• 2011 F1 Indian Grand Prix - Mercedes GP Preview

      The Buddh International Circuit, the newest addition to Formula One. This race is the first new race in four years (Singapore & Valencia 2008, Abu Dhabi 2009, Korea 2010). Formula One heads to new territory next week with the inaugural Indian Grand Prix, Round 17 of the 2011 World Championship, taking place at the Buddh International Circuit on the outskirts of New Delhi, on Sunday 30 October. Designed by acclaimed circuit designer Hermann Tilke, the circuit cost $188 million to build and features a 5.141km long track that incorporates 16 corners and runs in a Clockwise direction.

      The race is expected to take place over 60 laps, although there has been no official confirmation. India has signed a ten-year contract with Bernie Ecclestone to host the grand prix, which experts believe could generate as much as $170 million in revenue and employ as many as 10,000 people.

      Michael is looking forward to race in India next week:

      “For the next race, we are heading to India for the first time; a country which a lot of people tell me is fascinating. I’m looking forward to experiencing this new culture and seeing the track for the first time. I am sure we will be impressed with what has been done there. There has been a lot of interest in the build-up to the event, and therefore hopefully we will entertain a lot of new fans in India.

      “I’ve always been happy to welcome new tracks on the calendar and enjoy the challenge of adapting to them. The outcome of the last race in Korea was unlucky for us, therefore I am extra-motivated to score some points next weekend, and reward the good work of the team.”
      Next week will be Nico’s first visit to India:

      “It will be very exciting for me to discover the new culture. I am planning to spend a few days in the country and looking forward to doing some sightseeing, particularly making a visit to the Taj Mahal. I hope the first race in India will be a great show for all motorsport fans there, and a big success.

      “I enjoy going to new tracks for the first time as I tend to learn them quickly, and it will be very interesting to set the car up as there will be so many unknown points. I hope to be able to fight in amongst the top six cars again, like during the last race in Korea, but this time hopefully I will be able to stay ahead of one of them until the end of the race.”
      Ross feels that the

      “Indian Grand Prix will be a new adventure for Formula One, and we are all looking forward to experiencing the country and the Buddh International Circuit for the first time next week. A tremendous amount of work has gone into the new venue and the preparations for this inaugural event, and the interest in India seems to be growing daily. In the second most populous country in the world, this can only be good for Formula One as we continue to expand our fan base by taking the sport to new markets.

      “The circuit itself looks to be an interesting challenge and we have been preparing back at the factory with circuit maps, simulations and models. You can do a great deal of work beforehand but nothing replicates the feedback from the drivers on their first laps out on the new circuit on Friday. With just three races remaining, we will be aiming to finish the season on a high and pushing hard to score good points at each one.”
      Norbert Haug says

      “MERCEDES GP PETRONAS is pleased and proud to be part of Formula One's visit to India and its inaugural Grand Prix at the Buddh International Circuit. India is a country with a rich cultural heritage which is admired and respected across the world, and it is also a country of the future: there is a vibrant, growing economy and, for Mercedes-Benz, a rapidly accelerating market for our cars. The Buddh International Circuit promises to deliver the excellent facilities we are used to at the most modern Formula One venues. It presents a complete challenge to the cars with a range of faster and slower corners, as well as long straights that may make the compromise between downforce and straightline speed delicate to find.

      “On the operational side, a new circuit levels the playing field somewhat between the teams and all of us must start from zero; however, it does provide an opportunity for our race team's operational excellence to pay dividends. We saw some signs of promising potential in the early stages of the last race in Korea, although this did not ultimately translate into the final results. But we will be aiming to build on this potential in India, and our team will keep pushing at every race this year to extract the maximum from our current technical package.”

      F1 TIMETABLE (New Delhi Local Time)
      Fri 28 October 2011
      Practice 1
      10:00 - 11:30
      Practice 2 14:00 - 15:30
      Sat 29 October 2011
      Practice 3
      11:00 - 12:00
      Qualifying 14:00
      Sun 30 October 2011
      Race
      15:00

      F1 TIMETABLE (Pacific Time)
      Fri 28 October 2011
      Practice 1
      (Thu) 21:30 - 23:00
      Practice 2 (Fri) 01:30 - 03:00
      Sat 29 October 2011
      Practice 3
      (Fri) 22:30 - 23:30
      Qualifying (Sat) 01:30
      Sun 30 October 2011
      Race
      02:30

      F1 TIMETABLE (Eastern Time)
      Fri 28 October 2011
      Practice 1
      00:30 - 02:00
      Practice 2 04:30 - 06:00
      Sat 29 October 2011
      Practice 3
      01:30 - 02:30
      Qualifying 04:30
      Sun 30 October 2011
      Race
      05:30




      This article was originally published in forum thread: 2011 F1 Indian Grand Prix - Mercedes GP Preview started by Scourge82 View original post
      Comments 24 Comments
      1. Scourge82's Avatar
        Scourge82 -
        Click here to enlarge Originally Posted by Sticky Click here to enlarge
        There it is

        Perfect timing, another site just put theirs up and I think yours is better.
        Thanks man. I've been sitting on it for a bit, it's been kinda hectic here and I finally get some free time to work on it.


        Click here to enlarge Originally Posted by DavidV Click here to enlarge
        Sure he is
        But, in all honesty, MS is always good when everybody is new to a track.
        Especially if there is no track data to start from, it really comes down to driver input to set up the car for maximum performance.
        Another early alarm clock this weekend...
        Yeah, Michael has certainly improved, especially in the last five races and has constantly outraced Nico. If it wasn't for Petrov the last race, he might have been able to finish infront of both Ferrari's. Mercedes is expected to bring some new parts and a new fuel blend to the race.

        I've been reading that the teams have been squeezing as much data as they can from their simulators, but the sims can only prepare the team to an extent. Nothing like real world data.
      1. Kbahl21's Avatar
        Kbahl21 -
        my dad is going to be there, i have midterms so that sob wouldnt let me go.
      1. Sticky's Avatar
        Sticky -
        Click here to enlarge Originally Posted by Kbahl21 Click here to enlarge
        my dad is going to be there, i have midterms so that sob wouldnt let me go.
        Click here to enlarge

        His priorities are out of whack.
      1. DavidV's Avatar
        DavidV -
        So MS screwed up qually. Barely making Q2, he was .8 seconds slower then Rosberg, which got him 12th place.
        Rosberg, last of the timesetters, made 7th place.
        Disappointing to still see teams not setting a fast lap in Q3, just to save tires.
        Vettel has pole again, Hamilton got second, but will get a 3 place penalty, so Webber will start in slot 2, and Alonso will take 3rd place.
        Surprisingly nice track.
      1. DavidV's Avatar
        DavidV -
        And Red Bull broke the all time record with 16 pole positions in one season.
        Off course, with 20 races the final number of this record can change, with 3 races to go it is gonna be a record pretty hard to beat with Vettel's performance in qualifying.
      1. Sticky's Avatar
        Sticky -
        Qualifying report???
      1. DavidV's Avatar
        DavidV -
        I can give you the provisional grid for tomorrow:


        Petrov penalised 5 grid spots for causing crash in Korea; Hamilton & Perez 3 spots for ignoring yellow flags in FP1; Ricciardo 5 spots for gearbox change; Karthikeyan 5 spots for blocking. Glock didn't meet 107% requirement, races at stewards' discretion.
      1. Sticky's Avatar
        Sticky -
        Vettel and the pole... again and again.
      1. DavidV's Avatar
        DavidV -
        Yes, and before his final run the top 4 were .1 second apart. In his final timed lap Vettel managed to find another .27 !
      1. Scourge82's Avatar
        Scourge82 -
        Sorry man, I'm working on it. I was out taking care of a bunch of stuff. I didn't even get a chance to watch it.
      1. Scourge82's Avatar
        Scourge82 -
        Rosberg and Schumacher qualified in seventh and 12th places respectively today during qualifying for the Indian Grand Prix at the Buddh International Circuit in New Delhi. For Rosberg he completed one run in each of the sessions to save tires for the race. He will have one set of primes and two sets of the soft option tires.

        Schumacher on the other hand had a difficult qualifying session, he had to switch to a set of super softs to make Q2 on his last lap. In Q2, he suffered from tyre vibrations and missed out on Q3 by 0.018s

        Red Bull's Sebastian Vettel, the new crowned world champion ran away with his 13th pole position in the inaugrual Indian Grabd Prix. With this, he has now tied Ayrton Senna and Alain Prost for the most pole positions in a season.

        Although Hamilton set the second fastest lap, he will start in fifth place after being hit by a penalty in friday's practise for speeding under yellow flag conditions. This means Mark Webber will start second, followed by Alonso, Jenson Button. Massa, who crashed on his final lap will start in sixth place. Sutil, Buemi, and Alguersuari round out the top 10.

        From Michael’s perspective, his qualifying session didn’t go as expected:

        “At first I hit some traffic, and then on my final run in Q2, there was again vibrations on the set of tyres which I used which was not helpful. Saying that, this certainly does not explain the time gap to Nico so we need to understand what the reason was for that and get on top of it.

        As for the race tomorrow, this should work out better for me, and my aim undoubtedly is to score some points. I’m not really sure which side of the grid will be the better one, so I will just take it from there and try to gain as much as possible.”
        After the qualifying session, Nico was pleased with the step forward but left he could have finished higher:

        “In Q1, I hit a kerb quite heavily and damaged the floor which lost some of the car’s downforce for the rest of qualifying. I was on my quickest lap at the end of Q3 but unfortunately I had to slow down for the yellow flag after Felipe’s incident so that cost me some time.

        I will push hard to gain places tomorrow and have a good race on this fantastic track. I’m guessing it will be an exciting race and the Indian people should be proud to have one of the best tracks in the world of motorsport now!”
        Ross felt today was:

        “An exciting and tense qualifying session. We got caught out a little in traffic on occasions which didn’t help as it was particularly close out there. It’s a shame that we didn’t get through to Q3 with Michael, and he was unhappy with his final set of tyres. Nico did a great job, especially considering that he was struggling a little with the car yesterday, so all credit to him and his team for getting the car in good shape for qualifying. Our runs on high fuel this weekend have been encouraging so we are looking forward to the race tomorrow at this impressive new track.”
        For Norbert:

        “Nico did a good job today and a good qualifying strategy from our team with just one run in Q3 to save tyres for the race. Michael missed getting into the top ten by 0.018s and the gap to P8 was less than two-tenths which shows how intense the battle is. Our target tomorrow is to achieve the best possible result behind the top three teams and hopefully finish in the top six rankings which we achieved three times in the last five races. The new circuit and facilities here in Greater Noida are very impressive and it is very positive for Formula One to be present in such a vibrant country full of passion and friendliness.”
        Full Qualifying Results








        Click here to enlarge
      1. Scourge82's Avatar
        Scourge82 -
        @Sticky

        Article is up!
      1. DavidV's Avatar
        DavidV -
        Click here to enlarge Originally Posted by Scourge82 Click here to enlarge
        For Rosberg he completed one run in each of the first two sessions and opted not to run in the third and final session to save tires for the race. He will have one set of primes and two sets of the soft option tires.
        ??? He did run i Q3. His time was 1:25.451
      1. Scourge82's Avatar
        Scourge82 -
        Thanks man, The articles i read made it seem he didn't run in Q3. I edited my post
      1. DavidV's Avatar
        DavidV -
        You are welcome.
        No need to download the qualification, it was not really that intense.
        Let's hope the race will be more exiting.
        It should provide lots of overtaking with 2 DRS zones.
      1. Sticky's Avatar
        Sticky -
        Click here to enlarge Originally Posted by Scourge82 Click here to enlarge
        Sorry man, I'm working on it. I was out taking care of a bunch of stuff. I didn't even get a chance to watch it.
        No worries, up on the front page. Thanks!
      1. Scourge82's Avatar
        Scourge82 -
        Mid race standings:

      1. Scourge82's Avatar
        Scourge82 -
        Massa is out of the race with suspension failure after hitting a curb. Schumacher is catching Rosberg and cut the distance from 6 secs to 2.8. As usual, Vettel is tearing it up.
      1. Scourge82's Avatar
        Scourge82 -
        Schumacher is able to get the undercut with pit stops and is now ahead of Rosberg in P5, 7 laps to go!
      1. Scourge82's Avatar
        Scourge82 -
        Race Results: Article to follow after the Mercedes GP interview