1,398.3
    Mentioned
    16 Post(s)
    Rep Power
    14



    Yes Reputation No
    The ppl at BMW said it was an easy thing to swap, I'll make sure to write the numbers of the injector.

  15. #15
    Join Date
    Jul 2010
    Location
    Stockholm, Sweden
    Posts
    1,104
    Rep Points
    1,398.3
    Mentioned
    16 Post(s)
    Rep Power
    14



    Yes Reputation No
    Click here to enlarge

    Got delivery from BMW today!

  16. #16
    Join Date
    Jul 2010
    Location
    Stockholm, Sweden
    Posts
    1,104
    Rep Points
    1,398.3
    Mentioned
    16 Post(s)
    Rep Power
    14



    Yes Reputation No
    ? Whats wrong with picture linking???

  17. #17
    Join Date
    Jan 2010
    Location
    SoCal
    Posts
    118,891
    Rep Points
    31,877.5
    Mentioned
    2092 Post(s)
    Rep Power
    319


    Yes Reputation No
    Click here to enlarge Originally Posted by xbox_fan Click here to enlarge
    ? Whats wrong with picture linking???
    Didn't import correctly for some reason, try uploading it.

  18. #18
    Join Date
    Jul 2010
    Location
    Stockholm, Sweden
    Posts
    1,104
    Rep Points
    1,398.3
    Mentioned
    16 Post(s)
    Rep Power
    14



    Yes Reputation No
    Well changing the no.6 injector solved this issue Click here to enlarge

    So no starts the wait for no.5 to fail Click here to enlarge

  19. #19
    Join Date
    Jan 2010
    Location
    SoCal
    Posts
    118,891
    Rep Points
    31,877.5
    Mentioned
    2092 Post(s)
    Rep Power
    319


    Yes Reputation No
    Click here to enlarge Originally Posted by xbox_fan Click here to enlarge
    Well changing the no.6 injector solved this issue Click here to enlarge

    So no starts the wait for no.5 to fail Click here to enlarge
    Awesome, so all good to go?

  20. #20
    Join Date
    Jul 2010
    Location
    Stockholm, Sweden
    Posts
    1,104
    Rep Points
    1,398.3
    Mentioned
    16 Post(s)
    Rep Power
    14



    Yes Reputation No
    Well I am still doing the coding of the DME, but the car runs great already now without it... though the "numbers" on my old and new injector are quite close, so I might be lucky!

  21. #21
    Join Date
    Feb 2010
    Location
    NJ
    Posts
    13,468
    Rep Points
    58.0
    Mentioned
    318 Post(s)
    Rep Power
    0


    Yes Reputation No
    Click here to enlarge Originally Posted by xbox_fan Click here to enlarge
    Well I am still doing the coding of the DME, but the car runs great already now without it... though the "numbers" on my old and new injector are quite close, so I might be lucky!
    yea, thats what i said, but why risk it. its so small in the grand scheme of things. just like race fuel when going 18psi or higher Click here to enlarge

  22. #22
    Join Date
    Jul 2010
    Location
    Stockholm, Sweden
    Posts
    1,104
    Rep Points
    1,398.3
    Mentioned
    16 Post(s)
    Rep Power
    14



    Yes Reputation No
    LM, I only ment lucky as in "I dont need to fight with the wife to borrow the Hyundai Santa Fe this weekend" I am doing the DME coding as soon as the BMW service computer is online!

  23. #23
    Join Date
    Feb 2010
    Location
    NJ
    Posts
    13,468
    Rep Points
    58.0
    Mentioned
    318 Post(s)
    Rep Power
    0


    Yes Reputation No
    lol, im drivin the wifes altima.. oh how i wish she wanted the MB, or even a 328xi that i tried to get her in Click here to enlarge

  24. #24
    Join Date
    Jan 2010
    Location
    SoCal
    Posts
    118,891
    Rep Points
    31,877.5
    Mentioned
    2092 Post(s)
    Rep Power
    319


    Yes Reputation No
    Click here to enlarge Originally Posted by LostMarine Click here to enlarge
    lol, im drivin the wifes altima.. oh how i wish she wanted the MB, or even a 328xi that i tried to get her in Click here to enlarge
    Weren't you saying something about being in charge? That's funny.

  25. #25
    Join Date
    Jul 2010
    Location
    Stockholm, Sweden
    Posts
    1,104
    Rep Points
    1,398.3
    Mentioned
    16 Post(s)
    Rep Power
    14



    Yes Reputation No
    A married man claiming to be in charge is a liar Click here to enlarge

Tags for this Thread

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •